08/14 Grandpa AMPS 146. +1 585, +2 438, +5 483

Status
Not open for further replies.
If it were me, I would shoot but I won't be around (others should be) for support. If you do, get a +1. Then in your title put something like "shot low "eyes" please"
 
Nice surf into the blues. Yes, I agree, I would shoot also. Use the alpha meter for getting tests this cycle since it was the one you got the 148 on. Using the two different meters will make you nuts.

Start with a +1 . Don't be surprised if he bounces up from being in the blues that long.
 
I would shoot, as well. Do you have high carb food or syrup at home in case it's needed? Supplies include strips and HC.

Also, if you are following TR, remember to evaluate your dose every 3 days. I don't know that I would increase Grandpa's dose now, but it may be a consideration at PMPS.
 
I would shoot, as well. Do you have high carb food or syrup at home in case it's needed? Supplies include strips and HC.

Also, if you are following TR, remember to evaluate your dose every 3 days. I don't know that I would increase Grandpa's dose now, but it may be a consideration at PMPS.
Yes. I have food and syrup. I just fed him, and he's eating well so I feel better about shooting.
 
Nice surf into the blues. Yes, I agree, I would shoot also. Use the alpha meter for getting tests this cycle since it was the one you got the 148 on. Using the two different meters will make you nuts.

Start with a +1 . Don't be surprised if he bounces up from being in the blues that long.
Thanks. I agree. I try not to ever use the human meter. I don't need two sets of numbers to worry about.
 
Whenever there is a big differential from test to test, always get another test. It could have been a bad strip.

Some kitties are just big bouncers. After he gets used to being in normal numbers, he will bounce less and not as high or stop bouncing all together. Some kitties bounce all the way into remission.

If his next test proves to still be high, take a pokey break today and do something nice for yourself. Bounce days are great for "Me Days"
 
Don't feel too bad Beck. My buddy Lou bounced for 2 full months after switching to Basaglar. He literally only in the last couple of weeks has calmed down. I feel like they bounce up to the numbers they're used to. Lou generally only bounced up to the pinks, where he seemed to feel at home. I think that might explain why Grandpa shoots up to the reds and black. But I could also be talking nonsense, haha. Hugs to you and scritches to the sweet old man-kitty. I'm so glad you went ahead and gave insulin today!
 
We are all over the place today. Makes me look askance at this meter. I know variations are acceptable, but I just did three tests in rapid succession, each with a fresh strip and a new blood draw. The results were:
8:49 = 327
8:50 = 438
8:51 = 456
 
@Amanda and a Loudogg is right. They are so use to a particular range from being in them to long anything lower will send them back. Over time they start getting comfortable in lower numbers. It's been 6 months with Olive, she still has pinks but a lot less of them. Looks like we finally banished the reds.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top