08/13 Tableau 10th cycle completed - dosing advice requested

Status
Not open for further replies.

ehsuan

Member Since 2011
Hi all.

Tableau's had his 10th consecutive dose of Lantus, and I'm requesting dosing advice, or confirmation of what I've gathered from the tight regulation protocol.

Some days his nadir seems to be in the mid 200s, other days in the 300s. Preshot numbers are mostly still pretty high (upper 400s or even in the 500s).

Based on the nadir, I am under the impression I should raise his dose by .25 for the next 6 cycles, at least.

I would appreciate any thoughts or insights. Thanks so much!

P.s., went to the vet today and had him tested for ketones just to be safe, and all is good. he's eating well. The main issue is he continues to be a bit constipated, but the subq fluids are helping with that.

Previous post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=49787
 
Re: 08/13 Tableau 10th cycle completed - dosing advice reque

I would increase. If Tableau's numbers are still high, please check in about raising the dose after 4 cycles.
 
Re: 08/13 Tableau 10th cycle completed - dosing advice reque

Emily:

you can buy ketostix and check him at home yourself. There are different ways to do it....some people just put a large soup spoon under their bottoms as they sit. I made a bunch of foil trays and as Gracie squats, I just slip it under her. That way you don't have any vet expense and you can check often. When Gracie's numbers are in the high 200s or above, I check her ketones at least every day/every other day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top