08/13 George AMPS 118 (Libre) 153 (ReliOn) +5 to+10, he’s been in 50s & 60s with ReliOn;

George’s Mom

Member Since 2022
Yesterday

I don’t know what is happening with this cat. If you look at SS, he went from mostly reds to now he’s all blues and greens. I know this is what we want and is the goal with increasing his L to find ideal dose. Except…

Yesterday I skipped AMPS 7L and look at his #s. They didn’t start to bounce until +6. So his body acted as if he received his 7L shot but he did NOT. I know there is a Depot, but if I had done this a week ago, he’s be in the blacks right now.

This morning, here we go again! His BG is only 120 (libre) 153 (relion) @ AMPS. Should I be backing down his dose? He dropped down to BG 60 (again Libre) at PMPS +8. I am really worried he’s going to go hypo shooting him w 7 units @ 150.

Remember he’s had diarrhea for a week and was so nauseous he wasn’t holding down food. I was giving him Zofran every 8 hours ish.

I really don’t know what to do! Shoot? 1/2 dose? Token dose?

I am not understanding why his numbers are so low with no shot given @ his 7L AMPS yesterday. Is it his illness? Could it be the food change? We went from Purim’s Beyond Duck to Weruva Glam N Punk. Both are supposed to be 2-3% carb (metabolizable energy).

Lastly, we will be changing his food today. He’s had diarrhea for the past week on Glam N punk. I suspect that his doesn’t like the high fat. So I’m going to look for something lower fat (so therefore higher protein), still low phosphorus for his CKD, and of course still low carb for Diabetes.
 
Unless the food you were feeding was higher carbs, it's possible his pancreas have woken up. That happens with some cats when they hit a breakthrough dose. They suddenly flip a switch and start seeing flatter cycles and want to head down the dosing ladder.

Did you test again? Did you feed? Have you shot anything?
 
. Did you test again? Did you feed? Have you shot anything?
Hi. I didn’t shoot at AMPS. I went to the store and got different food. Came back to 189, so I gave to him. Albeit @AMPS +2.5. I know I am screwing this up… :banghead:

We’ll see what his numbers do today, but assuming they stay in the low yellows through mid-high greens, think I should give him his PMPS dose? Maybe I can give that at PMPS +1.25? Wish he’d just normalize. Even just normal poo would be so nice! :confused:

Unless the food you were feeding was higher carbs, it's possible his pancreas have woken up. That happens with some cats when they hit a breakthrough dose. They suddenly flip a switch and start seeing flatter cycles and want to head down the dosing ladder.
Interesting… maybe causing his diarrhea too?
 
So if I understand correctly you shot 2.5 hours late? Your pmps will be 2 hours late now. I’ll give you a link to getting back on schedule. Be back.
 
So if I understand correctly you shot 2.5 hours late? Your pmps will be 2 hours late now. I’ll give you a link to getting back on schedule. Be back.
Yes. You’re right. Thanks for the link! Reading it now.

FYI little booger is reading 90s on relion monitor right now. Libre is saying lower than 50. He’s acting fine and he’s eating. We gave him sub q fluids tonight for the first time. Wondering if that could cause the BS #s to skew at all??? His libre is on his back left ribs and I gave fluids oh is right back ribs. BS in ear with Relion in 90s for past hour. We are right at his nadir time (+6 from shot).

I’m not freaking out (yet!!) because he is acting normal. But this is lowest he’s been.
 
If not low you can shoot 30 minutes early each night if you want but 15 each cycle is fine too.
So I haven’t been trying to freak out, but his BG has been 50-60 with Relion since about 5pm (about +5.5 from AM shot (11:30am). He hasn’t been acting too differently. I mean he’s been lethargic for a few months now but bc his BG was reds/blacks. So he didn’t seem like he felt any worse than his usual. He’s had diarrhea for about a week now. Well we switched foods today and so far I think it may be better!

But yes, we are at +10 roughly and he’s still in low/mid 60s with relion glucometer. His libre went so low it stopped registering a # and just said Lo. So… I’m not planning to shoot him tonight unless his number goes up quite a bit. Need to figure out a plan for tomorrow if he’s still sitting so low. Maybe need to drop his units down to 1/2? Idk. But he is def bordering on the too low side right now.
I wonder if the food we had him on was higher carb than we thought. Or maybe his pancreas did just decide to turn on @Bandit's Mom .
 
Normal bg is 50-100. With TR you shoot 50+. Too bad you skipped. He was not too low to shoot a token dose if you could monitor. The Libre often reads lower than it should in low numbers. When the pancreas kicks into gear it’s often a wild ride down the dosing scale. You often get a flat cycle when you shoot low. If you decide to reduce you don’t want to drop it in half. The most you would reduce is .50 I think.
 
Last edited:
Normal bg is 50-100. With TR you shoot 50+. Too bad you skipped. He was not too low to shoot a token dose if you could monitor. The Libre often reads lower than it should in low numbers. When the pancreas kicks into gear it’s often a wild ride down the dosing scale. You often get a flat cycle when you shoot low. If you decide to reduce you don’t want to drop it in half. The most you would reduce is .50 I think.
I am sure you’ve seen it 1000 times but these low doses make me very nervous because hypo is so well… fatal…thinking it may take me a little bit to get comfortable keeping him below 100. With ReliOn, he did not go below 50 on any test. The Libre was worthless below 100 (Libre 100). He’s creeping up now. I will give him Lantis at normal AMPS tomorrow. I know that will mean some lost Depot. Thinking to drop to 6.5? I wish I knew if something else was going on. Also thinking I may give him .5R tonight just to help soften the bounce if he keeps climbing up to ward yellow.

@Wendy&Neko has helped me before! Love her, she’s so friggin smart and helpful. I haven’t seen her around for a while. Hope she’s been on vacation or something wonderful. :). @tiffmaxee I appreciate your help too. It’s amazing how comfortable everyone is with these lower numbers. I am sure I’ll get there. Hypo seizure, coma, death, scares the crap outta me. So hopefully I can get more comfortable pushing toward that.

FYI ACRO testing results expected by end of next week now per MSU. His IGF-1 was 277 last year per prior vet’s notes (never got actual lab results). So will be good to get Acro results for sure. Also texting for IAA.
 
I understand the fear. Green eventually becomes addictive but it takes awhile. Max never had a symptomatic hypo even when his bg read LO and when in the 30’s but I never liked him there and probably over compensated with hc. It does get easier. Soon high numbers scared me more.

Wendy was on vacation but is back and trying to catch up on emails and things at home but I am sure will check in soon.
 
It’s amazing how comfortable everyone is with these lower numbers. I am sure I’ll get there. Hypo seizure, coma, death, scares the crap outta me. So hopefully I can get more comfortable pushing toward that.

You're not alone. Greens used to scare me to death, for the same reason you are scared. Once you learn your cat's responses, you'll get more comfortable. Just takes time.
 
You're not alone. Greens used to scare me to death, for the same reason you are scared. Once you learn your cat's responses, you'll get more comfortable. Just takes time.
Thank you! Yes, I am needing to ease down into the greens especially the neon greens I think. I know it would be better for him to stay down there, so I do think I’ll get there. For now, he’s bounced. :banghead:
 
You want to avoid the lime greens by feeding the curve. The bg staying in 50-120 range is healing for the pancreas. With long term diabetics we reduce if under 40 or if they don’t hold reductions then three times under 50 on three separate days if following TR. George is considered a long term diabetic as he’s a year into fd.
 
Back
Top