08/12 Mouse PMPS 296, +1 299, +3 230

Guess I better hold off another hour before running to town... AMPS 337, +2 203 and now down to 102 @ +4
 
Should I be reducing her dose to .75? Her dose reduction has been set for below 70 and she her nadir today was 67...
 
I made the decision to reduce her dose to .75 units due to her nadir going below 70 this afternoon.
Please let me know if I made the right decision or not so I know what dose to give her tomorrow morning.
 
Sorry no one responded earlier. Yes, she earned a reduction with that drop below 70 today. Congrats! :-)
The depot will take at least 4 cycles to adjust to the reduction, so for the next 4 cycles, you want to try a prevent a drop below 70 to avoid taking a back-to-back reduction.
 
Sorry no one responded earlier. Yes, she earned a reduction with that drop below 70 today. Congrats! :)
The depot will take at least 4 cycles to adjust to the reduction, so for the next 4 cycles, you want to try a prevent a drop below 70 to avoid taking a back-to-back reduction.
I'm glad I did the reduced dose tonight... I figured better safe than sorry.
As far as keeping her from dropping below 70 again in the next couple of days should I try to do more little snacks more often?
 
Sorry no one responded earlier. Yes, she earned a reduction with that drop below 70 today. Congrats! :)
The depot will take at least 4 cycles to adjust to the reduction, so for the next 4 cycles, you want to try a prevent a drop below 70 to avoid taking a back-to-back reduction
No worries... I'm just glad I made the right decision with reducing the dose:D.
Would you suggest more snacks more often for the next couple of days to keep her from dropping below 70?
 
As far as keeping her from dropping below 70 again in the next couple of days should I try to do more little snacks more often?
Would you suggest more snacks more often for the next couple of days to keep her from dropping below 70?
Yes, more snacks and if you find she is diving despite snacks like she did today (203 to 102 to 79), you feed slightly higher carbs to keep her over 70. With SLGS every drop below 70 will be a reduction. With TR you factor in the depot taking 4 cycles to adjust to a reduction and do not take back-to-back reductions. However SLGS is a more conservative protocol because caregivers do not usually test as much as those following TR do - so there is no concept of not taking back-to-back reductions.
 
Yes, more snacks and if you find she is diving despite snacks like she did today (203 to 102 to 79), you feed slightly higher carbs to keep her over 70. With SLGS every drop below 70 will be a reduction. With TR you factor in the depot taking 4 cycles to adjust to a reduction and do not take back-to-back reductions. However SLGS is a more conservative protocol because caregivers do not usually test as much as those following TR do - so there is no concept of not taking back-to-back reductions.
It seems like her sudden drops happen more so during the day within the first few hours of the cycle (I'm grateful they don't seem to happen so much at night). She seems to sail along in pretty decent numbers once she gets down into about mid blues and creeps into some greens and then she seems to spike back up really quickly before +10 and lately continues to climb through her 2 hour fast.
I read through posts on the FD Facebook page and I see so many people hardly do any testing, not saying they're wrong for it or trying to put anybody down but for myself I couldn't Imagine not knowing where her levels are at and how the insulin is working. I am trying to do the SLGS protocol even though I test a lot, I still hold the dose for 7 days unless a reduction is earned. Honestly I don't know if I'm doing it right or not. I know that I usually have enough data throughout the 7 days that I've been told that a curve at the end of the 7 days is unnecessary and that there's plenty on her spreadsheet already to be advised on dose adjustment. Are there adjustments you would suggest on when is necessary to test or is the way I'm doing it ok?
 
Yes, luckily for you, she's having active cycles in the day and bouncing at night. Of course, that could change at any time. In the last week of July she was bouncing in the day and having actuve cycles at night.

You are doing great! You are testing more than enough even for TR. I know we discussed TR at some point but I can't remember your reasons for not following TR. I don't think you'd test any more with TR - but you would be able to keep her at a good dose - like the 1U for example, where she was beginning to see greens every day.

For the amount you are a testing a curve is not necessary and you do have enough data to know how she's doing. Even for caregivers following SLGS who do a weekly curve, we suggest getting spot checks because a once-a-week might not always give you a correct picture - especially if you run a curve in a cycle when the cat is bouncing - you'd get flat and high numbers which could either be a bounce or not enough insulin!
 
Yes, luckily for you, she's having active cycles in the day and bouncing at night. Of course, that could change at any time. In the last week of July she was bouncing in the day and having actuve cycles at night.
Yes I've been very spoiled by that the past few days... Was starting to forget what it felt like to get 4-5 hours of sleep in a row!
 
You are doing great! You are testing more than enough even for TR. I know we discussed TR at some point but I can't remember your reasons for not following TR. I don't think you'd test any more with TR - but you would be able to keep her at a good dose - like the 1U for example, where she was beginning to see greens every day.
Thank you! I was hesitant to do TR because of how fast paced it sounds and was afraid with more frequent dose changes that I would be more apt to screw up. I also don't really have a good understanding of how to do tight regulation, of course it seems I don't have a very good grasp on SLGS either since I don't think I've been doing that quite right either...
 
So
For the amount you are a testing a curve is not necessary and you do have enough data to know how she's doing. Even for caregivers following SLGS who do a weekly curve, we suggest getting spot checks because a once-a-week might not always give you a correct picture - especially if you run a curve in a cycle when the cat is bouncing - you'd get flat and high numbers which could either be a bounce or not enough insulin
So do you think Mouse is bouncing or do you think she isn't getting enough insulin or is it too hard to tell?
 
Back
Top