08/12/17 Buddy AMPS 339/+3=292/1 week on Lantus is starting to feel better

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teresa & KitKat

Member Since 2017
Buddy, has been sick for a good while, in the last week I have had to feed him HC food to get him to eat. I have left his food out, so he could eat whenever he wanted, which is not good for testing his numbers. His BG numbers have been high. Yesterday, Buddy started eating LC wet food, now his numbers are higher than when he was eating HC food. G o figure.

Today, Buddy has been on Lantus 1 week. I did a dose increase from 5u to 5.3u. The more I think about this increase, I do not know if this increase is correct. Buddy's, numbers have been too high, he really needs an increase. Please, let me know if I am right or wrong. If wrong what should it have been.

It would have been nice if Buddy had been feeling well when he started Lantus.
 
I don't know how you measure 5.3, but 5.5 would be the next dose. Over 5 units total dose, we move up by 0.5 units at a time, unless you are tweaking a dose that is already getting a bit of green. I would go to 5.5 tonight.

Glad to hear Buddy is getting over whatever ailed him.
 
HC dry food will cause higher BG numbers. Eating is the most important once he is eating can you try him on Fancy Feast chicken? does he tolerate chicken?
Have you tried baking chicken and giving small amounts? I give Fritz Renew life probiotics , Dr. Good Pet digestive enzymes and Slippery Elm bark with Lily of the desert Aloe Vera (inner fillet only).
It helps with his digestion.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases.

If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but do decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change).

Don't be tempted to rush the process along by increasing the dose more quickly or in larger increments-- no matter how high your cat's blood glucose is! Rushing towards regulation will cost you time in the long run, because you may shoot past the right dose.
 
I don't know how you measure 5.3, but 5.5 would be the next dose. Over 5 units total dose, we move up by 0.5 units at a time, unless you are tweaking a dose that is already getting a bit of green. I would go to 5.5 tonight.

Glad to hear Buddy is getting over whatever ailed him.
Buddy is on SLGS so I thought you raised it less, that is why I came up with 5.3. If he needs 5.5 I will be glad to try that dose. I don't want to get thrown off the forum.

Buddy, has pancreatitis, I just got the results from his last vet, she had SPEC fpl ran. The doctor just called and said he has pancreatitis. Which I already knew. The other doctor he was going to before ran an Amylase & Lipase test, he said the cut off on the Amylase was 1100 and Buddy's was almost 1500, but it had to be double to consider Pancreatitis.
 
HC dry food will cause higher BG numbers. Eating is the most important once he is eating can you try him on Fancy Feast chicken? does he tolerate chicken?
Have you tried baking chicken and giving small amounts? I give Fritz Renew life probiotics , Dr. Good Pet digestive enzymes and Slippery Elm bark with Lily of the desert Aloe Vera (inner fillet only).
It helps with his digestion.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases.

If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but do decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change).

Don't be tempted to rush the process along by increasing the dose more quickly or in larger increments-- no matter how high your cat's blood glucose is! Rushing towards regulation will cost you time in the long run, because you may shoot past the right dose.
I have read this already on Lantus & Levemir site. My question was if Buddy is getting 5u and it is supposed to be raised by 0.25, what would his dose be raised to.

Since yesterday, Buddy has been eating FF classic and sometimes a bite of YA a LC dry food. I think he is responding to his pain being addressed.
 
I have read this already on Lantus & Levemir site. My question was if Buddy is getting 5u and it is supposed to be raised by 0.25, what would his dose be raised to.

Since yesterday, Buddy has been eating FF classic and sometimes a bite of YA a LC dry food. I think he is responding to his pain being addressed.
I believe it should be 5.5. When kitties get to 5 units of insulin, the dose is raised by 0.5 units instead of 0.25 (unless fine tuning a dose, I believe. From what I understand, once a kitty gets to 10 units, the dose increases are by 1 whole unit then. When Gizmo got to 5 units, I began to increase by half units.
 
No way we would throw you off the forum. :bighug::bighug: We are just letting you know that at higher doses, you can increase by 0.5 units. It doesn't say that on the TR protocol,sticky note either. It is our experience telling you this is a safe amount to increase. We don't want Buddy stuck in higher numbers.

I am glad you got the spec fPL test done. At least it confirms what you knew and is the proper way to diagnose pancreatitis in a cat.
 
No way we would throw you off the forum. :bighug::bighug: We are just letting you know that at higher doses, you can increase by 0.5 units. It doesn't say that on the TR protocol,sticky note either. It is our experience telling you this is a safe amount to increase. We don't want Buddy stuck in higher numbers.

I am glad you got the spec fPL test done. At least it confirms what you knew and is the proper way to diagnose pancreatitis in a cat.
Thank you, I did not know about the .5 units, because it does not say that any where.

The other doctor Buddy was seeing, on 2/2/17 performed a partial pancreatectomy (spelling) on Buddy. You would think he would be trying to take care of his pancreatitis. I asked him on Monday, to do a SPEC fpl on Buddy, that is supposed to be the Gold Standard test for feline pancreatitis. He did a test for Amylase in his office and it was almost 400 over the cut off, but he said it had to be double. I told him I did not want an Amylase & Lipase test ran, when it came back he had ran a test Amylase & Lipase. He just threw my money away.

Buddy, has chronic pancreatitis, not acute. He suffers with chronic pancreatitis. Maybe while he is on the bupe, he won't have so much problems with loose stools.
 
I believe it should be 5.5. When kitties get to 5 units of insulin, the dose is raised by 0.5 units instead of 0.25 (unless fine tuning a dose, I believe. From what I understand, once a kitty gets to 10 units, the dose increases are by 1 whole unit then. When Gizmo got to 5 units, I began to increase by half units.
Thank you, I did not know that.
 
I hope Buddy is feeling a little better, Teresa, and his flare is giving him a break :bighug:.
Thank you, for asking. I can not seem to get his appetite going again. He is taking B12 with folic acid, I am giving appetite stimulants, anti-nausea meds and bupe. When I went back and looked at Buddy's SS notes, I had written in about all of the notes, Buddy not wanting to eat for a long time. I would take him to the vet he was seeing and he would say that he did not seem to have pancreatitis, I would say this is the way he always does with pancreatitis. The doctor would then put him on an A/B and he would get no better and it would start all over again. This is the vet who took out the tail of his pancreatitis, because it was so inflamed. I am not planning on going back to him.

How is Maury doing. Do you think the Pet Alive Pancreas Booster is helping. I might order some for Buddy, did you use the Gluco Ensure.
 
Frustrating how Vet's just give AB's to any kitty when they don't find a need for them. I'm pretty sure kitties build immunity's to them like people can from taking them too often :arghh:. Glad you aren't going back to the Vet that removed the tail of his pancreas for being inflamed, he'll probably want to remove more if it is his pancreatitis flare :mad:. Sorry for mild rant :smuggrin:.

I'm not 100% sure if the PB is helping but it doesn't look like it's hurting :). I'm only able to do 1/3 capsule in each meal. Any more and I have to coax him even more to eat his wet food :rolleyes:. I have not used Gluco Ensure, just the PB alone.
 
Frustrating how Vet's just give AB's to any kitty when they don't find a need for them. I'm pretty sure kitties build immunity's to them like people can from taking them too often :arghh:. Glad you aren't going back to the Vet that removed the tail of his pancreas for being inflamed, he'll probably want to remove more if it is his pancreatitis flare :mad:. Sorry for mild rant :smuggrin:.

I'm not 100% sure if the PB is helping but it doesn't look like it's hurting :). I'm only able to do 1/3 capsule in each meal. Any more and I have to coax him even more to eat his wet food :rolleyes:. I have not used Gluco Ensure, just the PB alone.
I don't think they should just hand out AB if they do not need them. Not only did he take out the tail of his pancreas, he also took out his spleen and other surrounding tissue. He knew Buddy had a problem, because he saw it. But he still would not give him pain meds. All of the docs and vets are afraid of the DEA.

I agree about the removing of his pancreas, that is probably why he needs so much insulin and I can not get him regulated.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top