08/10 Zener PMPS 192;+1 166;+2 157; +3 152 A Trak

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Zener's condo 8/10/11

Yesterday's recap:
08/10/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 146 2nd cycle at 1.75u
+1 184
+2 173
+6 160
+10 94
+11 117
+12 110
PMGB +12.3 108
+12.9 107
PMPS 143 - we held off for 1.5 hours and no food, so gave s1.75u
+1 165
+2 150
+3 189
+10 368

Looks like he started to bounce from the all blue day yesterday with a touch of green. I also gave him a bit higher carb last night to try to keep his numbers up overnight as he tends to drop then. So, perhaps we are seeing carbs + bounce?

Today
08/11/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 329, s1.75u, moved shot forward 15 minutes, fed 1t. 9%, not very interested in food this morning
+1, licked fortiflora off his 11% and took a bite or two

Will get a +2, then I have to be out for a bit. Want to try and take advantage of the bounce to give the poor guy's ears a little poke break after yesterday.
 
Re: 08/10 Zener AMPS 329;+2 317 bounce? ATrak

It's a bouncing....

Today
08/11/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 329, s1.75u, moved shot forward 15 minutes, fed 1t. 9%, not very interested in food this morning
+1, licked fortiflora off his 11% and took a bite or two
+2 317, fed 2t. 10%, eating a little better

I'm going to be out for a couple of hours, and take this bounce opportunity to give the guy's ears a little break. Will get a +6 or +7 and post then.

Hope everyone in LL has a drama-free day!
 
Re: 08/10 Zener AMPS 329;+2 317;+7 286 shooting? ATrak

A slow slide into yellow...

Today
08/11/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 329, s1.75u, moved shot forward 15 minutes, fed 1t. 9%, not very interested in food this morning
+1, licked fortiflora off his 11% and took a bite or two
+2 317, fed 2t. 10%, eating a little better
+7 286, ate 1t. 10%

Looks like our guy is slowing sliding this afternoon. He seems to be eating a little better and spending the day outside in his beloved backyard napping.

Anticipating that a drop will follow this bounce sometime in the next few cycles, I have a question I often get confused about - dropping numbers - when to shoot and when not to shoot? I know the recommendation is to NOT shoot dropping numbers. Is there a range of dropping numbers, I'm thinking about higher numbers, where it could be okay to shoot? And is there a range of numbers that we look for to indicate that the numbers are dropping or may instead be meter variance?
confused_cat
 
Re: 08/10 Zener AMPS 329;+2 317;+7 286 shooting? ATrak

not bad, just a little bounce off of yesterday's good numbers. :smile:

re: dropping numbers, there are two kinds of "dropping" numbers. The ones you want to watch for are the ones where he keeps dropping all day long and is still dropping kind of fast at shot time. Usually this happens when a bounce is clearing. Like today, he was 286 at +7, so if he is still lower than that at shot time that is what I would consider a dropping number. Shooting dropping numbers is usually fine (not tooooo low of course). Remember that Lantus usually doesn't start to work until 2-3 hours after the shot. Zener's data shows that he usually rises at the beginning of the cycle, so if you shoot and feed then the food should do the job of stopping any drop and keeping his number steady or rising until the Lantus kicks in.

The other kind of "dropping number" really isn't a dropping number at all. See how sometimes Zener drops earlier in the cycle, has a nadir, then starts to rise, and then dips down again at PS time? That is normal for a lot of Lantus cats and isn't really considered a dropping number. Those are shootable because you know that is just his pattern.

Basically the difference is that he had a nadir earlier in the cycle, went up, then went down again as opposed to dropping for the whole cycle. Make sense?

ps... I don't mean that you should not shoot a dropping number. Most cats benefit (not all) from being shot at +12 almost no matter what the number is. Obviously if it's way low then you would want to be cautious.
 
Re: 08/10 Zener AMPS 329;+2 317;+7 286 shooting? ATrak

Yes, your explanation is very clear, thank you. We keep looking for patterns in his numbers and there are some times when he drops pretty fast right at the start of a cycle, +1 or +2. What can cause this? We sure would like to understand his patterns better, but then so would everyone else I imagine! Thanks again for your explanation, we can look at his numbers and start to see these two types of patterns!
 
Re: 08/10 Zener AMPS 329;+2 317;+7 286; +10 248 ATrak

Today
08/11/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 329, s1.75u, moved shot forward 15 minutes, fed 1t. 9%, not very interested in food this morning
+1, licked fortiflora off his 11% and took a bite or two
+2 317, fed 2t. 10%, eating a little better
+7 286, ate 1t. 10%
+10 248

We'll be getting his PMPS shortly.
 
Re: 08/10 Zener PMPS 192 A Trak

So, back to the blues after this cycle.

08/11/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 329, s1.75u, moved shot forward 15 minutes, fed 1t. 9%, not very interested in food this morning
+1, licked fortiflora off his 11% and took a bite or two
+2 317, fed 2t. 10%, eating a little better
+7 286, ate 1t. 10%
+10 248
PMPS 192, 3rd cycle at s1.75u, fed 3t. 11% carbs

Well, we debated about whether he was clearing the bounce and the dropping number and what to do tonight since he had dropped 50 between +10 and PMPS. Since he was just into the blues and had been coming up in the first few hours of his cycles before this bounce and he was eating well, we decided to go with the skinny 1.75u and will get a +1, +2 and whatever else may be necessary.
nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
Re: 08/10 Zener PMPS 192;+1 166 shot dropping # A Trak

Okay, I'm getting a little nervous since we shot a dropping # and he is still going down at +1. Not in dangerous numbers, but still making me a bit anxious. Fed a higher carb food to hopefully stop the drop before the lantus kicks in.

08/11/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 329, s1.75u, moved shot forward 15 minutes, fed 1t. 9%, not very interested in food this morning
+1, licked fortiflora off his 11% and took a bite or two
+2 317, fed 2t. 10%, eating a little better
+7 286, ate 1t. 10%
+10 248
PMPS 192, 3rd cycle at s1.75u, fed 3t. 11% carbs
+1 166, fed 2t. 18% carbs

Will get a +2 and +3 and see if I need to stay up and keep checking.
nailbite_smile
 
Re: 08/10 Zener PMPS 192;+1 166 shot dropping # A Trak

Libby and Lucy said:
yep, just keep testing then you'll know what to do. If you start to worry, re-read the Low Numbers sticky and you'll be fine. :smile:

Thanks Libby, just needing a little reassurance. :smile:
Sticky read and re-read. All necessary supplies are handy. I'll keep posting on Zener's SS and to the board.
 
Re: 08/10 Zener PMPS 192;+1 166;+2 157 shot dropping # A Tra

Here's the latest.

PMPS 192, 3rd cycle at s1.75u, fed 3t. 11% carbs
+1 166, fed 2t. 18% carbs
+2 157, fed 1/2t. 19% carbs

This doesn't look a whole lot different than his numbers last night. Could he be breaking the bounce after only one cycle? confused_cat
 
PMPS 192, 3rd cycle at s1.75u, fed 3t. 11% carbs
+1 166, fed 2t. 18% carbs
+2 157, fed 1/2t. 19% carbs
+3 152, fed 1t. 19% carbs

Looks like the drop is slowing, but sometimes he doesn't start to drop until later in his cycle. Will drink the large glass of water alarm clock and go for a mid-cycle check. Need to get some sleep for now, so will leave out some more high carb food.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top