08/10 Martini -increases/reductions

Status
Not open for further replies.

SMM

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ng-results-today-testing.182054/#post-2018200

A huge thank you for the replies. I had no clue back to back reductions do not work most often. I was only going by the guidelines written here for SLGS to immediately decrease if BG is lower than 90 which happened for Martini very quickly two different days. She is either still bouncing now or the decrease is not working. :( I will keep the 1.00 for a few more days - I just cannot stand her 'hurting' more in the yellows.
I increased to 1.5 from 1.25 on the advice of someone here. They indicated that since she had not seen a green in over a month, it was time for an increase. It was then she hit her 77 in the middle of the night.

Comments/opinions are appreciated greatly as I am never certain I am doing the right thing by her.

Care to all,
Sandy
 
I can only commiserate. Parts of your kitty's SS look like Teasel's. Some cats are erratic in their responses and you just have to keep plugging away. My guy will have these unexpected drops as well, sometimes after many cycles of uneventful yellows and blues. I've backed off slightly on his dose recently and he's more stable and feels better even if his numbers aren't textbook ideal.
 
In the absence of ketones, I would stay at the current dose of 1u for a few more cycles.

A bounce can take up to 72 hours to clear and it's just about 24 hours since your kitty saw green (the likely trigger). Getting a sense of how long it takes your kitty to clear a bounce is important, particularly when considering an increase. Best to have the bounce behind you-increasing as a bounce is breaking could result in unexpected lows...and another bounce.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top