? - 08/10 Eddie AMPS 272 +6 311 PMPS 380 +9 270 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

? 08/10 Eddie AMPS 272 +6 311 PMPS 380 +9 270

Jodey&Eddie&Blue

Member since 2021
Good morning,

Here is yesterday:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/08-09-eddie-amps-313-7-383-pmps-293-8-250.280353/

I'm relieved to see we are in the yellow zone this morning and that he hasn't gone up too far from yesterday's PM +8.

Eddie and I still processing Blue's absence. Eddie's take the shape of staring at me and taking over Blue's job of coming into the living room to tell me when it's time for testing/insulin. The intense gaze is something else. I look up from my computer at times and he's sitting on his cushion and just looking at me. I try to hear what he has to say. :bighug::cat:
 
Much better start today! I prescribe random cuddles for Eddie today. :bighug:

I took a quick peak at articles on mirtazapine. I have seen studies done for two and three weeks on cats, but not longer. I also saw recommendations for CKD cats that it can be given as part of what they need. I assume that is long term, though CKD cats might need a lower dose due to how it is metabolized. Nothing on limitations on how long it can be given, just the studies were time limited. None of the articles listed BG impacts amongst the side effects.
 
Much better start today! I prescribe random cuddles for Eddie today. :bighug:

I took a quick peak at articles on mirtazapine. I have seen studies done for two and three weeks on cats, but not longer. I also saw recommendations for CKD cats that it can be given as part of what they need. I assume that is long term, though CKD cats might need a lower dose due to how it is metabolized. Nothing on limitations on how long it can be given, just the studies were time limited. None of the articles listed BG impacts amongst the side effects.
Filling that prescription!
I'll have to do a search to find those articles and will post links once I do.
 
Much better start today! I prescribe random cuddles for Eddie today. :bighug:

I took a quick peak at articles on mirtazapine. I have seen studies done for two and three weeks on cats, but not longer. I also saw recommendations for CKD cats that it can be given as part of what they need. I assume that is long term, though CKD cats might need a lower dose due to how it is metabolized. Nothing on limitations on how long it can be given, just the studies were time limited. None of the articles listed BG impacts amongst the side effects.
Good start but wobbling a bit. AM +6 311. Come on, Eddie!
 
If you’re concerned about potential issues with mirtazapine, you might talk to the vet about cyproheptadine. It’s been used as an appetite stimulant in cats for many years, though mirtz seems to be more commonly prescribed these days. I actually prefer cyproheptadine (fewer side effects in my experience). I believe it’s metabolized by the liver. I’m not sure if there are any contraindications with the other meds Eddie is on though. Just food for thought (not that you need more to think about, lol)…

Been thinking of you and Eddie a lot recently. It takes awhile to achieve that “new normal” after losing one. So sorry.
 
If you’re concerned about potential issues with mirtazapine, you might talk to the vet about cyproheptadine. It’s been used as an appetite stimulant in cats for many years, though mirtz seems to be more commonly prescribed these days. I actually prefer cyproheptadine (fewer side effects in my experience). I believe it’s metabolized by the liver. I’m not sure if there are any contraindications with the other meds Eddie is on though. Just food for thought (not that you need more to think about, lol)…

Been thinking of you and Eddie a lot recently. It takes awhile to achieve that “new normal” after losing one. So sorry.
Hi JL, thanks for coming by. So far Eddie seems not to have any side effects, unless there is something to do with BG but that seemed to be wild card. No contraindications with his regular medications. I've scoured the literature, can't find any. I'm going to look into the cyproheptadine, though.
I feel like the "new normal" would be a little easier to take, even, if Eddie would just settle down.
 
Back
Top