08.10.22 Chispa, 351 AMPS, 307 +2, 256 +4, 284 +6

Karen and Chispa (GA)

Member Since 2022
Yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...307-amps-335-2-417-5-442-9-415-pmps-2.266927/

Good morning, cats and beans,

This morning was our ninth dose @ 2 units, and the "bounce" that started before dose #4 doesn't seem to be settling much.

I've changed her renal diet food from Hill's k/d (27% carbs) to Royal Canin "D" (16% carbs); she's getting equal amounts of that with Weruva "On the Cat Wok" (4% carbs) at each meal. Hoping we'll start to see a difference. In other news, she is back to pooping normally after a few days of canned pumpkin mixed in.

Wishing everyone a happy, healthy day!
 
Does this mean you’re totally off the kibble? Might be worth looking at TR for your protocol, since it looks like you and Chispa are getting good at the BG tests! It might be time to bump up another 0.25U if you’re going that route.
 
Thanks, @Cali S and @tiffmaxee . Looks like we are back into the yellows today!

Totally off the kibble, yes -- though still not entirely on LC. I'm holding steady at 1/2 LC and 1/2 renal diet. My hope would be to transition her to 100% LC, but having also cut her pred dose in half, I'm taking it very slowly for fear of triggering GI symptoms.

I do want to do TR, but here's my question: What am I going to do when I go out of town for a week (8/24 - 8/31), leaving my BF in charge? He can't telework, so he is gone for 10-11 hours out of the day, therefore can't be here to do testing, even if I get the Freestyle Libre. There is a petsitter in the neighborhood who might be able to stop by during the day and at least get a reading, but is that enough? I doubt she would be available for more than one visit per day, as she is much in demand, though I can always ask.

Any ideas/suggestions much appreciated!
 
Thanks, @Cali S and @tiffmaxee . Looks like we are back into the yellows today!

Totally off the kibble, yes -- though still not entirely on LC. I'm holding steady at 1/2 LC and 1/2 renal diet. My hope would be to transition her to 100% LC, but having also cut her pred dose in half, I'm taking it very slowly for fear of triggering GI symptoms.

I do want to do TR, but here's my question: What am I going to do when I go out of town for a week (8/24 - 8/31), leaving my BF in charge? He can't telework, so he is gone for 10-11 hours out of the day, therefore can't be here to do testing, even if I get the Freestyle Libre. There is a petsitter in the neighborhood who might be able to stop by during the day and at least get a reading, but is that enough? I doubt she would be available for more than one visit per day, as she is much in demand, though I can always ask.

Any ideas/suggestions much appreciated!

If you look back through my spreadsheet, you can see that June/July for me has been filled with a lot of travel. A couple of the trips, I was able to get folks to just do the insulin shots (no BG readings), and the latest trip, I trained up my petsitting friend to get PS#s. You can put your kitty on a "vacation dose" which is less insulin to avoid any potential hypo episodes. If you have the option of doing a Libre, that might make things even simpler! The fine folks here helped me sort out what that dose was, anywhere from 3-7 days before my trip. So you can do TR, even with travel, you might just have to temporarily back down on insulin. It's hard to say where Chispa will be with her BG#s at the end of the month, and there's no reason you can't follow TR, even with travel!
 
Well look at that ... and Faraday was already down to the double-digits by then!! Great to know.

I'm going to email my vet to make sure she in on board with TR -- I don't want her to think I'm going rogue with the doses, haha. I just have to think about how to present it so that she doesn't think I am second-guessing her. Hopefully she is not the type to get offended by such questions, and she does know that I'm getting help from the forum, so crossing my fingers she'll be fine with it.
 
Well look at that ... and Faraday was already down to the double-digits by then!! Great to know.

I'm going to email my vet to make sure she in on board with TR -- I don't want her to think I'm going rogue with the doses, haha. I just have to think about how to present it so that she doesn't think I am second-guessing her. Hopefully she is not the type to get offended by such questions, and she does know that I'm getting help from the forum, so crossing my fingers she'll be fine with it.

If your vet likes data and studies - there is a great published study showing that essentially doing the TR protocol in cats with glargine/lantus works well. Hopefully this attachment works. My vet has generally been supportive of me following the protocol, though she was "too busy" to look into the method itself. *shrugs*
 

Attachments

I sent my vet an article about TR and the board's stickies about SLGS and TR. She seemed receptive when she heard that it was a German veterinary science group behind it, rather than non-vets. I started with SLGS and she was fine with that. I did not seek her permission to go with TR, although she has become comfortable with it.

I dragged my heels about TR due to my own anxiety rather than putting him on TR immediately and really regret that lost time. I 100% believe it is the thing that has gotten him into a good place. You have to do what you are comfortable with, though.
 
Well look at that ... and Faraday was already down to the double-digits by then!! Great to know.

I'm going to email my vet to make sure she in on board with TR -- I don't want her to think I'm going rogue with the doses, haha. I just have to think about how to present it so that she doesn't think I am second-guessing her. Hopefully she is not the type to get offended by such questions, and she does know that I'm getting help from the forum, so crossing my fingers she'll be fine with it.

Did you hear back from your vet? I’ve been thinking of you and Chispa, and hoping y’all are doing well!
 
Good morning, @Cali S, and happy Friday! I haven't heard back from the vet -- it sometimes takes her until the end of the work week -- but I upped Chispa's insulin to 2.25 units anyway as of last night. She clearly needs more juice, so hoping her numbers will start to come down on TR.
 
Back
Top