? 08/09 Leo +11= 84, amps 157, +2=312, pmps 410, +4=385, +11=386

Leocat

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/07-30-leo-amps-354-6-295-pmps-301.232881/

Hello everyone

I had a break from posting as Leo has a diareea episode (he’s still on treatment) and was refusing any kind of food, refused even treats he was crazy about before so basically I Gave him all types of food trying to find what he accepts to eat so now he has a mix diet of low carb wet food and medium wet carb and a mix Of low dry with a little % of hc dry maybe 15 g a day. During this past days I maintained his usual dose of 1.25 ui

His blood sugar was up most of time I put it on his poop issues and the diet while I kept same dose but today I caught his blood sugar At +11= 84, then at amps he was 157 ... the idea is I still Injected him with 0,75 ui cause it was a very low number but about tonight dose ... he should get a decrease At 1 ui.
Any thoughts from your experiences about his situation?
 
If you are following the SLGS Leo earned a reduction with the BG 84 so down to 1 unit.
How is the eating and the diarrhoea now?
How are you treating the diarrhoea?
 
I changed the dose to 1 ui.
He had few difficult days when he refused food but buying new flavors different brands he slowly started eating again. For the poop issues he got probiotics and clorchinaldol. Now he feels better.
I was to a human diabetic doctor today for a consultation for myself and I talked about Leo as well showed her his numbers and she suggested he should get a higher dose of insulin cause his numbers are too high. And suggested to food him some rice or other high carbs to avoid the situations like low blood sugar of 84 in the morning.
She also gave me a diet that has 58% HC ( has no meat, 200g white bread, 150 grams of white rice, corn 250 g, honey 10g, confiture/jam 30g, milk 200 ml, and more stuff like this) and told me she will give me insulin too, since my blood sugar is too high at 97 in pregnancy. Tomorrow I’ll go ask for another opinion from another doctor.
 
I don't know enough to give you advice on your health. I'm glad you're getting another opinion, that can help you make the best decision.

I didn't realize you are pregnant, congratulations!
 
Hi! I'm not familiar with Leo's history but, at first, judging from his SS, I was going to suggest trying TR (and I'm sure others probably have suggested the same) but I see Leo is still eating kibble and you're having some difficulties getting him to just eat his wet food.

I'm sure your human doctor means well, but nah, cat's don't need grains or fruits or veggies. They're obligate carnivores and only need meat. As for the insulin dose, keep going and following the guidelines of SLGS. He's still just in the beginnings of his diabetic journey with you and those numbers are pretty common to see in the beginning. It nearly took Ming over a year to stop giving me pinks and reds. Even after 2+ years, he's still throwing in some high-ish numbers once in a while.
 
Back
Top