08/09 DC AMPS=472 - Ready to switch from Humulin N to Lantus

Status
Not open for further replies.

Noreen&DC&Frisky

Member Since 2010
Hi Everyone. I am ready to switch DC to Lantus. and I need help. I will be switching in the morning. What is the best dose to start with?
DC weighs about 15 pounds. He was diagnosed Nov. 23/2007 and has been on Humulin N since that time.
He is eating a combination of Wellness and EVO grain free dry food, as well as canned food. The reason for both brands is
sometimes he will eat one type and then the next day he won't touch the one brand so I feed him the other.
He is currently free fed dry food and is give about 1/4 cup of wet food before each insulin injection. I can't get him to eat
only wet food. I have been trying for months to get him to eat only wet food, but when I remove the dry food, he won't eat
anything at all. After 18 hours, I give in and put out the dry food again. He eats about 1/2 cup dry daily. I also have a
non-diabetic cat you will not touch wet food, he only tries to bury it and cries at the bowl.
 
Hello Noreen,
welcome to the Lantus forum.

I'm adding your first thread from health if others need more info. viewtopic.php?f=28&t=21667&p=215233#p215233

Good work getting a spreadsheet and profile going. This helps a lot!

Others will be by to offer feedback, so please check back when you can.

Sounds like you have a fussy kitty. It takes a bit of time to transition to wet food.
Some kitties luck out and get with the program right away, and some like to take their time.

The health forum is an excellent forum to post any diet related concerns.
You'll get good feedback here too - and I'm glad you were able to post the night before the big L Day!

Couple of questions.

Is there any history of ketones?
And what meter are you using?
 
Hi Noreen! Glad you made it back and are ready to make the change. You are in excellent hands with Ronnie and Libby. Good luck!!

s
 
Welcome to Lantus Land (LL)!

It sounds like DC and your other cat are, um....., resistant to the idea of canned food! You might want to take a look at this website that's authored by a vet (Dr. Lisa Pierson) and discusses feline nutrition. There is a very good discussion on how to transition a confirmed dry food eating cat to canned food. We can also show you several spreadsheets of people here who successfully did transition their cats to canned food and the effect it had on their cat's blood glucose (BG) levels.
 
Thanks for the replies.
DC has never had keytones.
The meter I am using is iTest. It seems to be working very well. It only needs .3 ul of blood.
I have cross tested it with 2 3 other meters and it seems to be accurate.
 
good news that he hasn't had ketones.

A few of us were brainstorming about a good starting dose for DC. Since he has been diabetic for a while and on a relatively higher dose, it seems counterproductive to go all the way back to 1 unit. DC did have good numbers on 2 units and 3 units of Humulin, and really looked the best on 2 units for a while, so we were thinking that 2 units would be a good starting dose for Lantus. What do you think? Then you would hold that dose for about 5 days, unless it just obviously isn't working.

By the way, you've been great about testing and your spreadsheet was really helpful. It's unusual for us to have this much data from a new poster, we like it! :smile:
 
Thanks again. 2 units is what I was considering also.
I've been keeping a log book of DC's numbers since he had his hypo episode in May.
It was easy to just put the info on the spread sheet and it makes it much easier for me also.
Before his hypo I tested a couple times a week and did regular curves. He had perfect numbers for about 2 years
and then wham everything went crazy. I haven't been able to get good numbers since.
I've done lots of reading on this board since May and am confident that this switch is the right one.
Even though it's going to be stressful, with starting the extra testing again and the added expense of the strips.
But my baby is well worth it.
 
I hear ya, Noreen...on the stress, the commitment, AND the expense! Harley was all over the place and then WHAM, look what 3 weeks on the right insulin, following the right protocol will get ya!! You can look at our spreadsheet to see where we were on the Humulin and where we are now. Crazy stuff. Libby and Ronnie and a few others have guided us through this process, and we're actually starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel...and it's NOT the train! :lol: :lol:

Cheers!! I'm off to get a PMPS and dole out the evening juice...

s
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top