? 08/09 Cuki PMPS 249 +6,30 123 AMPS 133 need help

Martas

Member Since 2019
Hi there!
I don't know what dose to shot Cuki. She has had quite strange numbers for me
she has been eating turkey for 10 days

thank you very much
 
It looks like, from your spreadsheet, that you switched from a pet meter to a human meter recently? I don’t have a lot of advice but want to say keep in mind on a pet meter these same tests might have read a little higher!
 
thank you!
Yes, I have been measuring with the 2 glucometers, and there is quite a difference. but in "low" numbers 150/130 the difference is very small.
I wanted to know tonight's dose.
Veronica is helping me a lot, but I couldn't contact her in any way! We have 7 hours of time difference. In the end I got it.
Thank you!
 
Glad you found a solution!
Here are two things we sometimes recommend:
If the test before your normal shot time is lower than you are used to, you can wait 20 minutes and test again—and do not feed during this time. We may call this “stalling”. If the blood sugar is going up at the second test, then that is a good sign it may be safe to give a shot.
Another thing is that you could still give the shot, if you have lots of test strips and time to keep an eye on your cat and make sure they stay safe. If you do a shot at a lower dose than you are used to, it is important to monitor and test and post if you have more questions and we will do our best to help you! :)
 
thank you! what happens is that cuki had just eaten a little, because she is easy to vomit, so what I usually do is feed a little, measure quickly, and then continue feeding, so the test 20 minutes later would not have served me . very good advices, thank you very much !!
 
Thank you everyone, for your help to Martha and Cuki, in the end she skipped the AM dose, and is going to try and keep the 1.75 dose, I think the diet change to all low carb she went through is already making the difference plus it appears also that is helping Cuki's food allergies which is good :)

Still if you could all take a look at her SS and give us your opinion we would appreciate it very much
 
thank you! what happens is that cuki had just eaten a little, because she is easy to vomit, so what I usually do is feed a little, measure quickly, and then continue feeding, so the test 20 minutes later would not have served me . very good advices, thank you very much !!
I know @CandyH and Catcat often has to feed Catcat just to be able to test, Candy do you know any other ways to handle this if you cannot stall feeding to re-test?
 
Please know when you skip a dose with Lantus, then that can decrease the amount of extra Lantus stored up, what we call the “depot”, and the next few cycles may be a little different from usual. If you can hold the dose for 6-10 cycles without missing any doses, that is helpful to get a good picture of how the dose is working.
I know you are using a translator so I am trying to keep my responses more simple and short. I hope it helps.
 
I know @CandyH and Catcat often has to feed Catcat just to be able to test, Candy do you know any other ways to handle this if you cannot stall feeding to re-test?

not really, but if I have any suspicion that the test will be lower than I like, I use the tiniest bit of food that still looks and smells like food (plus plenty of water to make it almost broth) and sneak a couple of no-carb treats in there too --

food often doesn't affect the BG for close to an hour, unless it's higher in carbs than usual diet -- for Catcat -- but .. ECID every cat is different

for me, trying to test Catcat without food, means I have to cleanse and Neosporin-treat several claw wounds and sometimes a bite as well, on hands and forearms -- cat bites don't heal very well, often leave scar tissue which takes months to surface
 
Please know when you skip a dose with Lantus, then that can decrease the amount of extra Lantus stored up, what we call the “depot”, and the next few cycles may be a little different from usual. If you can hold the dose for 6-10 cycles without missing any doses, that is helpful to get a good picture of how the dose is working.
I know you are using a translator so I am trying to keep my responses more simple and short. I hope it helps.
I understand you! Thank you very much
 
not really, but if I have any suspicion that the test will be lower than I like, I use the tiniest bit of food that still looks and smells like food (plus plenty of water to make it almost broth) and sneak a couple of no-carb treats in there too --

food often doesn't affect the BG for close to an hour, unless it's higher in carbs than usual diet -- for Catcat -- but .. ECID every cat is different

for me, trying to test Catcat without food, means I have to cleanse and Neosporin-treat several claw wounds and sometimes a bite as well, on hands and forearms -- cat bites don't heal very well, often leave scar tissue which takes months to surface
I only feed her with a bit of food, and test 10 minutes later...


Thank you so much yo everybody! Hugs!
 
Back
Top