Manu & Porto
Member Since 2018
condo
We´ve been absent these days, Porto has been on mirtazapine to stimulate his appetite and Ive desperately been looking for info and a vet open to working with us on trying budesonide. It has become very difficult, lately, to find a food for him, no matter how hard I tried. This was the last one that went with his tummy and he refused it at times even with the appetite stimulant. We are still on hold with the teeth check, so next week we will look into options.
Last night he started budesonide but this vet has never worked with budesonide before, as well as the other vets I consulted with before, but seeing me so desperate, she agreed to try. We are being cautious, so we started with a smaller dose, 0,5. In need, we could increase later, she said.
Right now his BG has raised, aprox +180 higher (449) than it was this morning (274) . He received it last night and it is late acting, so I assumed it started acting at around +10 h after administration.
I dont know if I should dose again tonight, or can I take a day off and administer tomorrow, just to see how it reacts. I understand the next dose will be realeased after 10 hours, again, but not sure how it works, honestly. Id have two questions..
1. Right now I figured I will measure his BG, before next dose of bude, and if the BG still grows, even after the administered pm insulin (we increased with 0,25), may I skip tonights dose of budesonide without causing havoc? Ive seen examples of budesonide EOD dosing but not sure if it is doable when starting or just when decreasing the dose?
2. Also, we were 4 days on 1,75 and we just increased to 2 ud. Should or could we increase more rapidly the dose because we are giving the budesonide? And not necessarily more rapidly, maybe up the dose with 0,5 instead of 0,25? Or should we stick with the SLGS rules and increase in 0,25 every 5 days in case there is no drop?
Tomorrow we phone the vet to let her know about changes after first administrations but until then, we are on our own. I hope she has some advice as this is such new ground for us.
Maybe someone worked with budesonide on lantus before and could share some experience, we would be so grateful for any tip.
We´ve been absent these days, Porto has been on mirtazapine to stimulate his appetite and Ive desperately been looking for info and a vet open to working with us on trying budesonide. It has become very difficult, lately, to find a food for him, no matter how hard I tried. This was the last one that went with his tummy and he refused it at times even with the appetite stimulant. We are still on hold with the teeth check, so next week we will look into options.
Last night he started budesonide but this vet has never worked with budesonide before, as well as the other vets I consulted with before, but seeing me so desperate, she agreed to try. We are being cautious, so we started with a smaller dose, 0,5. In need, we could increase later, she said.
Right now his BG has raised, aprox +180 higher (449) than it was this morning (274) . He received it last night and it is late acting, so I assumed it started acting at around +10 h after administration.
I dont know if I should dose again tonight, or can I take a day off and administer tomorrow, just to see how it reacts. I understand the next dose will be realeased after 10 hours, again, but not sure how it works, honestly. Id have two questions..
1. Right now I figured I will measure his BG, before next dose of bude, and if the BG still grows, even after the administered pm insulin (we increased with 0,25), may I skip tonights dose of budesonide without causing havoc? Ive seen examples of budesonide EOD dosing but not sure if it is doable when starting or just when decreasing the dose?
2. Also, we were 4 days on 1,75 and we just increased to 2 ud. Should or could we increase more rapidly the dose because we are giving the budesonide? And not necessarily more rapidly, maybe up the dose with 0,5 instead of 0,25? Or should we stick with the SLGS rules and increase in 0,25 every 5 days in case there is no drop?
Tomorrow we phone the vet to let her know about changes after first administrations but until then, we are on our own. I hope she has some advice as this is such new ground for us.
Maybe someone worked with budesonide on lantus before and could share some experience, we would be so grateful for any tip.
Last edited:


