? 08/08/2021 Dexter M AMBG 224 PMBG 205/116

Status
Not open for further replies.

DexterMeowgan

Member Since 2021
So I have a question...

We bought a Contour Next One glucose meter today and decided to compare the readings tonight.

We got massively different readings and I'm actually shocked and unsure of what to do.

The pet-specific meter had an output of 205 w/ a blood sample of 0.3

The human meter shows 116 with 0.5.

Which do I base the insulin shot off of? Now I'm worried 1U is taking him too low especially if it's 116.
 
There is a difference in readings between the two meters but that does seem a big difference.
Did you retest the human meter to double check the BG was correct?
 
We just retested and it came up with the exact same number, 116.

Color me surprised! I didn't expect the exact same numbers!
 
How much insulin were you giving in the top part of the SS where there are no doses recorded?

So, we adjusted down from 5U, which is what the vet initially recommended and I from the start thought was too high.

Unfortunately, we went through a lot of tracking where I didn't write down the exact insulin dosages but just the numbers however we were taking 1U away at a time.

As we learned how to properly dose him, we also noticed his BG staying more consistent especially lately. We gave him quite a few fur shots probably when we first started figuring it out.
 
You have contour next one meter in your signature and pet test meter in your SS. Which one have you been using up until now?
Has it been the pet meter?
I would not change the signature one to the contour meter until you have decided to swap over completely. It will confuse helpers and could lead to an error in judgement if you have both meters listed and the person looks at the wrong one.

did you stall, not feed and see if the BG was rising after 20 minutes?
 
You have contour next one meter in your signature and pet test meter in your SS. Which one have you been using up until now?
Has it been the pet meter?
I would not change the signature one to the contour meter until you have decided to swap over completely. It will confuse helpers and could lead to an error in judgement if you have both meters listed and the person looks at the wrong one.

did you stall, not feed and see if the BG was rising after 20 minutes?

I purchased the Contour meter today and was comparing results. There's a ~90 point gap between them and one would require an insulin dose I think, (205), and the 116 wouldn't unless it rises past 150, right?

I fed, withheld insulin, and came here for advice.

The Contour meter came up with the exact same numbers twice (116.)
 
Ok. Next time you feel the BG is too low, stall, don’t feed and test again in 20 mins to see if the BG is rising.

I think it is great you have got the human meter. However, what I would do at the moment, is to use the pet meter for the next cycle and get readings from the human meter as well so you have an idea of where the BGs are. Just put the pet meter readings into the SS and maybe list the comparisons in the remarks column of the SS for reference.

Tomorrow, draw a thick line across the SS and say ‘using contour next meter now”. And start using that meter. I will ask @Bandit's Mom to swap over the SS to a human meter one tomorrow for you. How does that sound.
As the numbers get lower on the two meters they are closer together, and as they get higher, they are further apart. It is very hard to compare them.

If the 205 was before food on the pet meter, that should be fine to shoot. You shot a 78 on the pet meter yesterday.
I would get a +1 and a+2 to start with and continue testing from there. Do you have plenty of test strips, can monitor and have some high carb food and honey or Karo.
How does that sound.?
 
Ok. Next time you feel the BG is too low, stall, don’t feed and test again in 20 mins to see if the BG is rising.

I think it is great you have got the human meter. However, what I would do at the moment, is to use the pet meter for the next cycle and get readings from the human meter as well so you have an idea of where the BGs are. Just put the pet meter readings into the SS and maybe list the comparisons in the remarks column of the SS for reference.

Tomorrow, draw a thick line across the SS and say ‘using contour next meter now”. And start using that meter. I will ask @Bandit's Mom to swap over the SS to a human meter one tomorrow for you. How does that sound.
As the numbers get lower on the two meters they are closer together, and as they get higher, they are further apart. It is very hard to compare them.

If the 205 was before food on the pet meter, that should be fine to shoot. You shot a 78 on the pet meter yesterday.
I would get a +1 and a+2 to start with and continue testing from there. Do you have plenty of test strips, can monitor and have some high carb food and honey or Karo.
How does that sound.?

I updated my signature with the Contour meter, as well as the spreadsheet. I'll start specifically using the new meter tomorrow and try comparisons tonight.

I haven't given him insulin and will do a +2 to see how much changes. If he spikes on both, I'll give him a shot.

Thank you for the advice.
 
I updated my signature with the Contour meter, as well as the spreadsheet. I'll start specifically using the new meter tomorrow and try comparisons tonight.

I haven't given him insulin and will do a +2 to see how much changes. If he spikes on both, I'll give him a shot.

Thank you for the advice.
How long since you got the preshot of 205?
I would not wait until +2 to see if the BG is rising. It is best to do it each 20 minutes to catch any rise.

Whenever you shoot, that will be your new PMPS time and you will need to go 12 hours from that time for the next shot, although you can come back each day be 15 minutes twice a day or 30 minutes once a day to get back on schedule.
 
No, that was the Contour meter. It dropped from 116 to 90.
Ok thanks.
It isn’t recommended to use two different meters in the SS. Even when they are clearly marked, it is too confusing and unless I had asked, I would have assumed that was a pet meter reading. The two meter readings can’t be compared. So having PMPS as 205 and +1 as 90 (and using two different meters) will not only drive you crazy, it is not a safe way to do it.
So you need to decide which meter you are going to use and stick to it.
If you have decided to skip the dose, you can swap over to the human meter now if you like. You need to clearly mark it on the SS until we can get that line in to separate the pet and the human meter readings.
What do you think of that idea?
 
Ok thanks.
It isn’t recommended to use two different meters in the SS. Even when they are clearly marked, it is too confusing and unless I had asked, I would have assumed that was a pet meter reading. The two meter readings can’t be compared. So having PMPS as 205 and +1 as 90 (and using two different meters) will not only drive you crazy, it is not a safe way to do it.
So you need to decide which meter you are going to use and stick to it.
If you have decided to skip the dose, you can swap over to the human meter now if you like. You need to clearly mark it on the SS until we can get that line in to separate the pet and the human meter readings.
What do you think of that idea?

Thanks for the response, to clarify my original post was asking why there was a severe difference between the meters and which to trust for dosing. Giving him the same dosage I was at 205 for 116 could be very bad.

I know not to swap whenever I want, my question and issue is one is showing he's within safe BG levels without insulin and the other isn't.

I trust the Contour as it gave the same reading with two different samples for now, considering most people here use human meters as well.

I deleted the issue I see you've established and tomorrow will separate the change of usage with a blank line. For tonight, I'll just record my results with the Contour meter in the remarks area.
 
Thanks for the response, to clarify my original post was asking why there was a severe difference between the meters and which to trust for dosing. Giving him the same dosage I was at 205 for 116 could be very bad.
Wondering now if the 205 pet meter might not have been correct.. I would have thought with a reading of 116 on the human meter, the reading in the pet meter would have been around the 150 mark. There should not have been that big a gap in numbers. But trying to compare the two meters will do your head in.
No one has come up yet with BG numbers to compare the two.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top