? 08/07 Martini - opinions please?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SMM

Member Since 2017
I have no clue what is going on with her. She went hypo on 1.5 so she earned a reduction. I did 1.25 and she was high in the mornings and evenings too. Went to 1.00 and F1.00 (got a 91 to earn that) and she was still was high in the mornings. Now it's a F1.00/1.25 as even with calipers these darn BD syringes are not consistant. She can't be clearing 'bounces' if that's what they are every morning that quickly. Any ideas of why we hit blues pretty consistently preshot pm? And then yellows every morning? Am I giving too much? Too little? I would love to see some greens......
She is not peeing a lot, pretty active and not drinking a lot either.Any ideas/opinions would be sincerely appreciated!

Sandy
 
Good Morning Sandy,

Our little furballs like to keep us on our toes. Martini SS is looking pretty good. Looks like you are on top of things. You may want to get a curve on your next day off. If it is possible, you may want to get a couple night time BGs when you normally would be sleeping, where her nadir would be and Maybe a +10, +11 (one morning try and get up earlier). It may help to see if she is going really low overnight and bouncing for morning AMPS.

When and how often are you feeding her?

Getting a dark green is not going hypo, you don't want a cat to go hypo. If you get a lime green BG you take action to avoid a hypo episode.
 
Morning! I don't really believe in curves as it is just ONE day if you get what I mean. I can try the +10 etc, but if it is bouncing, how can she possibly clear it so quickly? And if she is going really low, how can I prevent this???
She gets fed twice a day - @4am/4pm.
Sorry mispoke on the hypo, I just meant below the 90 range.
Thank you for the input Nat, truly appreciated! :) Anyone else or you have dosage guidance or
answers to my silly questions? Sorry to be such a bother :(
 
Last edited:
Anything to add with other guidance/opinions/answers out there pretty please with a cherry on top! ?
 
First, I don't see any numbers that would indicate a symptomatic hypoglycemic event. If you're referring to Martini's PM cycle on 6/10, those are lowish numbers for SLGS but don't warrant a reduction for those using TR. Was Martini exhibiting symptoms of hypoglycemia? If not, those are lower than usual numbers not "hypo."

As cats become more accustomed to spending times in normal numbers (i.e., 50 - 120), they can clear bounces quickly. Gabby would clear a bounce within 1 - 2 cycles. It's a good sign!

Some cats experience what's referred to as a "dawn effect." As their bodies are preparing for the stress of the day ahead, there is a release of stress hormones which raised BG. That may be what you're seeing in the AMs.

 
Sorry again for mentioning hypo - I just meant below the 90 range. :( I'm not using TR, SLGS is it for now anyway. I always read that for 7 days you use a set dose and then go up or down or maintain within certain limits? I hope I'm not dose hopping, but please tell if I am. Is there any way to prevent a 'dawn effect' if that's what it is?
I will try for more testing. Thank you for the comments, sincerely.
 
I think you are holding the dose pretty well for SLGS, I think perhaps the reference dose hop maybe related to fat & skinny doses and think there was one day you shot a .5 on a high BG, and todays F1.0- 1.25(may have looked confusing, think I get it). I could tell you were following SLGS so think you are doing well.

Red suggestion is good, feeding through out the cycles help. I like to leave Marvin a small meal overnight too.

I like Sienne response, I learned something new too, dawn effect :)

I also agree with Sandy, sprinkling a few BG here and there where you have white spots will help fill in the blanks, curves helped me more when Marvin was at lower number and a bit more constant, so I understand what you mean. Filling in some of the blanks will address what patterns we may not be seeing, plus you test enough that there is some very useful data on cutie pie Martini :)

I used to live in Etobicoke before I moved to Montreal, miss it (not the traffic tho)
 
Thanks Nat. I can't leave a meal or my other little 'hoover' will suck it up. :(
I shot the .5 only cause I was sure it was a FS I did at first, and wanted to get just a touch in her. I know we're not supposed to shoot again, but I was very sure.
I'll try to get more spots filled in.
F & sk - are related to the *&^% BD syringes. Even with calipers I have problems in the lines not being consistent in them so I try to rectify with the F&sk.

Sandy
 
Yes, don't get married to a dose. Unfortunately, I did that with Bubba; big mistake!

Keep posting so peep can help you with dosing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top