08/07/18 Squallie AMPS 62/57/55, +6/80, PMPS 89

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squalliesmom

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

Squallie is still not eating well. He'll take a couple of bites of his food and walk away. I can't even lure him with most of his favorite toppings. :( If I sprinkle Fortiflora on it, I can get him to eat another couple of bites, but that's all. He will nibble at the dry food, he's eating more of that than the wet, but probably not enough to get the calories he needs.

No shot this morning. His numbers kept dropping and, since I can't rely on him eating anything to bring his BG up if it should drop too low, I decided it was best just to skip the shot today.
 
Hugs! You guys have been in my thoughts and prayers. When is Squallie's US?

Today's winning combo is Halo canned with Go dry topper. Just mentioning in case Squallie may like them too.
 
Hugs! You guys have been in my thoughts and prayers. When is Squallie's US?

Today's winning combo is Halo canned with Go dry topper. Just mentioning in case Squallie may like them too.
Thanks! His US is on Thursday.
I'm familiar with Halo (don't know which ones are low-carb, though) but not the Go topper. What is it? Squallie always seems to like -or did like- toppers.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Holding you and Squallie in heart and prayers . Will be glad for you both when the US is behind you and eliminates that concern. It’s just going to take some time for him to get fully back to his old IM chasing self ❤️
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Holding you and Squallie in heart and prayers . Will be glad for you both when the US is behind you and eliminates that concern. It’s just going to take some time for him to get fully back to his old IM chasing self ❤️
Thank you, Beth, I SO hope you are right! :bighug:❤️:bighug:
 
I saw THIS product mentioned awhile back and was going to try it, but never got the chance, so I don’t know if it works. Hope Squallies appy picks up:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Has anybody ever used this supplement by Wysong?
I noticed it had garlic. I Googled it and found this: Onions, garlic, chives, and leeks are in the Allium family, and are poisonous to both dogs and cats if the dose is right. Garlic is considered to be about five times as toxic as onions for cats and dogs. ... While minute amounts of these foods in some pets, especially dogs, may be safe, large ingestions can be very toxic.

That makes me nervous.
 
I have used the Purebites Duck Liver (bottom of the bag crumbs). I have a small bag (of crumbs) I can mail to you tomorrow. Also have used crumbled up the Instinct rabbit raw booster (I can send some of these too). And just recently purchased this (green lipped muscle powder) that @LuvinThisPig recommended. It is really stinky and Gizmo has eaten food with it. I can send you some of it too.

Do you feed any fish based foods? I don't but he gets his Canna mixed with about a teaspoon of the meow mix tender favorites in sauce salmon & crab. He will always eat this. It is cheap (0.50/cup, 3% carb). It is very soupy and stinky. I can send you a few Canna capsules too if you want.

Have you tried a/d?
 
I noticed it had garlic. I Googled it and found this: Onions, garlic, chives, and leeks are in the Allium family, and are poisonous to both dogs and cats if the dose is right. Garlic is considered to be about five times as toxic as onions for cats and dogs. ... While minute amounts of these foods in some pets, especially dogs, may be safe, large ingestions can be very toxic.

That makes me nervous.
Oh No! :eek: I didn't see that! Thanks, I'll stray away from it!
 
I have used the Purebites Duck Liver (bottom of the bag crumbs). I have a small bag (of crumbs) I can mail to you tomorrow. Also have used crumbled up the Instinct rabbit raw booster (I can send some of these too). And just recently purchased this (green lipped muscle powder) that @LuvinThisPig recommended. It is really stinky and Gizmo has eaten food with it. I can send you some of it too.

Do you feed any fish based foods? I don't but he gets his Canna mixed with about a teaspoon of the meow mix tender favorites in sauce salmon & crab. He will always eat this. It is cheap (0.50/cup, 3% carb). It is very soupy and stinky. I can send you a few Canna capsules too if you want.

Have you tried a/d?
Thanks, Lizzie! I will take you up on that! Right now I am trying everything possible to interest him in food. He used to get 1/2 can of FF seafood of any variety for lunch, but he hasn't eaten proper lunch in over a month. :(
 
Extra prayers going out to you and Squallie as Elmo and I hit the hay , Lucy:bighug: I pray he has a better day tomorrow and that you both don’t get discouraged cos the older we get the longer it takes to recover ...but we do recover :bighug: Take heart , Lucy, knowing we are all fighting you and Squallies corner :bighug:❤️
 
Hi Lucy, just catching up. Oh dear about Squallie being inappy again.
I hadn’t heard about the wet food supplement you mr tinned earlier but agree that with garlic included as an ingredient, I’d steer clear if it.

Re the toppers/enhancers you mentioned above: I’m not familiar with them. But I’ve gotten the vital essentials freeze dried chicken hearts (they also have giblets, livers and freeze dried minnows, the latter was one of Sootie’s favorites, straight up and whole).
Anyway, I either break them into pieces or blenderize and sprinkle into or on fud. And less expensive I think than the premade ones you linked to.
Here’s a link to vital essentials brand on Chewy.
https://www.chewy.com/vital-essentials-chicken-hearts/dp/152709

Sending heaps of vines for Squallie and that US tomorrow will be stress free and yield good report.
Hugs and ❤️
 
The "rescue" box has left the building :smuggrin:

When I thanked hubby for doing it for me (taking to the post office) he said "Anything for a sick kitty" :cool:

Hang on Squallie.. It is on its way

tenor-2.gif
 
Thanks! His US is on Thursday.
I'm familiar with Halo (don't know which ones are low-carb, though) but not the Go topper. What is it? Squallie always seems to like -or did like- toppers.

Sorry for the delay. It looks like Halo Impulse and Halo Spot's Pate are all low carb. Go is a dry kibble. (I know dry is bad.) We were using Temptations treats as toppers, and we wanted something better. We went to a pet food store that stocks a lot of brands on the food list that I'd never heard of. They also give away small sample bags of dry food so we grabbed some as toppers. The Go brand is tiny crunchy bits that Grandpa really goes for (no pun intended).

Today is the first day in several that he ate without needing a topper. He ate Halo Impulse and Spot's pate this morning.
 
Last edited:
Sorry for the delay. It looks like Halo Impulse and Halo Spot's Pate are all low carb. Go is a dry kibble. (I know dry is bad.) We were using Temptations treats as toppers, and we wanted something better. We went to a pet food store that stocks a lot of brands on the food list that I'd never heard of. They also give away small sample bags of dry food so we grabbed some as toppers. The Go brand is tiny crunchy bits that Grandpa really goes for (no pun intended).

Today is the first day in several that he ate without needing a topper. He ate Halo Impulse and Spot's pate this morning.
Thanks for the info on Go. So glad to hear Grandpa ate without needing a topper! :cat::bighug:
 
Extra prayers going out to you and Squallie as Elmo and I hit the hay , Lucy:bighug: I pray he has a better day tomorrow and that you both don’t get discouraged cos the older we get the longer it takes to recover ...but we do recover :bighug: Take heart , Lucy, knowing we are all fighting you and Squallies corner :bighug:❤️
Thank you, Beth. Your positivity is so helpful, and means so much to me. :bighug:❤️:bighug:
 
Hi Lucy, just catching up. Oh dear about Squallie being inappy again.
I hadn’t heard about the wet food supplement you mr tinned earlier but agree that with garlic included as an ingredient, I’d steer clear if it.

Re the toppers/enhancers you mentioned above: I’m not familiar with them. But I’ve gotten the vital essentials freeze dried chicken hearts (they also have giblets, livers and freeze dried minnows, the latter was one of Sootie’s favorites, straight up and whole).
Anyway, I either break them into pieces or blenderize and sprinkle into or on fud. And less expensive I think than the premade ones you linked to.
Here’s a link to vital essentials brand on Chewy.
https://www.chewy.com/vital-essentials-chicken-hearts/dp/152709

Sending heaps of vines for Squallie and that US tomorrow will be stress free and yield good report.
Hugs and ❤️
Thanks, Sina! :bighug:❤️:bighug: I have used some of the Vital Essentials in the past, and my cats have really liked them, especially the whole minnows (they kinda gross me out, lol). I just ordered some more Fortiflora, because he likes/liked that, but this morning he wasn't having any of it, so he may be off it now. It's so hard - something he loves today is looked upon with great disdain or, worse, almost horror, the next day!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top