08/06 Eddie AMPS 365 +7 297 PMPS 369 +9 353

Jodey&Eddie&Blue

Member Since 2021
Hello,
Well, the really, really good news is that Eddie decided it was ok to return to his eating place and to eat his entire bowl of food. Before he did that he did the face rub on the chair which is beside his eating place. That was a ritual he had before. One small step for cat, one giant leap...

Here is yesterday:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/08-05-eddie-amps-205-pmps-304-9-391.280224/

I needed to increase his insulin to 6iu Levemir so the eating part was a real relief. I also added S. Boulardii to his food and he still has the Cerenia on board as well as the Mirtazapine....

Over the last 24 hours, I've been playing:

"Deep Soothing Music for Anxious, ill and Stressed Cats!"

Thank you, Everyone, for being there.

 
@Wendy&Neko I have one more question (I hope) for today:

Eddie has an appointment at the clinic with the tech to give sub-q and for me to learn it: he is really quite mellow right now and came to my call for a little piece of avocado, which he and Blue have both loved, and he's on his pillow again.

I am going to be testing him in the next while (increase to 6u) but what I'd like to know is: can I reschedule the appointment. He's so calm after all this time and I would hate, unless it is really necessary, to get him all stressed out by being in the carrier, the car and in the clinic...
 
Given how dehydrated he was, I think the fluids are important. You need to learn how to give them. Test before you go so number is not inflated.
 
Given how dehydrated he was, I think the fluids are important. You need to learn how to give them. Test before you go so number is not inflated.
Well, I did go and learned how to do it. I was not able to get a proper test as there was a guy here doing some work on the kitchen cabinets (just what you need and it was really noisy and disruptive and I had to grab Mr. Ed and put him in carrier. However, Eddie was a champ at the clinic and I think I've got a new skill.
I also have to say Eddie is eating again and I can see he's enjoying his food. When we got back from the clinic he spent some time looking all over the house in nearly every room. Then I gave him a tsp snack (with a little tuna H2O as reward). He then went to his pillow and groomed himself. He seems more at peace and I've just got the +7
 
Glad that went ok. Fluids is a good skill to have.

Poor Eddie, probably still processing the loss. Though he doesn’t know what happened. At least he has other fursibs.
 
Glad that went ok. Fluids is a good skill to have.

Poor Eddie, probably still processing the loss. Though he doesn’t know what happened. At least he has other fursibs.
Yes, he is really processing the loss. I see that he experiences Blue's absence as missing part of himself. I mean, they were brothers and since they were born at the same time, really at least twins or part of quintuplets or more.

Anyway, he has eaten his dinner, had his medications, his insulin and now he's back on his pillow and listen to the soothing kitty music. It's quite ethereal and calms me as well. The site has 15 hours of continuous music so I just let it run for him all night...
 
Back
Top