08/05 Tiggy PMPS 418 (330), + 3 338 (268)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Previous condo with my first posting
EEK!!! Ok here is the PMPS numbers - 418 is the new meter, 329 is my old one. I have never seen them so high.. ever!! It all seemed good at first. I cut him off the venison last night ( its 1/3 of his diet) and gave him 3.5IU. This morning he was lowest I had seen in a week so I thought I would start tight regulation at the recommended dose for his weight, 2IU. And +3 it seemed to be working. And then its done nothing but rise and rise and now is the highest I have ever seen it. ever - even if you just look at my old meter. Even when he was on 2IU a couple of weeks ago. Someone on the forum said there was no proof of somogyi on lantus so whats going on? Do I hold this dose for the recommended time or put him back on 3.5???

Earlier in the day:
The data above in the subject line is taken with my new Bayer Contour meter but I am still using my old freestyle lite as well until I am comfortable with the new one. I discovered last night that the Natural Balance venison and green pea canned that I thought was low carb (as told by my vet) isnt and could be as high as 36% carbs! So starting last night after his PMPS, I moved Tiggy onto one I know for sure is 8%. Its going to be interesting to see what happens now! Also I moved him to 2IU this morning.

Check out Tiggys profile and SS for more info. Note both meters data is showing for now - new meter is in italics.
 
Re: 08/05 Tiggy PMPS 418 (329) SOS!

Wendy

I think we missed this because you didn't add it to the bottom of your condo. If you go back and edit the first post, it doesn't bump up your condo. So whenever you need help or want to post something in the text box for us, always click on
"post reply" and put it at the bottom....that bumps you to the top of the list in the forum. If you just edit the first post, you'll stay at the bottom. :roll: :roll: :roll:

I believe I indicated before that the starting dose for lantus is the initial dose for newly diagnosed cats. I would not have changed his dose....I put something to the effect of that on your condo yesterday.....two choices...up or down and if you go down, you could see some hyperglycemia. Which you may be seeing.....or he could be bouncing off blue numbers.

You have to be consistent with a dose. You can do one of two things now....either consider these past three shots as bull chicken shots (BCS) and go back to the 3.5u because he was seeing some nice blue on it, or leave it here and take him up in accordance with the protocol. IMHO, since you have him down here now, I'd take him back up per the protocol....and we can help you with that. I'm afraid if you bump all the way back up to 3.5u, you are going to start getting really wonky stuff....even wonkier than now.
 
Re: 08/05 Tiggy PMPS 418 (329) SOS!

drat too late I chickened out and gave him 3.5IU. I only gave 2IU for one dose (this morning) so I can pretend it was a fur shot and hope it doesnt make too much difference.
Also i think showing old and new meter results on my SS is confusing matters so I deleted the new meter off the sheet for now.
 
Re: 08/05 Tiggy PMPS 418 (329) SOS!

Marjorie and Gracie said:
You have to be consistent with a dose. You can do one of two things now....either consider these past three shots as bull chicken shots (BCS) and go back to the 3.5u because he was seeing some nice blue on it, or leave it here and take him up in accordance with the protocol. IMHO, since you have him down here now, I'd take him back up per the protocol....and we can help you with that. I'm afraid if you bump all the way back up to 3.5u, you are going to start getting really wonky stuff....even wonkier than now.
Marje, I'm not quite following because I see only one BCS dose this morning of 2.00 units, on the spreadsheet.
 
Re: 08/05 Tiggy PMPS 329 SOS!

Thats my bad - I bought a new meter and had put on the sheet both old meter and new meter results in two lines. Think it was confusing so I deleted the new meter results for now. You are right though - I only gave 1 dose of 2Iu .. this am.
 
Re: 08/05 Tiggy PMPS 418 (329) SOS!

So the Freestyle Lite number is the 418 and the Bayer Contour is the 329? I always thought the Freestyle Lites tested with lower numbers. I would go with the Bayer number. Can you get any tests in tonight? Maybe before bed, and/or +6?
 
Re: 08/05 Tiggy PMPS 418 (329) SOS!

Nope the contour is 418 and the freestyle 329. The contour seems to be around 40-70 higher all the time. I have him 3.5iu so I am planning to measure in three hours at +3 .. And maybe again if I stay up to watch the mars lander!
 
Re: 08/05 Tiggy PMPS 418 (329) SOS!

Well....that explains it. I thought you just increased but I saw two lines and three doses of 2u. DUH ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile

So....we're good now. If you had shot 2units three times, I would have held but since you only did it once, treat it like a BCS. Stick with 3.5u now and let's see what he does with the change of food. Ok?

Sorry about that. I didn't realize you were keeping track with both meters.
 
Re: 08/05 Tiggy PMPS 418 (329) SOS!

I've got a different perspective. I'm looking at Tiggy's SS and seeing doses that are being held for too long and minimal testing during the PM cycle. There's minimal time in numbers below 200. I think with the strategy you're using you're risking glucose toxicity. Rather than holding or reducing Tiggy's dose, I think you should be increasing.
 
Actually, it isn't a different perspective. I also think he needs more insulin but Wendy has been concerned that the 3.5u dose was too much. Especially in light of the food issue.

We still are thinking the same way, Sienne :-D :-D
 
I gave him 3.5iu three hours ago and it seems to be working so far. Plan is to hold for a few more days to see if cutting out that accidental high carb food makes a difference (1/3 of his diet was naturall balance venison which i just found out is 36% carbs). And if it doesn't...
 
Pmps+5... Tiggy is running round the house with way too much energy. Insulin must be working on all that sugar... He is having a sugar high... Lol.Now if he will just stay still long enough for me to measure him.. Nah I think I will wait an hour till he is nice and calm.
 
I know it seems he is coming down but these numbers are pretty close together. I'm glad to hear he's feeling great!
 
Re: 08/05 Tiggy PMPS 418 (330), + 3 338 (268) + 6 313 (266)

Feels more of a drop to me since he has been so flat. Plus I work in mmol/L being in Canada so a drop from 18.3 to 14.9 seems like a lot. I have to keep multiplying by 18 all the time.... Doesn't feel like so much of a drop somehow when you measure in mg/dl..

All the same I have never seen him above 18 before so am hoping he keeps dropping. Will find out in 45mins.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top