08/05 Spooky AMPS 340 +7.25 (66) +7.5 (90)

Status
Not open for further replies.

koala kim

Member Since 2012
I should say I believe part of the reason Spooky's number was so high this morning (340) is because while trying to wrangle the kitty burrito, my husband accidentally sat on Spooky's tail. Spooky was hissing and snapping, and we couldn't figure out why. We were talking about taking him to the ER vet. As my husband let Spooky go, he realized he had been sitting on his tail the whole time. ohmygod_smile
So we waited a few minutes and tried another test. Perhaps we should have given him more time to calm down?

We did a spot check (our first) at +7.25. At that time, his BG was 66. We decided to do another one in 15 minutes at the +7.5 mark to make sure it wasn't dropping any more. His BG was 90.

Can a drop that big be normal or semi-normal after such a big AMPS number? Which number do I put on his spreadsheet?

I wish I had more numbers on the spreadsheet, but Sundays are really the only time we can both be here to test. And Spooky is still a two person test job. We have tried to test on our own, and so far, we have failed miserably.

Thanks in advance! :smile:
 
You can stack the numbers both in the +7 box, and then I think you will have to manually change the color of the box to green

Carl
 
So here's what has me confused. If you are home in time to give a PM shot, why aren't you testing at PMPS? Can't you get a test before you go to sleep? Do you give Spooky a shot and walk out the door or can you get a +1 or a +2? Do you get home right before shot time and can you get a shot later in the PM cycle?

There's a big trade off here. If you can get only one test per day, then you are going to need to spend a lot of money getting fructosamine tests and having your vet do curves on a monthly basis. That will need to be your means of determining how Spooky is doing on a given dose. If you are home testing, you do not have to spend what will be a great deal of money having your vet doing the monitoring. I also think you will reduce your chances of Spooky going into remission and it increases the chances of his being over dose since many cats are stressed at the vet's office and their numbers are artificially high. If you put the energy into monitoring and getting the tests now, you will increase the possibility of remission and you'll be largely done with testing.

The other issue here is one of safety. This dose is bringing Spooky down to 66, or possibly lower. There's no way to know. It sounds like you're not able to get any mid-cycle spot checks during the AM cycle. Many of us work and those tests aren't feasible. However, it makes getting tests when you are home even more important. Testing is the only way to keep Spooky safe. It's also the only way to know when to adjust his dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top