08/05 Furball, AMPS=278, PMPS=146

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 08/05 Furball, AMPS=278 Dose Question

Good morning. I know sometimes I have to raise J.D.'s dose a bit, and wait to see what it does, and then sometimes raise it a bit more, before he will start to come down and need reductions again. I think that one good dose is only that for a certain amount of time, and then adjustments need to be made. Are you able to get more night time testing?
 
Re: 08/05 Furball, AMPS=278 Dose Question

The short answer is, "yes." However, I don't think the 1.0u dose has been working particularly well. If you are not aiming for remission, I would encourage you to look at keeping Furball's numbers below renal threshold. While this number varies from cat to cat, I would suggest you try to use enough insulin so your cat's numbers are below 220 -- in other words, trying to keep Furball in mostly blue numbers. With SLGS, after a week, you want to evaluate the dose.

If you want to try to figure out where renal threshold is for Furball, you will need to get Ketodiastix. These are just like the strips for ketone testing except they have 2 swatches on the strip. When you get a urine sample, one swatch assesses ketone levels and the other urinary glucose. At the point where you see there's no glucose in Furball's urine, you know you're below renal threshold. (Obviously, you also need to have a BG test to compare the reading to.)
 
Re: 08/05 Furball, AMPS=278 Dose Question

Hi Carla!

Good luck with the renal threshold project. Here are a few picture of the Keto-Diastix, just in case:

302403_10100304554397953_847680372_n.jpg


293014_10100304554442863_710634037_n.jpg


582056_10100304552167423_601424878_n.jpg


Hope your Sunday is nice nd relaxed, anyway!
Jane
 
Re: 08/05 Furball, AMPS=278 Dose Question

Thanks for all the advice and the pictures. I am hoping for remission someday, but it is hard for me to get those extra tests in (especially night time tests) that I need to really monitor her and work toward that since I work and have no one to help me. I am one of those people that if I don't get enough sleep, I can hardly function during the day. I don't know how understanding my work would be if I had to start calling off because I didn't get enough sleep due to my cat. I have to get up at 4:30 a.m. to get ready for work right now and the few times Furball was low enough before I went to sleep and I did have to set an alarm, I was really out of it at work. I also don't like to drive when I am that tired as I am afraid I will fall asleep at the wheel. I will see what I can do about getting her some lower numbers and maybe the rest will just work itself out. Hopefully if I get to the point where she is close to remission and I need to monitor her more, I can take some time off from work.

+3.5=267
Right now she seems to be surfing yellow. I will most likely increase the dose this PM.
 
Re: 08/05 Furball, AMPS=278 Dose Question

I'm just going to throw an idea or two out and maybe others can add some ideas, as well. Or, none of these may work.

If sleep deprivation isn't something you can deal with, is any adjustment to Furball's shot time possible? It sounds like you're up early. Obviously, a lot depends on when you get home. The earlier you're able to shoot, the more time there is in the PM cycle to get tests.

Do you ever wake up during the night (e.g., to use the bathroom)? If so, can you get a "sleep" test?
 
Since Furball's PMPS was 146 I did not raise her dose. I cannot stay up late tonight. I cannot be late for work tomorrow or miss work. We have a big day and the lady who does my backup has a doctor's appointment in the morning. Maybe tomorrow I will raise her dose.

I really don't have anyone to help me with tests or shots. My Mom would try, but she has carpal tunnel in both hands and at times loses her ability to grip things completely without notice.

I will have to think about whether I can adjust my schedule in order to give Furball an earlier shot. It would only be 1 hour earlier if I am able. I share a house with my brother and we juggle bathroom and kitchen time in the morning when getting ready for work. My brother faints at the sight of blood and gets lightheaded when he sees a needle. That makes things fun. I also have two groups of cats to take care of in the morning. They have to be separated at all times due to fighting. Nothing is simple. Thanks for all of the suggestions. I appreciate the support.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top