08/05 Blue AMPS 360 +3 306 (HOME!!!) PMPS 108

Jodey&Eddie&Blue

Member Since 2021
Good morning,

Here's yesterday's story from the front lines:

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...pm189-no-shot-new-update-test-results.266721/

This morning at 6:15am the phone rang and it was the vet excitedly announcing that Blue had POOPED! All in CAPS because it was that much poop!! What a relief (for everyone but especially Blue).

The vet said he was not quite at deobstipation so was very glad of that. Last night I had requested an SDMA and she reported it is NORMAL. She is putting him on 2u insulin saying it's possible he's inching towards another remission. No more of that Hills "prescription" kidney care.

Thank you for all the support!! I'm picking Blue up this morning.
 
Ok, we're home!! And, he's eating and drinking. More to come.

He's going to be on PEG3350 long term; stool softener. So be it.

Good news: Kidney Values including SDMA=Normal

Let's not have any more excitement, ok?

He's already gone back to his little sun patch at the back door... IMG_0640.jpg
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0640.jpg
    IMG_0640.jpg
    63.4 KB · Views: 85
Last edited:
Yippee! And did I see some "Blue" on Blue's SS the other night, and look at the lower preshots, much better for your boy! I'm so curious if that constipation was what was driving his numbers up? But you don't indicate constipation was ever a problem before. Oh well, here's hoping for a calm evening for your family, you've been through so much! That tiny bit of Miralax is nothing, it is tasteless and you can just sprinkle it on his food with a bit of water to dissolve it.
 
Yippee! And did I see some "Blue" on Blue's SS the other night, and look at the lower preshots, much better for your boy! I'm so curious if that constipation was what was driving his numbers up? But you don't indicate constipation was ever a problem before. Oh well, here's hoping for a calm evening for your family, you've been through so much! That tiny bit of Miralax is nothing, it is tasteless and you can just sprinkle it on his food with a bit of water to dissolve it.
Well Blue had been on here for only this past while but this level of constipation is new to us overall. He’s really happy to be home and even Eddie who has been a bit grumpy lately seems happy to see him!
 
@Wendy&Neko @FrostD Well, Blue just tested PMPS 108. Shoot or no? They put him on 2.0u

Called hospital. They said don't shoot and see what happens in the morning. So, here we are in new territory again.

A cat with CKD suddenly has normal kidney values. A cat with crazy-high BG suddenly testing normal range.

Is this the Upside-Down?
 
Last edited:
I am quite suspicious of these numbers. All they did was get him unblocked? And his diet change is complete?

This could be the diet change speaking, and the constipation fixed (we know they tend to drop lower when they've been constipated then go).

I suppose the question is if you can monitor and have hypo kit. I personally would not give 2U because if this is diet, that dose may get ahead of you. I'd be thinking token dose, but truthfully not sure how much. 0.5-1U? He's got these blues on what is roughly a 1.5-2U depot, so I think 0.5U may be too conservative. Can't take insulin out, can always increase though once you figure out what he's doing.

Sorry it's a waffling answer!
 
I am quite suspicious of these numbers. All they did was get him unblocked? And his diet change is complete?

This could be the diet change speaking, and the constipation fixed (we know they tend to drop lower when they've been constipated then go).

I suppose the question is if you can monitor and have hypo kit. I personally would not give 2U because if this is diet, that dose may get ahead of you. I'd be thinking token dose, but truthfully not sure how much. 0.5-1U? He's got these blues on what is roughly a 1.5-2U depot, so I think 0.5U may be too conservative. Can't take insulin out, can always increase though once you figure out what he's doing.

Sorry it's a waffling answer!

It's kind of waffling question, too. Anyway, I called hospital, vet said don't risk it and wait until the morning. You're right: you can't take insulin out!! So, I imagine it won't hurt him to go without for one night.

Honestly, this is just plain mysterious. Thanks for thinking about it with me, though!
 
I’ve seen cat’s BG spike on high carb food and then come back down after the offending food is removed. Chip was notoriously sensitive to carbs. We joked you couldn’t even wave the food under his nose without impacting his BG.

With Tubby, I could tell when he was starting to get “backed up” when his BG started trending higher.

Also, didn’t you say Blue received antibiotics for his teeth? That could also have made a difference.

In diabetics, removing the “offending” item/issue can bring their BG numbers back down. In Blue, you had high carb food, constipation, and dental issues — all offending in their own right. So maybe addressing all of those things made a difference. Perhaps not such a mystery after all? We can hope, anyway!
 
I’ve seen cat’s BG spike on high carb food and then come back down after the offending food is removed. Chip was notoriously sensitive to carbs. We joked you couldn’t even wave the food under his nose without impacting his BG.

With Tubby, I could tell when he was starting to get “backed up” when his BG started trending higher.

Also, didn’t you say Blue received antibiotics for his teeth? That could also have made a difference.

In diabetics, removing the “offending” item/issue can bring their BG numbers back down. In Blue, you had high carb food, constipation, and dental issues — all offending in their own right. So maybe addressing all of those things made a difference. Perhaps not such a mystery after all? We can hope, anyway!

Yes, you've hit on all the right notes here, JL.
Blue is feeling so much better. I took him out into the garden and he walked around like a boss.
He'll probably remain on antibiotics for awhile. I'm sure they are helping that abscess. I can't wait until he can get his dental.
I found out that the "special" food is not 38% carbohydrate. It's 39.5!!! Like seriously, it was jet fuel to Blue's BG.
Let us hope for peace. :):cat:
 
Back
Top