? 08/04 Evey low preshot number advice AMPS 198 +4 103 +5 99 +6 90 +7 94 +8 92 +9 104 +10 95 +11 86

Evey

Member Since 2024
Hi, I need some advice on shooting at the low preshot number. Evey is at 83 now. This is a lot lower than her preshot numbers. I have read the post about How to handle low preshot number. But i still feel uncomfortable giving her 1U. Should I still give her 1U? Can anyone give me some advice? Thank you!

【Update】
She was supposed to get insulin at 19:09. Since her preshot number is lower than usual. I gave her food and waited an hour. I gave her insulin at 20:18 but i reduce the dose to 0.75U. Hopefully she won't have low blood sugar. The time and BG numbers are listed as below.


19:02 94 (Food:20g)
19:38 104
20:00 83
20:18 106 (insulin: 0.75U, Food: 25g)
 
Last edited:
She has been flat for hours and Lantus is very good at giving flat cycles when you shoot low. I see you're using the Libre. Do you have a regular meter to verify lower numbers on the Libre?
 
I'm stalling now. I fed her 20g of can food at 7:02pm (93mg/dL). At 7:28, she is 104 now. Should I keep stalling or is it safe to give her the shot?
Sorry to respond late. Did you give the shot? It's safe to shoot - especially if you can monitor.
 
Sorry to respond late. Did you give the shot? It's safe to shoot - especially if you can monitor.

Thank you for your reply. I did. I gave 0.75U though. She didn't earn a reduction but i was too afraid to give her 1U. I hope I didn't make a mistake.
 
Thank you for your reply. I did. I gave 0.75U though. She didn't earn a reduction but i was too afraid to give her 1U. I hope I didn't make a mistake.
It's good you gave some insulin. :-) Even if you give a lower dose or skip the dose, the depot will continue to affect the first part of the cycle. For future reference, the size of the dose does not affect the decision to shoot or not as long as it is a good dose for the cat. A cat needs as much as insulin as it does - so what is a small dose for one cat could be too much for another and vice versa.
 
It's good you gave some insulin. :) Even if you give a lower dose or skip the dose, the depot will continue to affect the first part of the cycle. For future reference, the size of the dose does not affect the decision to shoot or not as long as it is a good dose for the cat. A cat needs as much as insulin as it does - so what is a small dose for one cat could be too much for another and vice versa.

so if her preshot number is normal, how much insulin should I give her? I've giving her 1 expect tonight. Should have go back to the good dose?
 
On 4/6 the bg dropped to 47. I’m wondering why yiu did not reduce. Did you do an ear prick and the bg was over 50?
 
so if her preshot number is normal, how much insulin should I give her? I've giving her 1 expect tonight. Should have go back to the good dose?
With TR you can shoot anything over 50. You do reduce if under 50 though.
 
On 4/6 the bg dropped to 47. I’m wondering why yiu did not reduce. Did you do an ear prick and the bg was over 50?

I didn't do an ear prick. I wasn't sure if it really drop to 47 because it wasn't shown on the sensor's BG curve.

With TR you can shoot anything over 50. You do reduce if under 50 though.

Yes, I understand that. i reduce the dose to 0.75 because I didn't feel comfortable giving her 1U tonight since her preshot number is low.
 
Back
Top