? - 08/04 Eddie AMPS 130 +7 270 PMPS 182 +8.5 203 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

? 08/04 Eddie AMPS 130 +7 270 PMPS 182 +8.5 203

Jodey&Eddie&Blue

Member since 2021
Hello, ok here is yesterday and things are getting confusing:

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/08-03-eddie-advice-help-needed-please.280166/

Yesterday and at 5:00 am this morning when I phoned the clinic, they said Eddie is doing well and eating, etc. etc. All good.

But rather than 6u as they had decided on they gave 4u and they did the same this morning only at AMPS today when Eddie was at 95 they stalled for two hours until AM +2, tested got 130, then gave him 4u.

This seems illogical and chaotic to me. I'm waiting on the vet to call because I was to be picking Eddie after noon but when I called they said they wanted to keep him to test after giving him the 4u (late).

Haven't yet spoken to the daytime vet.

@Wendy&Neko
 
Last edited:
Any idea when the last R was given and how much? How much fluids they are giving and is it IV? Fluids can lower the BG, depending on cat and where given.

I would guess clinic folks aren't used to Levemir and it's late nadirs. That's probably why they stalled. Any idea if they are giving shots 12 hours apart or when?

Really looking forward to an updated spreadsheet to try to make sense of what is happening. For today, leave 130 in the AMPS column, but put it as 130@+14 to show a 2 hour delay. In the +11 from the previous cycle, put 95@+12, or however many hours it really was. I am assuming 12 hours apart, but if not, then the + times will have to change. Add dosing for the Lev for tomorrow if you can. You can put a note in the Remarks about the CRI R dose as well as the 1 unit R he got and when he got it.

they said they wanted to keep him to test after giving him the 4u (late).
Don't they know you can do the testing?
 
Any idea when the last R was given and how much? How much fluids they are giving and is it IV? Fluids can lower the BG, depending on cat and where given.

I would guess clinic folks aren't used to Levemir and it's late nadirs. That's probably why they stalled. Any idea if they are giving shots 12 hours apart or when?

Really looking forward to an updated spreadsheet to try to make sense of what is happening. For today, leave 130 in the AMPS column, but put it as 130@+14 to show a 2 hour delay. In the +11 from the previous cycle, put 95@+12, or however many hours it really was. I am assuming 12 hours apart, but if not, then the + times will have to change. Add dosing for the Lev for tomorrow if you can. You can put a note in the Remarks about the CRI R dose as well as the 1 unit R he got and when he got it.


Don't they know you can do the testing?

Ok, now they tell me the 95 was yesterday PM +10. Sometimes the story changes; depends on who I'm speaking with. I'll confirm everything when I pick Eddie up in a few hours but I've updated the SS with the most up-to-date version.

Yes, but because he went to 95 @ PM +10 yesterday, they got a bit freaked out and decided to keep him after giving him shot today, especially since AMPS was 130.
 
Well Eddie is home and he looks good but, yippee, at PMPS he's not all that interested in food. Just great. I get him to eat enough though to give 4u Levemir.

Decide to open the Mirtazapine and put a strip in his ear. We'll see. We'll see.

Am quite tired. Feel both very sad and quite frustrated.
 
Well Eddie is home and he looks good but, yippee, at PMPS he's not all that interested in food. Just great. I get him to eat enough though to give 4u Levemir.

Decide to open the Mirtazapine and put a strip in his ear. We'll see. We'll see.

Am quite tired. Feel both very sad and quite frustrated.

Hope that both you and Eddie are feeling better soon, you guys have been in my thoughts :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top