Hi Marc and Cooper and welcome to the forum.
With DKA so recently in the picture there are a few things that are really important. DKA happens when there is not enough insulin, not enough food and an infection or inflammation in the body.
- Cooper needs to be eating 1 1/2 times as many calories as he normally would. This is because food helps ketones from forming. As well as the main meals before the insulin is given, I would give Cooper a snack every two hours during the day and evening, except foe the 2 hours Preshot so the preshot BG is not food influenced.
- Don’t skip any doses of insulin, as insulin also stops ketones from forming. If the BG is not high enough to shoot, you need to stall, don’t feed and test again in 20 minutes to see the BG is rising. Post and ask for help. Make sure you change the subject line to reflect the problem eg…. BG xx stalling, PLEASE HELP. In the beginning I would not shoot if the BG is under 200 but stall as I said above.
- Get the spreadsheet set up so we can see the blood glucose levels
- Encourage extra fluids……if Cooper will allow you to, put a teaspoon of warm water in all his meals and snacks.
- If he was given any antibiotics make sure they are all given until finished.
- Test daily for ketones. This is really really important as we need to catch any sign of ketones early. To test you need to buy a bottle of Ketostix from Walmart or a pharmacy, collect a urine sample from Cooper and test the urine as per the instructions on the bottle.
- If Coopers appetite is not good give an anti nausea medication such as cerenia and / or ondansetron. It is very important he eats well
At the moment, it is more important that he eats anything, rather than he eats a low carb food. Are you feeding him just the pro plan dry at the moment? Is his appetite good? If so I think I would continue with it until you are sorted out with the spreadsheet and are comfortable testing. Then if there are no ketones we can look at changing over to a low carb diet. But at the moment the higher carb food is allowing the dose to be a bit higher which is helpful in keeping the ketones at bay.
Don’t try and change over to a low carb diet on your own or before you are testing very well as a change over can drop the BGs up to 100 points and the insulin will most likely need to be adjusted.
Three units is a large dose but until we can see some data we can’t say if it is a good safe dose.
If you could get the SS set up and any BGs you have put in, that would be very helpful.
@Bandit's Mom is great at setting SS and can help you if you like. We need to get it set quickly so we can help you.
Lantus dosing is based on the nadir or lowest point in the cycle so it is important you test
before every shot to see it is safe to give the dose.
Also if you can test during the cycle to see how low the dose is taking Cooper, we will be able to help with the dosing.
Do you have an automatic timed automatic feeder? If not I would highly recommend you look at getting one. You will then be able to feed Cooper while you are at work.
I think I have given you enough information for now. I don’t want to overwhelm you. But please ask any questions you need, we are very happy to answer them and help you as you nurse Cooper back to health.
Bron