08/04 Blue AMPS (in hospital) 306 PM189 (NO SHOT new update test results)

Jodey&Eddie&Blue

Member Since 2021
Good morning (still).

I just spoke with the vet at the hospital and she told me that Blue didn't really want to eat this morning (who can blame him with a nasal tube), his BG was 306 and they gave him a half dose of insulin (1.5u).

The best news is that although he has yet to have a bowel movement, the "mass" is much softer upon palpation and she feels this is very good. She says to give it time and she's dealt with kitties with masses "like concrete". She says the entire process may be 72 hours instead of 48 but is positive things will work out. The other good news item: kidney values are normal range and he is receiving antibiotics for the bad teeth.

I'm going to call back this afternoon and will post update. I am so grateful for your good and kind words and support. It means a lot. Here's a pic of Blue, Eddie and Stevie...

BLUE & Co.jpg
 

Attachments

  • BLUE & Co.jpg
    BLUE & Co.jpg
    33.2 KB · Views: 87
Overall a promising report. :bighug:

Normal range kidney values are awesome! Sounds like that special kidney food really was jumping the gun.

I'm really curious to see where he takes 1.5 units. Was his dose skipped last night? If so, could you put either Skip or NS (no shot) in the cell so we know what happened.
 
Overall a promising report. :bighug:

Normal range kidney values are awesome! Sounds like that special kidney food really was jumping the gun.

I'm really curious to see where he takes 1.5 units. Was his dose skipped last night? If so, could you put either Skip or NS (no shot) in the cell so we know what happened.

I will find out if the dose was skipped. It probably wasn't because they told me he ate his food last night, but I will confirm when I call back this afternoon.
 
Overall a promising report. :bighug:

Normal range kidney values are awesome! Sounds like that special kidney food really was jumping the gun.

I'm really curious to see where he takes 1.5 units. Was his dose skipped last night? If so, could you put either Skip or NS (no shot) in the cell so we know what happened.
He got 3u last night. I wasn't able at this call to see what the BG was but will find out.
 
Just called for an update on Blue; still no actual bowel movement and was told by the vet tech that they are in a "holding pattern" with all the above. I will call again later and update here.

I'm wondering if the EZComplete might have something to do with his continuing constipation? I ask because Eddie seems constipated as well (not totally in comparison with Blue but still...). I was careful to follow the transition guidelines and so all in all they didn't get that much of the raw/EZComplete mixture but the website suggests that green lipped mussel might contribute to constipation.

Any thoughts on this????
 
Last edited:
What a beautiful photo of the 3 kitties! I am sorry to hear Blue had to be hospitalized, but, it sounds like a very good vet report so far. Very interesting about those kidney labs, like Wendy alluded to! Sending tons of healing, pooping and feel better vines for Blue! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So, the dinner hour (here) update: although he has yet to poop, Blue has had a little food and has peed copiously. The vet said it might well take 48 hours to get the hard loaf of poo to soften up enough to move along. She said the colon is basically not able to move things long yet and they are massaging him every now and again.
His BG last night was 27 and he was given 3u Lantus; this morning it was 17 and he got 1.5u. I've asked them to send me the test results from yesterday and I'll pop them in here.
I keep feeling all is well and then I get anxious again. Thanks for all the prayers, good thoughts, vines for Blue...
Will update in a couple of hours.
@Wendy&Neko

Here are Blue's test results.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
His kidney values do look great! You don't even need to worry about phosphorus at this point. The only thing that pops out at first glance is the HCT or hematocrit. It looks like he's a little anemic. I wonder if he has a little bleed somewhere. Could be irritation in GI from being backed up? Worth asking the vet about.
 
It's come to this: Eddie pooped some more!! :smuggrin::cat:
His kidney values do look great! You don't even need to worry about phosphorus at this point. The only thing that pops out at first glance is the HCT or hematocrit. It looks like he's a little anemic. I wonder if he has a little bleed somewhere. Could be irritation in GI from being backed up? Worth asking the vet about.
Yes, that's a good point. I will mention this when I'm next speaking to the vet tonight.
But the kidney values are so good to see...
Now if only we can get that loaf out of him.
 
Just spoke with the vet tech (vet busy). Still no poop but they keep saying with massage things are getting softer and they expect him to have a bowel movement by morning. I said, "What will you do if he doesn't?" and the tech seemed a bit non-plussed that I would ask such a thing. She said, though, that they would use other techniques but was clearly not comfortable being specific. She just said, "we are hopeful that he will have a bowel movement" and I said, believe me, so am I.

She didn't know about the low hematocrit and said she would ask. I asked about an SDMA and she said she didn't know if one was planned and I said perhaps that would be a good idea as that gives a really good picture of kidney status.

He did not have insulin although he ate a little bit. His BG was 10.5. How very strange.

All I want is that this mass begins to dissolve and that they can bring him around. I asked that they phone me in the night if he has a bowel movement.

I wish I had better news on this front.
 
Back
Top