? 08.03.22, Chispa, 369 AMPS , 350 +4, 323 +6, 432 +9, 599/HI PMPS!, 469 +1, 478 +3

Karen and Chispa (GA)

Member Since 2022
Yesterday's thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-6-her-lowest-number-yet.266612/#post-2984531

Hello, esteemed helpers!

I have three questions today:

1. What is the maximum safe deviation in time from the 12-hour cycle?

2. Is it ok to nudge the schedule forward or backward over the course of several days to accommodate an early departure or late return? For example, let's say her normal shot time is 8:30 am/pm, but I'll be meeting up with friends on Friday and might not get home until 10 pm. There are five cycles between now until then. Would it be ok to add 15-20 mins to each cycle to arrive at a shot time of 10 pm? And then go backwards over the same number of cycles to return to the normal time of 8:30 am/pm? (I hope that made sense.)

3. I know we're supposed to vary the location of shots to avoid the formation of granulomas. But what is to keep granulomas from forming on the ears from constant testing on such a small area? I felt two tiny bumps on the edge of Chispa's ear last night and hoped it wasn't happening already.

Thanks so much for any advice! :):cat:
 
Hi. You can shoot 30 minutes early or late without having much if any effect on the bg. Any more can act like a small increase or decrease.

We suggest starting early. What you are suggesting is exactly the way to do it.

Is she scratching her ears? One of mine who is not diabetic gets them and it’s dermatitis.
 
This is all great to know! Many thanks, @tiffmaxee . You are so generous with your knowledge, and I'm just so grateful for your help. In fact I'm grateful for everyone's help, and that this forum exists at all. Otherwise it would be like wandering in the woods alone, followed by a wolf who is eating your popcorn trail ....
 
I've bookmarked this one; thank you.

In other news: I had emailed my vet about changing doses and transitioning to LC food. I sent her a link to Chispa's spreadsheet. She wrote back today that I should increase the dose to 2 units BID and do a glucose curve at 1-2 weeks. She also said I could transition slowly to LC as long as she is stable and eating well (plus continue to monitor her weight and water intake). I went back to review the TR protocol again, and based upon that and your earlier advice, I think I should increase the dose to 1.5 units for three days before proceeding to 2 units. Does that sound right?

Final question for today: do you have a source for U-100 needles with half-units marked on the barrel? I found these on Amazon.com but they won't ship them to my location, and I can't seem to find the same thing anywhere else.

Many thanks again ... _/\_
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2022-08-03 at 3.55.42 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-08-03 at 3.55.42 PM.png
    191 KB · Views: 75
@tiffmaxee I need help ... I just got home and tested Chispa @ 12hrs + 15 minutes since morning dose, and it said 599. I thought that couldn't be right, so I tested again and it said "HI". I last fed her at +6. What is going on??? I gave her 1.5 and will retest in an hour or two, unless this constitutes an emergency ... ? Should I feed her in the meantime or withhold food for an hour? Trying not to freak out, but this is crazy. Also, she has consumed 250 ml of water in the last 12 hours, when her usual has been around 350 ml per 24 hours.

Despite all of this, she is behaving normally.
 
Last edited:
@tiffmaxee I need help ... I just got home and tested Chispa @ 12hrs + 15 minutes since morning dose, and it said 599. I thought that couldn't be right, so I tested again and it said "HI". I last fed her at +6. What is going on??? I gave her 1.5 and will retest in an hour or two, unless this constitutes an emergency ... ? Should I feed her in the meantime or withhold food for an hour? Trying not to freak out, but this is crazy. Also, she has consumed 250 ml of water in the last 12 hours, when her usual has been around 350 ml per 24 hours.

Despite all of this, she is behaving normally.
It’s ok to go ahead and feed her. No need to withhold food except for two hours before shot time.

The Relion meters will read “HI” if over 600. Since that’s basically the same as the 599 you got right before, it’s probably an accurate reading and not too far off from the other black numbers…most of us have been there (unfortunately), so not an emergency as long as she starts coming back down once the insulin kicks in. I know it’s alarming to see those though, so hopefully they will become fewer and fewer as she gets regulated.
 
Thanks so much, @Hshray -- I appreciate your jumping in. She is down to 469 at +1 -- major improvement! -- and I am breathing a sigh of relief, though I know it's still high. Thanks for your reassurance. I'll test again in an hour or two.

Any idea as to what would cause such a spike? She hadn't eaten in 6 hours, so it wasn't food ...
 
Thanks so much, @Hshray -- I appreciate your jumping in. She is down to 469 at +1 -- major improvement! -- and I am breathing a sigh of relief, though I know it's still high. Thanks for your reassurance. I'll test again in an hour or two.

Any idea as to what would cause such a spike? She hadn't eaten in 6 hours, so it wasn't food ...
The 599/600 aren’t too far off from the other blacks, you’ve seen. I think it’s probably just a matter of not having found the breakthrough dose yet. It’s hard in the beginning with the high numbers, but it gets better as they get used to the insulin and get to the correct dose.
 
There’s no reason for her being so high except that she’s acting like an unregulated cat. It’s good you increased. It’s a little harder to get cats regulated when on prednisolone but it will happen. We say that fd is usually a marathon rather than a race. Are you checking for ketones? While she’s in higher numbers it’s a good idea. It’s good she’s already coming down at +1.
 
(@tiffmaxee @Hshray I was so tired last night that I wrote this note and forgot to hit "post reply." Starting a new thread today.)

Thank you both for the reassurance. I fed her at +1 and she’s holding steady at +3 (478).

I’m not testing for ketones yet, but I have a box of strips on order; it should arrive early next week.

One piece of good news: the testing is going much better today. I tried the rice in a sock trick, and I think it works better than the warm water in a pill bottle before that I was using before. It seems like a miracle. I hope it continues.

Again, thank you for your help! :bighug::cat:
 
Back
Top