08-02 Pretty Girl - AMPS 300

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yesterday, Wednesday 08/01

Pretty Girl at 300 AMPS today - seems really great this morning. Her appetite has been very good. Lots of purring and grooming.

How much is a typical drop after morning shot?

Did no one reply to your thread yesterday? Odd....

It's really hard to predict this early in the game what a typical response will be....you may have to wait out the cycles - I'm using TR so I'm not sure how many cycles in the SLGS protocol. Be sure to look at the Stickie on that and watch for that number of cycles - make a note on your spreadsheet so you'll know exactly how many days/cycles she's had at a particular dose - then post a question to the forum about an increase to ask for the experts opinion...use the '?' in your title to catch their eye. I've been doing this for 7 months and I'm still happy to ask others what they think before changing the dose. You don't want to be switching it around too ferquently since Lantus takes time to build up in the depot (the body)...and a variety of things can drain the depot...so then it takes time again to replinish the depot...Lantus isn't the type of medication like Novalin or another fast acting insulin...it's slower but the goal is to create less spikes up or down...

Just be patient...watch the numbers by testing and eventually you'll see the numbers moving as she starts to respond to the insulin.

She is a pretty girl btw! Hope this helps!:bighug::bighug:
 
How much is a typical drop after morning shot?

There's really no such thing as a "typical" drop.

We do have a "+2 rule" (it's not a rule at all.....it's just something we've noticed seems to work for most cats....although some are better predictors at +3)

If the +2 is about the same as the Pre-shot, it's usually a pretty normal cycle....gradually down to nadir and then gradually back up to the next PS

If the +2 is higher than the PS, it usually signals the beginning of a bounce....and usually those are the cycles you can take a pokey break

If the +2 is lower than the PS, that's your "early warning" that she might be going a lot lower later in the cycle, so those are the cycles where you want to try to get more tests in later on (or leave down some higher carb food for later in the cycle to keep her safe)
 
Did no one reply to your thread yesterday? Odd....

It's really hard to predict this early in the game what a typical response will be....you may have to wait out the cycles - I'm using TR so I'm not sure how many cycles in the SLGS protocol. Be sure to look at the Stickie on that and watch for that number of cycles - make a note on your spreadsheet so you'll know exactly how many days/cycles she's had at a particular dose - then post a question to the forum about an increase to ask for the experts opinion...use the '?' in your title to catch their eye. I've been doing this for 7 months and I'm still happy to ask others what they think before changing the dose. You don't want to be switching it around too ferquently since Lantus takes time to build up in the depot (the body)...and a variety of things can drain the depot...so then it takes time again to replinish the depot...Lantus isn't the type of medication like Novalin or another fast acting insulin...it's slower but the goal is to create less spikes up or down...

Just be patient...watch the numbers by testing and eventually you'll see the numbers moving as she starts to respond to the insulin.

She is a pretty girl btw! Hope this helps!:bighug::bighug:
Thank you @Sue and Luci for your reply and the info - it's helpful. And thanks for the compliment on Pretty Girl. :)
 
There's really no such thing as a "typical" drop.

We do have a "+2 rule" (it's not a rule at all.....it's just something we've noticed seems to work for most cats....although some are better predictors at +3)

If the +2 is about the same as the Pre-shot, it's usually a pretty normal cycle....gradually down to nadir and then gradually back up to the next PS

If the +2 is higher than the PS, it usually signals the beginning of a bounce....and usually those are the cycles you can take a pokey break

If the +2 is lower than the PS, that's your "early warning" that she might be going a lot lower later in the cycle, so those are the cycles where you want to try to get more tests in later on (or leave down some higher carb food for later in the cycle to keep her safe)
Thank you again @Chris & China for your help and the info. It's also very helpful.

I will do more +2 tests but it seems like most of my +3 tests are higher than the PS. Mostly pink numbers for the last 2 or 3 days - yellow is better but I'm glad they're not red or black! Have a great day. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top