08/01 UNBELIEVEABLE NUMBERS for Mom-mom

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mom-Mom

Member Since 2014
It started at 4:30 yesterday eith a reading of 175, then at shot time it was a 60. I stalled, got some more great numbers and at +6 she was 207, so I shot a 1.75. At 6am she was 150, at 7am it was 47, at 7:30 it was 37, now at 8;15 ITS 31. obviously no shot hut, I am getting confused with the chart now. can someone help me out. Her usual shot time is 8:00 (now). I know not to shoot regardless because its only at +6 actually right now anyway. How do I post this??
 
I am not an expert but I am concerned that no one else has posted to this yet. 31 is way too low. Have you given high carb food to bring her up?
 
She is eating right now. I will test when she is done. The last few times I panicked at a low number and gave her sweets, she ended up on hi by the end of the cycle
 
31 is WAY too low. Have you given her HC gravy and/or karo? You need to test every 15 minutes until her numbers are over 50. I'll be on for a little bit, but have a 10am meeting.
 
Deep Breath... :cool:

Re-check her BG to verify that 31. . .
Easy does it on the food - keep in mind it will take 20-30 mins. to show up on the meter.
 
Laura:

You should really intervene with high carb food any time the numbers drop below 50. You don't need to feed a bucket of high carb -- a teaspoon or two of HC food or a few drops of syrup should do fine. You then re-test in 20 - 30 min. and feed more if the numbers aren't in a safe zone.

Please review the information in the Shooting & Handling Low Numbers sticky.
 
She ate and is now only 33. I put a little honey on her mouth and now she is eating ice cream, she LOVES that.
 
Laura, I'm looking at Mom-Mom's spreadsheet now. (I hope Sienne and I aren't cross-posting, although I have a feeling we are.)

One way to do your spreadsheet is to put the test results from all in that PMPS column. It would look something like this:
+12 60
+13 71
+14 77
+15 88
+16 89
PS (+18) 207

And then put the 1.75 dose in the U column. That way everyone can see the stall, but it keeps all the insulin units together. Then your 150 is really +4 and so forth. Does that make sense?

37 isn't really her AMPS because you aren't shooting, and you would never want to shoot just 6 hours after you give an insulin shot anyway.

Let's get her BG back up and then one of us can help you adjust the spreadsheet.

~Suzanne
 
Suzanna, I try to put those numbers in but it shows me (error). Shes at a 36 now, and she already ate. She is eating again
 
Make sure you're just giving her the gravy. You don't want her to fill up on the food and then her refuse to eat.

Check your private messages. I'm going to PM you real quick to see about your SS.
 
Laura --

I'm confused. Last evening, you didn't shoot at your usual time due to a low pre-shot. You waited until +6 when Mom-mom was at 207 and shot then?

If that's accurate, your PMPS was 207. You would put a note in the "Comments" column that you stalled and shot late (i.e., at +6 or as Suzanne noted, at +18). Right now, your shot times would be delayed by 6 hours. In other words, your AM shot would be due 12 hours after your PM shot from last night. If I'm understanding your times on the real clock, this means you're shooting at 2:30.

It might have been better for your schedule for you to have skipped shooting when you're 6 hours off schedule. Personally, I would find it difficult to shoot every 12 hours at 2:30. I may have misunderstood the actual hour but the gist of this is that if you stall, your next shot is due 12 hours later.

At this point, you will need to reduce Mom-mom's dose the next time you shoot.
 
Where is Mom-mom's BG right now? We want to be sure she's safely over 50 and stays there. Remember, don't over-feed her with the high carb foods - we want her numbers to come up, but we don't want her getting too full or throwing up.
 
Ok, I think I have Mom-Mom's SS updated correctly now. I lost a few numbers because my computer was acting strange, but the color trends are still there, so it shouldn't affect how one view's Mom-Mom's progress.

Laura, you want to make sure Mom-Mom gets above and stays over 50, so continue to be vigilant and test her. I, personally, would skip the next shot and get back on schedule so you aren't shooting tomorrow morning at 2:30am. She'll probably bounce and her numbers will be much higher. But the next dose you want to give her will be a reduced dose to 1.5u. She's earned it.
 
I agree with Suzanne...skip so you can get on schedule, REDUCE her dose, and continue monitoring throughout the day to be sure Mom-mom STAYS UP over 50!
 
OK she reached 50 FINALLY. So what time (if she needs it) is my dosing time now ? I dont want to get up at 2:30am either but, if I have to I will. Am I doing the 18 hour thing ? As usual, I'm confused again. Sorry to drive you guys crazy. But really, it meant so much to me too stick with us through this. God Bless all of you
 
Before we actually determine your next shot time, let's clarify so we all know for sure: What is the exact date and time of Mom-mom's last shot?
 
I would not shoot her at 2:30pm. I would wait until 8:30pm so you can get back on track. So yes, 18 hours.

Also, test her again in 30 minutes to make sure she is staying over 50 and then periodically to make sure she doesn't dip again. Most likely she won't, but it took a lot to get her up this morning.
 
Amy&TrixieCat said:
Before we actually determine your next shot time, let's clarify so we all know for sure: What is the exact date and time of Mom-mom's last shot?
Sorry we're posting at the same time, Amy. I am under the impression that Mom-Mom last received insulin at 2:30am EST this morning. At least that's how I formatted the SS, based on what Laura told me.
 
Laura-

Please test Mom-Moms BG again in 30 mins.
Her BG could dip down again so you need to be vigilant.

Regarding shot time, what is your preferred schedule?
 
Suzanne & Cobb said:
Amy&TrixieCat said:
Before we actually determine your next shot time, let's clarify so we all know for sure: What is the exact date and time of Mom-mom's last shot?
Sorry we're posting at the same time, Amy. I am under the impression that Mom-Mom last received insulin at 2:30am EST this morning. At least that's how I formatted the SS, based on what Laura told me.

I'm pretty sure it's 2:30, too...I just wanted to quadruple check so everyone was positive about the same thing...

With that said, if we're all understanding correctly, I again agree with Suzanne - plan on a shot time of 8:30pm this evening, depending on what Mom-mom's numbers are at that point. You would NOT be shooting at 2:30pm today.
 
OK so I tested earlier and she was 60. Now its 3:00 and she is 304. I fell asleep. I didnt get much sleep last night with her and as soon as I saw a 60 I fell asleep.

So I posted the 304 at 3:00. I should shoot at 8:30 ? Her last shot was at 2:30 am and it was 1.75. So I should do 1.50 at 8:30 ??
 
If you want to get back on your normal schedule, wait until 8:30pm. Otherwise, her next shot will be due at 3am. Personally, I would wait. But that's just me.

Her next shot, you want to shoot a reduced dose of 1.5u. She earned her reduction. :smile:

Let me know if you need help with your SS again.

~Suzanne
 
Suzanne's given you good advice.

I'd just add, if for some reason, you would like to move her shot time earlier, this would be the time to do it. Some people like to shoot at 7am/7pm so they can get more evening cycle tests in before they go to bed. It's up to you. But if you want to move earlier than 8:30 for your regular shot time, do it tonight.
 
Her usual test time is 8:00, that time works well for me. So I should wait and TEST then shoot 1.5 at 8:00, right?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top