08/01 Mowgli AMPS 286 PMPS 193 +3 176

AmandaE

Member Since 2019
07/31 Condo

Good Morning and welcome to August!!! it's my Thursday-Friday!!

I'm off work tomorrow to fly home to Nova Scotia until we return on the 17th! I am so looking forward to the trip and really hoping Mowgli does well on the flights, I have a feeling he will :) I packed his cat carry-on last night with the exception of the insulin, calipers and BG monitor which I will pack tomorrow morning after his morning shot. Take a look at the pic I posted in yesterdays condo and let me know if I am missing something ;).

Because I will still be giving Mowgli his insulin I will try and stay in contact with the board, but my Mom lives in a corner of Canada that somehow doesn't get cell reception, wi-fi service, or cable :eek: So I will only be able to post if I stand just right in a certain corner of the house or the right patch of grass outside :P

I have decided to do 0.5u for his dose tomorrow which is just over half of his current 0.88u dose, I think I might skip his PM dose tomorrow so I can put him back on a 6/6 schedule (or maybe 630/630) Atlantic Daylight Time, Do you think this strategy is acceptable?

Hope everyone has a great day :D
 
What an amazing packing job. Very impressed. A girl of my own heart!!! Make sure all his paperwork is handy, at least you don't have to go through customs.
Safe travels.
Just a thought if you are in bad reception land maybe have a phone number of a member you can rely on and call in case you have troubles getting on the board and need help with Mowgli
Worst is the person can post for you and help along the way (lets hope none needed)
Years ago I was on a Christmas cruise and needed to leave Max behind. I had a friend call my house for Max's numbers and she would update my SS and get dosing advice and post on the board for me then relay dosing changes back to my house. It was in the very early days of his d/x and was a lifesaver for us.
 
What an amazing packing job. Very impressed. A girl of my own heart!!! Make sure all his paperwork is handy, at least you don't have to go through customs.
Safe travels.
Just a thought if you are in bad reception land maybe have a phone number of a member you can rely on and call in case you have troubles getting on the board and need help with Mowgli
Worst is the person can post for you and help along the way (lets hope none needed)
Years ago I was on a Christmas cruise and needed to leave Max behind. I had a friend call my house for Max's numbers and she would update my SS and get dosing advice and post on the board for me then relay dosing changes back to my house. It was in the very early days of his d/x and was a lifesaver for us.
Awesome idea! I have two sisters that live in town so that should definitely work :D
 
Enjoy your wonderful vacation! It sounds like you've done a lot of planning and preparations! I'm sure everything will be just perfect! I like the idea of skipping the dose just before traveling - or at the very least a reduced dose - it's difficult to test - and it seems that whenever Luci travels her numbers are so high! I test her at the beginning and end of the day - or if we get into a hotel early enough one test prior to the PM test. It just keeps the stress levels down to a mild roar.

If you aren't able to post-just put your numbers into a book or paper copy until you can post. And getting someone's contact info is helpful so they can post to the board on your behalf, if necessary.

Enjoy your vacation! Well deserved!!:bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Amanda, just wanted to wish you and Ross and Mowgli a fabulous vacation! Sounds like you’ve got everything well planned out so I’m wishing you non eventful travel days and quality time with Mowgs and your family! I’m sure Nyx will be a happy kitty, two weeks without Mowgs! Lol
 
I hope you have a great trip and Mowgli is a calm traveler. I'd see what his numbers are today and then decide on the dose tomorrow. If you skip the PM dose it will just be like a fur shot. Sending safe travel prayers.
Good call on waiting until tomorrow, so far he has been fairly yellow on the 0.88u but it is still early days :)

Thanks for the safe travel prayers :) :joyful:
 
Hi Amanda, just wanted to wish you and Ross and Mowgli a fabulous vacation! Sounds like you’ve got everything well planned out so I’m wishing you non eventful travel days and quality time with Mowgs and your family! I’m sure Nyx will be a happy kitty, two weeks without Mowgs! Lol
Thanks so much Sonia! I'm sure I will have forgotten something by the time it's all said and done but for now, I feel relatively well prepared :)

LOL re: Nyx! it's so true!!! she NEEDS a break from Mowg LOL
 
let me know if I am missing something
Do you have a log book for writing down BG numbers? What are you carrying the insulin in? Small flashlight? When I went east, I started moving shot time several days before hand. Instead of skipping tomorrow night, you could just skip in the AM and not have to worry about testing during the hectic day.

Here’s hoping for quiet airports and no line ups, and that Mowgli surprises you on how good a traveller he is. Above all, have a fabulous holiday! I bet your family will be thrilled to see how good Mowgli looks now.
 
Do you have a log book for writing down BG numbers? What are you carrying the insulin in? Small flashlight? When I went east, I started moving shot time several days before hand. Instead of skipping tomorrow night, you could just skip in the AM and not have to worry about testing during the hectic day.

Here’s hoping for quiet airports and no line ups, and that Mowgli surprises you on how good a traveller he is. Above all, have a fabulous holiday! I bet your family will be thrilled to see how good Mowgli looks now.
  • Have an agenda to write BGs plus I will make my google sheet available offline as well :)
  • I will carry the insulin in a glucology insulin cooling wallet (frio knock off ... couldnt get the frio to ship to me in time)
  • I have my phone flashlight?
  • I think I would prefer to skip tomorrow night because otherwise Mowgli will have to miss two shots due to airtime. Testing shouldn't be too bad, I will use family bathrooms, our first flight is just 1 hour then a 3 hour layover.
Thanks for the hopes that Mowg is an amazing traveller! after work i plan to stop by our local pet shop to see if they have rescue remedy drops :)
 
Finally VACATIONS !!! :D Enjoy each second of it; I hope you have lots of fun and a great time with your family!:joyful::joyful:
Wishing you a safe trip ! I know I told you already.... but don't forget Mowgli in the plane !!! :eek:
I see your GREEN vibes for Ti-Mousse starting to get closer .....:p Have fun !!!
 
It'll be fun to hear about your adventures with Mowgli when you get back!
Have a Great visit with your family! Take some photos to share with us!
upload_2019-8-1_17-46-40.jpeg
 
Amanda, you've done such a great job preparing that I'm sure everything will be fine and dandy! I'll be sending travel vines anyway but I'm sure you won't need them! (Mowgs you better be a good boy for your mom!)

Hope to see you popping in now and then, you will definitely be missed as a regular :bighug:
 
Finally VACATIONS !!! :D Enjoy each second of it; I hope you have lots of fun and a great time with your family!:joyful::joyful:
Wishing you a safe trip ! I know I told you already.... but don't forget Mowgli in the plane !!! :eek:
I see your GREEN vibes for Ti-Mousse starting to get closer .....:p Have fun !!!
Yes!! I’ve been sending the green vibes!! You’ll really notice them by tomorrow night!! :D:D
 
Amanda, you've done such a great job preparing that I'm sure everything will be fine and dandy! I'll be sending travel vines anyway but I'm sure you won't need them! (Mowgs you better be a good boy for your mom!)

Hope to see you popping in now and then, you will definitely be missed as a regular :bighug:
Thanks Armish!! Listen to auntie Armish Mowg! Be good all day tomorrow :)
 
Back
Top