08/01 J.D. PMPS 188 Cobalamin Question - Test Results back

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
July 30th Condo

July 31st:
435 AMPS
473 +1
268 PMPS
334 +3

Yesterday was really weird for me with the board being down all day. I didn't know what to do with myself. I'm glad it's back up.

J.D. ate fine yesterday, and I caught him hungrily eating from the leftover food this morning about 20 minutes before his shot was due. I tested him soon after and he was 252. Ten minutes later he was 291.

He is out on the deck on this nice cool morning.
 
Re: 08/01 J.D. AMPS 291

Morning Dyana,

So glad the board is back up!

Nice that J.D. is enjoying some beautiful weather - Hope you both have a wonderful day :-D

Jane
 
Re: 08/01 J.D. AMPS 291

:RAHCAT YAAY for a good appy

Glad the board is back up too...Poe might take me for another ride tonight ohmygod_smile

Have a good day, Dyana :-D
 
Re: 08/01 J.D. AMPS 291

Hi, Dyana, I'm so glad J.D.'s appy is good! And how nice he's enjoying the cool weather on the deck. Sounds like a nice place to be :-D .
Enjoy your day!
 
Re: 08/01 J.D. PMPS 188 COBALAMIN QUESTION - Test Results ba

Phosphorus:
PHOSPHORUS 3.5 (Ref Range 3.0 - 7.0 mg/dL)

Electrolyte Panel:
TCO2 (BICARBONATE) 14 (Ref Range 13 - 25 mEq/L)
CHLORIDE 122 (Ref Range 111 - 125 mEq/L)
POTASSIUM 4.4 (Ref Range 3.9 - 5.3 mEq/L)
SODIUM 153 (Ref Range 147 - 156 mEq/L)
NA/K RATIO 35
ANION GAP 21 (Ref Range 13 - 27 mEq/L)

Folate & Vitamin B12 (Cobalamin):
COBALAMIN (B-12) >2000 (Ref Range 275-1425 ng/L) High
RESULT VERIFIED BY REPEAT ANALYSIS
FOLATE 19.4 (Ref Range 8.9 - 19.9 ug/L)

Has anyone heard of too much Cobalamin?
J.D. gets a weekly Cyanocobalamin injection of 33 units every Saturday (and he was fasted for this test and did not get his weekly injection until way later in the afternoon after this blood test was taken (so one week previously) and he gets 1 Zobaline for Methylcobalamin once a day at night time, and I did not give him his Zobaline the night before the test was taken.

The vet says to either slow down on the injections of Cyanocobalamin or daily the Zobaline (Methycobalamin) and test again in 4 weeks. He gets (or I thought he was getting) the cyanocobalamin for cronic pancreatitis and the methylcobalamin for neoropathy (hind end and possibly some neck weakness at times). I think I am going to discontinue the injections. Any thoughts on this or any of the other test results. I guess this is why they took almost a week to come back because of the "RESULT VERIFIED BY REPEAT ANALYSIS".
 
Re: 08/01 J.D. PMPS 188 Cobalamin Question - Test Results ba

Glad to hear JD has a good appy today. Hope you have great night Dyana
 
Re: 08/01 J.D. PMPS 188 Cobalamin Question - Test Results ba

why is he getting the injections? and maybe you can slow/stop them or give him something else? If the methyl is helping the neuropathy I wouldn't want to stop that one. just my thoughts on the subject -

oh and please check your pm - I sent you a note on another subject.
 
Re: 08/01 J.D. PMPS 188 Cobalamin Question - Test Results ba

Cyanocobalamin breaks down into methylcobalamin and hydroxocobalamin. Interestingly, the cyano is not a naturally occurring form of B-12 whereas methyl is. I don't know if there's a distinct advantage of one over the other, though.

Hillary -- the injections are used because you can't get a sufficient oral dose when treating pancreatitis.
 
Re: 08/01 J.D. PMPS 188 Cobalamin Question - Test Results ba

thanks sienne for letting me know what it's being used for.

pancreatitis is bad, so Dyana - forget what I said before. wouldn't want to stop the injections if it's keeping p-ttits at bay.
 
Re: 08/01 J.D. PMPS 188 Cobalamin Question - Test Results ba

It sounds like plans are in the works for me to be taking not 2 but 3 screaming cats to Pittsburgh, for the Pittsburgh Reunion in two weeks. I will be delivering Bear from his foster mom here in New Jersey to his new mom at the Reunion (not Dian). :smile:
 
Re: 08/01 J.D. PMPS 188 Cobalamin Question - Test Results ba

hmmmm. I'm really curious to see what you find out.

Back when Shadow did her bw in May.... she had 19.1 folate and 1814 on b-12 cobalamin. she only was getting the methyl.... no shots...

I asked then what it meant....
if someone explains it to you... please share the info.....
 
Re: 08/01 J.D. PMPS 188 Cobalamin Question - Test Results ba

I always read here and elsewhere that you can't take too much vitamin B because excess is excreted from the body. I found out from my own recent blood tests that this is apparently not correct. My B12 level was incredibly high from taking a vitamin B supplement. The doctor told me to stop taking it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top