08/01 Gobnait still dropping... AMPS 103 +5 85 on AlphaTrak

Status
Not open for further replies.

MJ and Gobnait

Member Since 2011
I've been shopping for test strips and in researching have come across evidence and now also this board who have said that AlphaTrak tends to track high and that it is probably time for a .25 drop.

what is on the safer side if I HAVE to be in the office Tuesday through Friday?

I have just ordered a timed feeder online along with new needles and test strips.

Gobnait is doing well, seems happy and her coat is MUCH better but her neuropathy hasn't improved yet. It has its moments but largely she's still wobbly, she's not on toe, not even in front and today I saw her trying to play with a curtain string that was much farther away than she thought.

she's 10 a bit fat, now off carbs (though my catsitter was giving her dry food this weekend argh) and has been on 2.5 units 2x daily Lantus for almost exactly a month. Actually on 3.5 and then 3 her first week.

OH! and how much does Desmond love her too. Look at the expression on his face! they've been like this for ten years. He does not have diabetes but has been giving her EXTRA attention lately https://picasaweb.google.com/1132596768 ... 7048478930


Thanks!
 
Re: 08/01 Gobnait still dropping... AMPS 103 +5 85 on AlphaT

MJ and Gobnait said:
what is on the safer side if I HAVE to be in the office Tuesday through Friday?
hello MJ. if the numbers on gobnait's spreadsheet reflect readings on the alphatrak meter, you've already missed several reductions that we know of. my suggestion is to drop the dose immediately to 2.25u bid and get as many spot checks as possible... especially nadir checks. the reduction to 2.25u may not be enough, but the only way to know is to test, test, test. :mrgreen:

since lantus/lev dosing is based on nadirs and not on preshot numbers, we highly recommend getting at least a before bed spot check every single night.
 
Re: 08/01 Gobnait still dropping... AMPS 103 +5 85 on AlphaT

hi mj, looks like you've gotten some great advice - you don't know til you ask, so it's a great thing that you've asked. all the diabetes stuff can be a little overwhelming to understand. i know i've "gotten" the protocol details as they've applied to punkin and felt pretty dense on it at times.

so, maybe you already know this, but if gobnait goes below 80 AT (50 human) you need to apply the directions for handling a hypoglycemic cat. you give about a tsp of gravy from a can of high carb cat good, wait 20 minutes and test again. you repeat that until your cat is out of danger - ie, clearly past the nadir of the cycle and with 2 rising numbers at least above 90/100 AT. here's the link for your directions. if you pull the numbers up using gravy or food early on in the cycle, you can't assume you've passed the nadir and you have to keep rechecking your kitter until she is safe.

Don't panic or How to Handle Low Numbers

i think what you'll find really most helpful is that if you open up a daily condo people with more experience will keep an eye on what you're doing and help you through so you get a good grasp of handling Gobnait's diabetes safely. Ask a zillion questions! of course the one you've asked about Tuesday-Friday no mid-day checks is hard to answer. if i were you, i'd stay up tonight as late as possible, test at +4, +6 and +8 so you know how low she's going. from every indication of her preshot numbers and the tests you've done in the past, she may be going hypoglycemic every or nearly every cycle. if so, you've been lucky and it's good you're catching it now.

post numbers and ask for help - we've all been learning and we'll help you. make sure you print out the post on how to handle low numbers just in case you're in need and no one's on to help.

oh btw, the link says your photo albums are private.
 
Re: 08/01 Gobnait still dropping... AMPS 103 +5 85 on AlphaT

It will be a good reminder for the advisors to mention the Alpha Track meter in you signature. that way these low number won't be missed again.
 
Re: 08/01 Gobnait still dropping... AMPS 103 +5 85 on AlphaT

ugh such a bummer. i feel so badly for my kitty. i did ask if the numbers were low enough but didn't know to ask about the kind of meter. glad i did now. i'll put it in my signature and i'll get a new one tomorrow if my alpha trax strips haven't arrived so that i can spot her throughout the night.

while i was gone over the weekend the cat sitter had her back to 9 so i've got to go for 8 tonight so i can move toward 7:30 tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top