07/31 Mowgli AMPS 329 PMPS 268

AmandaE

Member Since 2019
07/30 Condo

Morning!! Hard to believe it’s the last day of July!!

Mowg earned a reduction last night, I gave him a half reduction this morning to 0.88u and the calipers made a huge difference I must say

I think for Friday I am going to give Mowgli some insulin, I should be able to grab a +2 before we actually take off and I will be able to get a +5.5 or + 6 before we get on our second flight. I was thinking of giving him 0.5u just to be safe. Then he can take advantage of the built depot but still have some extra support. What do you guys think?

In the mean time... back to the ol’ grind for a couple days :smuggrin:
 
0.5 units is probably okay. If you want to drain the depot a little you can reduce the night before. Congrats on the reducie.
Thanks Carla! I wasn't planning to reduce the night before but I think you could be right now that I think a little harder about it... draining the depot will give a little more assurance that I wont have to intervene with Mowg during the giant day of travel ;)
 
I'm collecting info for my son who is planning on flying back with a Kitty. What kind of carrier do you have that can fit under the seat? Any other good tips?
images
 
I'm collecting info for my son who is planning on flying back with a Kitty. What kind of carrier do you have that can fit under the seat? Any other good tips?
images
Happy Wednesday Joy!

I use the Sherpa Medium size carrier - it is guaranteed on most airlines and planes, they provide a link to ensure that the carrier is accepted on your chosen airline and if you're turned away they will reimburse you for your flight! Mowgli has flown once before in it with success. I like this one because it has a front access and top access so I should be able to provide Mowgli some treats and reassuring skritches during the flight :)

Since your son's cat is a barn cat that gets stressed during travel he may want to consider a calming agent such as rescue remedy or feliway before he leaves as well as making sure his kitty is comfortable with the carrier, We leave Mowgli's out with all of the doors open so he can explore it and get used to it before we travel with him in it, if your son's cat really doesn't like it maybe try putting treats in there. Something that smells like home to him like a shirt or blanket might be helpful

Jill provided a few links to some advice Dyana has given over the years in my post Monday which I have found VERY helpful

I think the key points are: Name tag, Micro Chip if kitty is an escape risk (especially if they might escape their harness), Soft sided carrier, snug harness and leash, puppy pads for lining the carrier and easy cleanup, ask for a private room when going through security screening to minimize chance of escape, Health voucher from vet to prove kitty is healthy enough to fly and permission for any additional pet meds.

It's important that your son knows the airlines expectations when it comes to pets for example in Canada we need to:
  • Call the airline to book a ticket in order to ensure there is space on board for a pet - our small and medium planes allow two pets in cabin per flight and large allow 4. If you book without calling you risk the flight not having space in the cabin for your pet
  • Arrive two hours early to check in and go through security - they need to remove the cat from the carrier in order to inspect the carrier ...this is where asking for a private screening room is really important, so your son and his cat can wait in a room while they inspect the carrier for security threats
  • Be at the gate 40 mins before departure
  • Feed kitty 4 hours before departure (I'm sure this is a little overkill)
  • not take the cat out of his carrier while on the plane.
Most airline websites have a really great breakdown of their in cabin pet policy. It sounds like keeping your son's cat calm will be the biggest issue. When my sister flew out with Mowgli she spent quite a bit of time in the family bathrooms to clean Mowgli (he had polyuria at the time so peed every flight into his puppy pads) and to let him out just to roam around a bit. She also let him out on his leash in the seating areas which I believe is allowed.

When you travel with a pet in cabin it is considered your "carry on" item, on a plane you can only have 1 carry on and 1 personal item, I am packing a backpack with Mowgli's essentials as my "personal" item. In it I plan to keep:
  • Extra puppy pads
  • Food dishes
  • Food / treats
  • Various sized freezer bags for any soiled puppy pads during the flight or open cans of food
  • Any medication needed (for Mowg: BG monitor, insulin, hypo kit, )
  • the leash for his harness
  • Pet wipes in case Mowgli "goes"
  • His comfort thing (for Mowg: blue kong cloud mat)
Your son should know that with a pet in cabin he qualifies for priority boarding, so he should take advantage of that so that he doesnt have to board his poor cat with the stress of everyone else boarding at the same time

I will be back on August 17th and will have 2 ~10 hour days of air travel experience under my belt so I will update you with any new learnings when I get back :)
 
WOW! Thank you Amanda. This is all very helpful. I'm going to copy & paste it all in an Email to him.
I looked on Amazon & the Sherpa carrier I saw did not have the fold down covers for the sides Does yours have that? I read it was a good idea if the cat is really frightened. Can you look on Amazon & show me which carrier you recommend?
 
WOW! Thank you Amanda. This is all very helpful. I'm going to copy & paste it all in an Email to him.
I looked on Amazon & the Sherpa carrier I saw did not have the fold down covers for the sides Does yours have that? I read it was a good idea if the cat is really frightened. Can you look on Amazon & show me which carrier you recommend?
The link I included in the above post is the exact same one that I have. it doesn't have fold down shades, I think that fold down shades might restrict airflow a little too much on the plane too... I've read that some people bring a small / light blanket or towel to cover the carrier though :)
 
I found the "Original" Sherpa carrier but the medium size looks kinda large for a cat? I don't see 2 openings either. Just the top one?

Something else I found
Under the FAA regulation, there are certain seats that you’re restricted from sitting if you’re flying with your pet in cabin. Restricted seats include:
  • Seats in exit row
  • Seats with no under-seat stow-away in front of them
  • First row
  • Seats with bulkhead in front of them (bulkhead is the partition or wall separating seating classes)
 
I found the "Original" Sherpa carrier but the medium size looks kinda large for a cat? I don't see 2 openings either. Just the top one?

Something else I found
Under the FAA regulation, there are certain seats that you’re restricted from sitting if you’re flying with your pet in cabin. Restricted seats include:
  • Seats in exit row
  • Seats with no under-seat stow-away in front of them
  • First row
  • Seats with bulkhead in front of them (bulkhead is the partition or wall separating seating classes)
The small Sherpa only holds 8 lbs so Mowgli was too big for it. There are two openings: one on the top and the front actually zippers right open.

When you bring your pet on the airline I’m flying with they assign your seat for you, you don’t get to choose, this is probably in case someone has allergies. The extra bit of info you found makes sense to me! Thanks for sharing :D
 
Wow, you're going to be away for a couple of weeks, how nice:), you will really have time to spend with the families and catch up.

Congratulations on the reduction!

Safe travels and I hope you have a great time!!
 
This is the carrier I'm looking at. It has ventilation & the shades to drop down also What do you think?https://www.amazon.com/Sherpa-Trave...dium/dp/B000633ZOY/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

His kitty is soo scared of even going in the car. He took her to be neutered & she went nuts screaming & pooped all over the carrier!

I thought the shades might calm her down a bit?
That looks good to me! I think you're right shades would calm her down, other than that it is basically the same as mine.

If his kitty is that scared of travel he might need to put her on a mild sedative, if she is too wild when going through security they may not let her on board. The airline i'm flying with specifically has a clause that says that. What a sin for his poor kitty, being that scared of the car... cars are scary places for kitties... planes are a little more normal for them since it feels like you arent moving much :)

ETA: That carrier is on for a sweet deal too!!
 
Wow, you're going to be away for a couple of weeks, how nice:), you will really have time to spend with the families and catch up.

Congratulations on the reduction!

Safe travels and I hope you have a great time!!
Thanks Debra! I am really REALLY looking forward to it!
 
This is the carrier I'm looking at. It has ventilation & the shades to drop down also What do you think?https://www.amazon.com/Sherpa-Trave...dium/dp/B000633ZOY/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

His kitty is soo scared of even going in the car. He took her to be neutered & she went nuts screaming & pooped all over the carrier!

I thought the shades might calm her down a bit?
The shades do make a difference. They don't get overwhelmed by all the action around them.
 
That looks good to me! I think you're right shades would calm her down, other than that it is basically the same as mine.

If his kitty is that scared of travel he might need to put her on a mild sedative, if she is too wild when going through security they may not let her on board. The airline i'm flying with specifically has a clause that says that. What a sin for his poor kitty, being that scared of the car... cars are scary places for kitties... planes are a little more normal for them since it feels like you arent moving much :)

ETA: That carrier is on for a sweet deal too!!

SO true Amanda about the car vs plane. The cats I traveled with were all awesome for the airport & flights, but none of them were quiet &/or calm going to the vet. They were always calm on the way back though :).
 
Now I'm looking for a soft vest for kitty to wear. I don't like the ones with all the buckles. Looks too bulky for a small cat. Any ideas?
 
Now I'm looking for a soft vest for kitty to wear. I don't like the ones with all the buckles. Looks too bulky for a small cat. Any ideas?
I'm just using a typical harness... soft vest sounds nice though! I also dont really like the ones that buckle i think theyre a little easier to get out of as well. No ideas here :facepalm:
 
do any of your friends either knit or crochet? you could have a custom-fit one ...

also check at thrift stores for baby clothes .. a child's vest (or sturdy-material shirt) put on backwards, with the opening towards the back, could work

I found the figure-8 type harnesses worked better if you are letting the cat walk around -- there are also fairly nice fabric vest type harnesses made for small dogs, that could be easily modified for a cat -- you want one which is snug around the body just behind the front legs, that they cannot get their "elbows" back through

the better fastening I found is the sort with a strap which threads through a metal loop ( I used an old split-ring type key ring) and then is velcro-ed back to itself, takes a little sewing -- sometimes you can find straps like that intended to attach purses or tote bags to rolling type luggage

a collar simply around the neck has never worked for me, [a cat is not a dog, for goodness' sake]-- yes, you need a full body harness which straps across the chest and down the body preferably clear to below the rib cage -- a panicked cat can get out of most anything else
 
I used the Kitty Holster as a harness. It uses Velcro closures, acts a bit like a thunder shirt. Easy to get on and off as well. I highly recommend it. I just carried Neko in my arms going through the X-ray, with leash held tightly. Wear slip on shoes so you don’t have to fuss with laces at this point.

I also had the Sherpa medium size. Apparently cats have to be under lbs to go carry on, thankfully Neko just made it. This was our flight to CSU, so Vancouver to Denver, rental car to Fort Collins, and back one week later. A long day, but thankfully with the Lev late nadir I was on the ground and in the car before I needed to test. I did not reduce the dose. Neko had been getting just blues and her acro tumour was pulsing her dose up,:( so she was safe.

One thing to caution you of, pack anything in that back pack you might need up to the next morning. That red and white Canadian airline and it’s gray/blue American affiliate have a 50% record of diverting my luggage when I check it in. Sure enough, my check in baggage took another flight to Denver and I didn’t get it until 2:00 AM the next morning.:mad: They did drive it to Fort Collins, thankfully. Another caution, I had some litter in a bag in the back pack, with a folded down catfood box and plastic bag, that I could use as a make shift litter box. Neko held it to the hotel and used it as soon as we checked in. But I got pulled over in secondary screening for the litter. Syringes, controlled substance (buprenorphine) all OK, but not the litter. :rolleyes: Keep the litter in it’s original bag if you pack some on carry on. Maybe it’s just me. I got pulled over for screening for the salt I brought back from the Salt Flats in Bolivia.:p

For those not going home, map your closest open pet store on the other end to buy a new litter box and litter. I arrived late, but got to Petsmart just before it closed for the night.

Neko did not drink or eat on the trip, even though I offered it. She did fondle her catnip pickle though. And I used a Feliway wipes in the carrier and Rescue Remedy before the trip.

I asked for and got a window seat, so no one going in and out over top during the flight.

Some airports have pet relief areas, saw a cool one in Phoenix.
 
I used the Kitty Holster as a harness. It uses Velcro closures, acts a bit like a thunder shirt. Easy to get on and off as well. I highly recommend it. I just carried Neko in my arms going through the X-ray, with leash held tightly. Wear slip on shoes so you don’t have to fuss with laces at this point.

Slip on shoes are a good tip! thanks!
Hopefully the harness I have will be good enough ... Im sure it will be fine.

One thing to caution you of, pack anything in that back pack you might need up to the next morning.
yes, I am bringing ALL diabetic supplies in my bag, I too have been burned by the ever so common lost bag.

Another caution, I had some litter in a bag in the back pack, with a folded down catfood box and plastic bag, that I could use as a make shift litter box. Neko held it to the hotel and used it as soon as we checked in. But I got pulled over in secondary screening for the litter. Syringes, controlled substance (buprenorphine) all OK, but not the litter. :rolleyes: Keep the litter in it’s original bag if you pack some on carry on. Maybe it’s just me. I got pulled over for screening for the salt I brought back from the Salt Flats in Bolivia.:p

My mom is picking us up at the airport and will bring a litterbox with her so that is one less thing to worry about.

I shouldnt laugh but LOL at you getting screened so often... for some reason i picture you as someone who is innocent looking (don't know why;)) I wouldnt expect a high amount of screening for you... but it does seem like you're bringing a lot of granular substances through security check points ;) :P


Neko did not drink or eat on the trip, even though I offered it. She did fondle her catnip pickle though. And I used a Feliway wipes in the carrier and Rescue Remedy before the trip.

I asked for and got a window seat, so no one going in and out over top during the flight.

Some airports have pet relief areas, saw a cool one in Phoenix.

Thank you, I hope we can get a window seat too... I don't have rescue remedy or feliway wipes but i started Mowgli on Zylkene a few days ago so hopefully that will help him keep his cool!
 
Glad Mowgs didn't have a crazy bounce after those lower numbers last night! :cool:

I've only traveled with Roo once and that was a short drive in a car but I'm sending you all the travel vines! Are you going to be on the board while you're away?
 
I looked at disposable litter boxes, but they were too big for my carry on. Fortunately I had a direct flight so didn't have too long for Neko to wait, but also travelled back the weekend before US Thanksgiving and things could have gone horribly wrong. DH had an LB in his car when he picked me up at this end, and Neko used it right away. LOL on the granular substances.:p What amused me on the last trip is that they missed the smoked salt I picked up at a Peruvian salt mine and I can smell that one 10 feet away. Clearly a lady carrying a diabetic cat was a security threat on the way to and from Denver.

Wasn’t sure all my tips would be needed for you, but maybe others.

Rescue Remedy can be purchased at many pet stores.
 
Wow! Traveling with an FD kitty takes more planning and gear than traveling with a baby. As I’ve never flown with a pet, I only have one suggestion. Sheba perfect portions are about 1 oz of food in a plastic tray with a peel off top. They can eat right out of the container. I don’t know if Sheba is available in Canada, but maybe there’s something similar. Might be easier than traveling with opened cans of cat food. I hope your trip goes very smooth and you have a great time!
 
Glad Mowgs didn't have a crazy bounce after those lower numbers last night! :cool:

I've only traveled with Roo once and that was a short drive in a car but I'm sending you all the travel vines! Are you going to be on the board while you're away?
Yes I am also glad he didnt bounce like crazy! He really seems to clear them quickly so sometimes im not even sure if it even IS a bounce!

I will be checking in from time to time while im away but surprisingly enough, my mom lives in a corner of canada that has no access to wireless internet or reception for cell... so it will be hard for me! Sometimes if I stand in one spot in the middle of the yard.... .... ....
 
y. Clearly a lady carrying a diabetic cat was a security threat on the way to and from Denver.

Rescue Remedy can be purchased at many pet stores.


LOL clearly a threat, the diabetic pet is the tip off ;)

GTK maybe I will pop out and grab some! it's a spray? drops?
 
Wow! Traveling with an FD kitty takes more planning and gear than traveling with a baby. As I’ve never flown with a pet, I only have one suggestion. Sheba perfect portions are about 1 oz of food in a plastic tray with a peel off top. They can eat right out of the container. I don’t know if Sheba is available in Canada, but maybe there’s something similar. Might be easier than traveling with opened cans of cat food. I hope your trip goes very smooth and you have a great time!
Let's see how it goes! it should be interesting at the very least! we have some whiskas that sounds similar.... Ive only ever seen sheba on ads on the TV :O our window into American life :P
 
Rescue Remedy for pets is drops. You can put it in water if they drink. Easiest for me was a couple drops on a freeze dried treat. Some do a couple drops on the forehead,
 
Rescue Remedy for pets is drops. You can put it in water if they drink. Easiest for me was a couple drops on a freeze dried treat. Some do a couple drops on the forehead,
ah ok.. its kind of a calming synthetic pheromone like feliway? a lot of people around here swear by it!
 
pee pads tend to get crinkled up sometimes, what I found was the pressed cardboard liners that cushion the fruit in the bottom of fruit boxes == turns out they are exactly the same size as the hard sided carrier I have -- but they could be cut down to whatever size you need, stiff enough that they can't be clawed, then the pee pad can fit on top, no problem if it gets scrunched up -- they will absorb anything that gets through the pee pad and obviously easy to dispose of in garbage or whatever -- and groceries or restaurants just throw them away
 
pee pads tend to get crinkled up sometimes, what I found was the pressed cardboard liners that cushion the fruit in the bottom of fruit boxes == turns out they are exactly the same size as the hard sided carrier I have -- but they could be cut down to whatever size you need, stiff enough that they can't be clawed, then the pee pad can fit on top, no problem if it gets scrunched up -- they will absorb anything that gets through the pee pad and obviously easy to dispose of in garbage or whatever -- and groceries or restaurants just throw them away
Oh good tip!! I might not have time to grab something like that this time but I will keep it in mind for the future!!
 
I will be checking in from time to time while im away but surprisingly enough, my mom lives in a corner of canada that has no access to wireless internet or reception for cell... so it will be hard for me! Sometimes if I stand in one spot in the middle of the yard.... .... ....
Omg nooooooo we're gonna miss you so much!

When you’re flying and you don’t have kids but you do have a diabetic cat:

View attachment 46850
LOVE this :joyful::joyful::joyful:
 
Back
Top