? 07/31 Mouse PMPS 359, +4 257, +6 167 HELP!!! Syringe Feeding!!!

Phoenix R.

Member Since 2023
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/07-30-mouse-pmps-362-2-331.280041/#post-3091783

I'm suppose to raise Mouse's dose to .75u this morning because she hasn't hit green in awhile and so @Bandit's Mom and agreed that I should raise her dose up again to .75u. Her AMPS is 168 and I know that dose is not decided by PS number but on nadir but no lie I'm pretty nervous about shooting a higher dose on such a low AMPS. I guess I just need to know that that's still what I should do...

Edit: I decided to go ahead and give the .75u dose but it appears that somehow some leaked out so I'm going to have to call it a partial fur shot... Guess it's time to shave down the shot site again, I'm not sure why this keeps happening.
Probably better it was a pfs though because she doesn't seem to want to eat much this morning...
 
Last edited:
Sorry I didn't see the tag earlier. It was okay to hold the dose with that blue AMPS. She might be clearing a bounce and give you an active cycle - maybe even some green!
Hope you had a good night's sleep and are ready for some action!
 
Sorry I didn't see the tag earlier. It was okay to hold the dose with that blue AMPS. She might be clearing a bounce and give you an active cycle - maybe even some green!
Hope you had a good night's sleep and are ready for some action!
No worries... Not sure what you mean by hold the dose... Did you mean hold the .50 dose or the .75 dose. I ended up giving her the .75 but somehow did a partial fur shot.
 
@Bandit's Mom do you think I should be worried that she wasn't super hungry this morning and she didn't finish all of her snacks last night that she normally would finish?
 
Their appetite does reduce with better numbers. So I wouldn't worry. Try feeding less with the shot so she's hungry enough to eat later in the cycle and reduce the portion sizes of the snacks.
 
Their appetite does reduce with better numbers. So I wouldn't worry. Try feeding less with the shot so she's hungry enough to eat later in the cycle and reduce the portion sizes of the snacks.
Ok... I will do that. What dose should I be doing now for tonight? I was a bit confused by you 1st comment on this thread. Her +2 is 250... I'm guessing because of my partial fur shot. :arghh:
To make the day even more sh*tty... I got my order from Chewy today, that I had ordered to replace the incorrect Zymox that Amazon sent, and Chewy sent the wrong stuff too... :banghead:
 
What dose should I be doing now for tonight? I was a bit confused by you 1st comment on this thread. Her +2 is 250... I'm guessing because of my partial fur shot. :arghh:
You don't wan to increase the dose in a cycle where they are clearing a bounce because those cycles have additional downward momentum and you don't want to add to that with an increase. You could go up tonight.

To make the day even more sh*tty... I got my order from Chewy today, that I had ordered to replace the incorrect Zymox that Amazon sent, and Chewy sent the wrong stuff too... :banghead:
WHAT THE HECK????!!!!! :mad:
 
You don't wan to increase the dose in a cycle where they are clearing a bounce because those cycles have additional downward momentum and you don't want to add to that with an increase. You could go up tonight.
So its a good thing that I accidentally did a partial fur shot since I did do the .75u dose this morning.
I'm so confused... her bg went way up at +2 this morning (from 168 AMPS to 250 at +2).
Are you saying I should give the .75u dose tonight?
Please forgive me for my need for clarity I'm just getting very overwhelmed again...
 
Are you saying I should give the .75u dose tonight?
Please forgive me for my need for clarity I'm just getting very overwhelmed again...
Yes. Please give 0.75U from tonight. No need to apologize. This Chewy screw up after the Amazon one is really frustrating!

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Help... Mouse is refusing to eat... I even tried savory centers! She's been running in the 300s all afternoon and her PMPS was 360... I had to leave to pick my wife up from work so I probably won't be able to get back home for another 35 minutes. Then I'll try again to get her to eat and hopefully be able to give her her shot... I'm guessing the one I have drawn up will be no good to use cause it will have been sitting in the syringe for about an hour. Any tips or tricks appreciated. I can't afford to take her to the vet, especially an emergency one... We don't have any savings left so I hope this isn't something bad that requires a vet.
 
Last edited:
If she's running in the 300's and can get a test or two in later in the cycle, I think you could go ahead with the 0.75 but if that's too scary, I totally understand. You can always give a partial dose like 0.5 or 0.25

I wouldn't skip it just in case there are some ketones developing
 
Sounds like a reasonable plan!

In case the link I posted in the Facebook group didn't work, it was originally posted in another forum here so I'm giving you the link to the original

It explains quite clearly why "no food" does not mean "no insulin"
 
If she's running in the 300's and can get a test or two in later in the cycle, I think you could go ahead with the 0.75 but if that's too scary, I totally understand. You can always give a partial dose like 0.5 or 0.25

I wouldn't skip it just in case there are some ketones developing
I really hope this isn't DKA because if it is we're screwed. Should I do any subq fluids ? I have mirataz and cerenia... Should I give her those?
 
I really hope I got the entire .50u in her, I didn't see any wet spot on her fur but now I'm all paranoid cause of the fur shot this morning... Her skin is so loose it's really hard to get a good tent to her skin to shoot into, I think the needle is poking all the way through her skin.
 
Yeah I don't mean how much she drank. I meant any Subq fluids. If she hasn't had them today, I'd do them

I'd also give the Cerenia and see how she does. Save the Mirataz for when you're sure she's not nauseous
Is there only one kind of cerenia? The stuff I got from the vet says on the blister pack that it's for dogs only.
How much subq fluids?
 
I gave her 1/4 of a cerenia 16 mg tablet per the vets dosing instructions.

Understood but pay attention to how well it works (or doesn't) so you can make a better educated decision if you need to give it again sometime.

Sure do hope she's better by morning! I know you're tight on funds but at least if we get her through the night, if she's not a lot better, it's cheaper to go to your regular vet than an ER vet.
 
Understood but pay attention to how well it works (or doesn't) so you can make a better educated decision if you need to give it again sometime.

Sure do hope she's better by morning! I know you're tight on funds but at least if we get her through the night, if she's not a lot better, it's cheaper to go to your regular vet than an ER vet.
Are you thinking the vets dosing on the cerenia is not right?
Should I just leave her be for a bit to rest and when should I check on her again? Anything else I should be doing? I'm pretty well in panic mode right now so if anybody can tell me exactly what I need to do and when and when I should worry, what to watch for I would greatly appreciate it.
 
If you know how, yes. Food provides another source of glucose so the body doesn't burn as much fat (which causes ketones to develop).
I syringe fed her a couple of teaspoons of ff savory centers mixed with water about 45 minutes ago and she's kept it down. I put a strip of mirataz on her ear then I noticed on the box it says to discard after 30 days of first use. I know it was more than a month or two ago that I first used it for one of our other cats so I hope it's still ok. I'm going to offer her some food in about 15 min., If it's a no go I'll syringe feed her a couple more tablespoons of ff savory centers or chicken and broth baby food. Should I be syringe feeding her more at a time or more often?
 
Back
Top