07/31-Dolly-AMPS 99 -93@3 -87@4.5 -PMPS 99 -85@2.5 -83@4

Hi Adrienne, Sorry I didn't have much time yesterday to go into the ins and outs of the Libre. There are lots of advantages to using it. When I had it on Ruby recently I never checked the results against a blood test because I didn't want to drive myself crazy with the difference in readings. From what I understand, there is a 10 minute lag between blood glucose levels and interstitial glucose levels. I also think that the newer Libre, the Libre2, has more accurate readings. You can use your iPhone to scan with the original, 14-day Libre, but you have to get a separate Reader with the Libre2. You can connect the Reader to a PC computer and download all of the raw data to fill in your spreadsheet, so it's an extra step to get 24 hours of readings but it was helpful to me to know all of this. You may not need it.

I planted the Libre on Ruby's neck as per @Tomlin's advice and got her a Kitty Kollar to cover it up. Ruby scratched at it, but always caught onto the Kollar rather than the sensor so she never scratched it off. I put two drops of Vetbond on the sensor in addition to the adhesive that comes on it and it held well. The sensor itself only last 6 days this last time, but given how widely Ruby's BGs were fluctuating from the pred, it was good to have for a while and it was nice to have a vacation from pokies. Ruby enjoys the routine of testing, so when the Libre conked out it wasn't a problem for us to resume the blood tests.

Given that Dolly is usually so flat, I don't see a need for you to get the Libre unless testing becomes impossible because either she won't let you or if, more importantly, you can't physically handle it. You can still keep her safe with fewer tests, doing them somewhere between +3 and +6 and help with higher carb food if needed.

Hope this helps and that you're having a good start to your Saturday. :bighug:
 
Hi Adrienne, Sorry I didn't have much time yesterday to go into the ins and outs of the Libre. There are lots of advantages to using it. When I had it on Ruby recently I never checked the results against a blood test because I didn't want to drive myself crazy with the difference in readings. From what I understand, there is a 10 minute lag between blood glucose levels and interstitial glucose levels. I also think that the newer Libre, the Libre2, has more accurate readings. You can use your iPhone to scan with the original, 14-day Libre, but you have to get a separate Reader with the Libre2. You can connect the Reader to a PC computer and download all of the raw data to fill in your spreadsheet, so it's an extra step to get 24 hours of readings but it was helpful to me to know all of this. You may not need it.

I planted the Libre on Ruby's neck as per @Tomlin's advice and got her a Kitty Kollar to cover it up. Ruby scratched at it, but always caught onto the Kollar rather than the sensor so she never scratched it off. I put two drops of Vetbond on the sensor in addition to the adhesive that comes on it and it held well. The sensor itself only last 6 days this last time, but given how widely Ruby's BGs were fluctuating from the pred, it was good to have for a while and it was nice to have a vacation from pokies. Ruby enjoys the routine of testing, so when the Libre conked out it wasn't a problem for us to resume the blood tests.

Given that Dolly is usually so flat, I don't see a need for you to get the Libre unless testing becomes impossible because either she won't let you or if, more importantly, you can't physically handle it. You can still keep her safe with fewer tests, doing them somewhere between +3 and +6 and help with higher carb food if needed.

Hope this helps and that you're having a good start to your Saturday. :bighug:
Thanks Katherine. I would like to avoid making any changes, adding a Libre, in any way to Dolly’s life. She has definitely been going through some changes “emotionally”. She was having and still having, though not as bad, a very negative reaction to testing. I don’t know for sure but I feel it is the process not as much the pokes. I don’t think I am hurting her, she’s not flinching, but folds both ears in making it difficult, trying so hard not to force anything. She actually seems afraid of me, not trusting. This hurts my heart for her. This only happens at testing times. She goes under the table at each usual testing time, her internal kitty clock works well. I haven’t been able to test her past +2 or after the last few nights. I guess I could have found a way to grab her but I feel we are already walking a thin line with trust. I would just feed her and stay up with her so I could make sure she was okay for the next several hours. Then during the rest of the night I would wake up to make sure she is okay and give fresh food. I am exhausted and not feeling well. It’s been overwhelming to watch her like this. She has done this before but not for this long. It usually just disappears. I also know Dolly has a intense need to be in control and plays me a lot. :smuggrin: Are they that smart, I think so. :rolleyes:
Hope Ruby is doing well, I check her SS often. Hope you, Frank and Olive are doing well. Enjoy your weekend. I apologize for over explaining. I am very grateful for your help, your thoughts. :bighug::bighug:
 
I am so sorry that Dolly's giving you a hard time. I suppose cats can become ornery too in their older years, sort of like some humans. :) I don't think she would tolerate the Libre well because she's such a sensitive soul. My heart hurts with you. :bighug:
 
Adrienne, I'm so sorry you are struggling with Dolly's issues and your own. I know that life can be overwhelming at times. I'll keep you and Dolly in my prayers and hope that she returns to being more agreeable and that your health will improve as well. Wish there were something I could do or say to make your life better. You are a sweetheart and have always been so supportive of me. God bless you. :bighug:
 
Adrienne, I'm so sorry you are struggling with Dolly's issues and your own. I know that life can be overwhelming at times. I'll keep you and Dolly in my prayers and hope that she returns to being more agreeable and that your health will improve as well. Wish there were something I could do or say to make your life better. You are a sweetheart and have always been so supportive of me. God bless you. :bighug:
Thank you sweet Summer. We will be fine. I see Susie is being her unpredictable self :rolleyes::rolleyes: Hope all is well with your mom. Sending prayers that she feels better and that her pain improves. Have a great weekend and Susie surf safely:cool: no big surprises :D
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you sweet Summer. We will be fine. I see Susie is being her unpredictable self :rolleyes::rolleyes: Hope all is well with your mom. Sending prayers that she feels better and that her pain improves. Have a great weekend and Susie surf safely:cool: no big surprises :D
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Yes, Susie is being very unpredictable today. I also think she is not feeling her best. This was another strange day for blood glucose numbers. I was happy when she was breaking the bounce quickly but to shoot up from 189, at her supposed nadir time, to 255 is bizarre. Did she have a double bounce today???? I'm going to have to keep an eye on her. She hasn't been herself the last couple of days. Wish our cats could talk to us and tell us what is wrong. You take care, my friend. I think about you often.
 
Yes, Susie is being very unpredictable today. I also think she is not feeling her best. This was another strange day for blood glucose numbers. I was happy when she was breaking the bounce quickly but to shoot up from 189, at her supposed nadir time, to 255 is bizarre. Did she have a double bounce today???? I'm going to have to keep an eye on her. She hasn't been herself the last couple of days. Wish our cats could talk to us and tell us what is wrong. You take care, my friend. I think about you often.
Yes, I tell Dolly all the time,”just tell me what’s going on girl” “Are you not feeling good?” And on and on. She refuses to answer me :facepalm:
 
Adrienne, I am worried about you. If you don’t get some rest then it is quite likely you will get sick. If you get sick then you can’t help either Rob or Dolly! I know you know this, but I am reminding you. Remember when you could not get up to test Dolly or to do anything after your accident? Your daughter had to help you. I know you don’t want that to happen again for a different kind of illness. Please figure out a way to get some rest. Your immune system is dependent upon you getting rest.
 
Adrienne, I am worried about you. If you don’t get some rest then it is quite likely you will get sick. If you get sick then you can’t help either Rob or Dolly! I know you know this, but I am reminding you. Remember when you could not get up to test Dolly or to do anything after your accident? Your daughter had to help you. I know you don’t want that to happen again for a different kind of illness. Please figure out a way to get some rest. Your immune system is dependent upon you getting rest.
Thanks Suzanne for reminding me how I need to do more to get rest and take care of myself. It just seems that there is a never ending list of things to get done. Unfortunately, I have a bad habit of spinning my wheels and think more (my curse) rather than do more. I am resting all weekend. Dolly needs to get with the program. No more testing until PMPS. Been trying to give her afternoons off in the hopes things with her and testing improve. Thanks as always for caring. I was considering stopping my condo’s, it is so time consuming. I lasted one day:rolleyes:. You and your family have a wonderful weekend. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Don’t be mad at me, but could you let Dolly go a little bit higher in her BGs temporarily to catch up on some sleep?[/QUOTE
I already gave her an unearned reduction. No real change in her numbers. I am considering doing it again in a day or two. Why would I ever be mad at you for caring? o_O
On the other hand I want to maintain her TR status. I really don’t want to go back to SLGS. It has been suggested her numbers were good enough for a week, following TR protocol, to take a reduction. Not so sure I could do it again.
 
Dolly got into test position after just a few ear rubs and circling the hallway a couple times. She is so funny, she stops, looks back at me then carries on through the hallway a couple times then towards the dinning room. My husband just gently said “come on girl” she jumped on the chair, then the table and got in position, purring all the way. Go figure :p, she’s got my number :smuggrin:.
 
Last edited:
Oh my God, I am so so happy for all of you!
Way to go Dolly. Adrienne you must be on cloud nine!
99 BG same as her AMPS, maybe Dolly enjoyed the pokey brake and decided to
cooperate and reward you :p I'm just so happy for you ♥:bighug::bighug:
I wish I could have seen her routine tonight looking back at you before assuming position :cat:
@Our Dolly Girl
 
Oh my God, I am so so happy for all of you!
Way to go Dolly. Adrienne you must be on cloud nine!
99 BG same as her AMPS, maybe Dolly enjoyed the pokey brake and decided to
cooperate and reward you :p I'm just so happy for you ♥:bighug::bighug:
I wish I could have seen her routine tonight looking back at you before assuming position :cat:
@Our Dolly Girl
She definitely enjoyed it!!! Hope all is well in the Diane home front. Ashley, Tyler and Diane of course. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top