07/30 Miho AMPS 324; 212@+1.9, 215@+9

Killua356

Member Since 2022
Previous thread

AMPS ketones: 1.9
0.2 @+1.9

I think I gave an empty shot 7/29 PMPS which explains her raised bg & ketone level so I gave shot as soon as I found out (this was 6 hours after possible empty shot)
 
Previous thread

AMPS ketones: 1.9
0.2 @+1.9

I think I gave an empty shot 7/29 PMPS which explains her raised bg & ketone level so I gave shot as soon as I found out (this was 6 hours after possible empty shot)
I am a bit confused. Are you saying you think you may have given a dose with no insulin in it and then 6 hours later gave another dose??
If that is what you did PLEASE DONT EVERY DO THAT AGAIN….it is too dangerous.
If that is what you did I then your new shot times will have changed to 12 hours after the last dose.
Can you confirm that is what you do do please.
 
I am a bit confused. Are you saying you think you may have given a dose with no insulin in it and then 6 hours later gave another dose??
If that is what you did PLEASE DONT EVERY DO THAT AGAIN….it is too dangerous.
If that is what you did I then your new shot times will have changed to 12 hours after the last dose.
Can you confirm that is what you do do please.

I know I’m sorry :( yes that’s what I did. I monitored her bg until 4am just in case it drops too low, gave insulin 12 hours later from the last shot. I was panicking bc her ketone level was too high (1.9) If I waited another 6 hours she’d have gotten into ketoacidosis again..what should I do next time if the same thing happens?
 
Last edited:
what should I do next time if the same thing happens?
Let’s hope it doesn’t happen again. I would never advise to give another shot ..it’s too risky.
I can understand your concern though but a hypo is a bigger immediate risk than a possible risk of getting higher ketones. A difficult situation
 
Is this what you have ? You insert a normal syringe into the spot indicates on the drawing.
upload_2022-7-30_15-34-41.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-7-30_15-34-41.jpeg
    upload_2022-7-30_15-34-41.jpeg
    25.5 KB · Views: 169
That would be very unusual. I would draw up a bit extra in the syringe so you can squirt some out to check that there is some in the syringe.


See how it is tomorrow. We may have to increase the dose to 1 unit

yes I do that too before I give the shot I’m still confused how the airshot happened. I usually prefill 3-4 syringes with measured insulin and store them in the fridge, but I stopped using them since yesterday just in case. I draw from the vial with a new syringe each time I give the shot now.

Okay, the next dose is midnight (12am) if her ketones/bg are high (which at this rate I’m pretty sure they will be) I’ll give 1u
 
I usually prefill 3-4 syringes with measured insulin and store them in the fridge,
It is not a good idea to ever prefill syringes as there is a substance in the syringe to make it slide and it does not interact well with the insulin.

kay, the next dose is midnight (12am) if her ketones/bg are high (which at this rate I’m pretty sure they will be) I’ll give 1u
Make sure you monitor closely when you increase the dose. Remember we increase the dose based on the nadir not the preshot.
 
It is not a good idea to ever prefill syringes as there is a substance in the syringe to make it slide and it does not interact well with the insulin.

Omg really? I did that because I’ve seen few vets handing out insulin like that to patients. Thanks for letting me know may be that’s why the accident happened


Make sure you monitor closely when you increase the dose. Remember we increase the dose based on the nadir not the preshot.

Got it!
 
Back
Top