07/30-Dolly-AMPS 94 -65@2.75 -70@4 -PMPS 110 -75@2.75

Our Dolly Girl (GA)

Member Since 2019
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-6-75-pmps-92-102-2-74-4.250521/#post-2826310


Sending healing prayers to all the kitties and their caretakers that are not feeling their best :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Freestyle libre
Since I continue to have major problems with testing Dolly I am going to try the Libre once I get a prescription (today, I hope) I have a few questions first if anyone can help

*** Did you get it from the vet?
*** Did you administer it yourself? Shaving their fur?
*** How often did you do regular BG tests to check accuracy?
*** Anything else I need to know?

I will respond to any help later today. I have to be out for awhile.

Thank you
 
Last edited:
Hi Adrienne! I'm trying to check in on you and Dolly. I just read back a few days to Dolly's panic attack on the way to the vet. Very scary. I'm sorry, I've never use the Libre, but a lot of people here have. @Liz & Minnie has. It could be a really good thing for Dolly and you, as long as you can keep it on her. I am thinking maybe @PerfumedCatMom has used one for Ruby.... but I think it failed prematurely. Somebody said if you call the company they will replace it for you.

How are YOU? How is Dolly, today? You're not saying much. Is that because you are so stressed out about Dolly and having problems testing her? Did you get labs back from the vet?

Somebody said something about you going on vacation? I'm thinking... no way she's going to leave Dolly? Big hugs to you!
 
Hi Adrienne! I'm trying to check in on you and Dolly. I just read back a few days to Dolly's panic attack on the way to the vet. Very scary. I'm sorry, I've never use the Libre, but a lot of people here have. @Liz & Minnie has. It could be a really good thing for Dolly and you, as long as you can keep it on her. I am thinking maybe @PerfumedCatMom has used one for Ruby.... but I think it failed prematurely. Somebody said if you call the company they will replace it for you.

How are YOU? How is Dolly, today? You're not saying much. Is that because you are so stressed out about Dolly and having problems testing her? Did you get labs back from the vet?

Somebody said something about you going on vacation? I'm thinking... no way she's going to leave Dolly? Big hugs to you!
Thanks Suzanne. Vacation, what is that:p not a chance. Once I can get Dolly the testing is not a problem. It’s the process, she is scared. She doesn’t flinch so I don’t think I am hurting her. She goes under the table like clockwork when it’s almost time. Her kitty clock is perfectly set. Something is going on with her and maybe it’s her and me. I feel like I am torturing her. I really am going for X-rays this morning for my Femur update. I will post Dolly's labs when I have time.


I haven’t left Dolly for more than a few hours, except hospital stay in March, for over 5 years. Panic attack was scary. She’s had a few in the past, always vet related.
 
Last edited:
Thanks Suzanne. Vacation, what is that:p not a chance. Once I can get Dolly the testing is not a problem. It’s the process, she is scared. She doesn’t flinch so I don’t think I am hurting her. She goes under the table like clockwork when it’s almost time. Her kitty clock is perfectly set. Something is going on with her and maybe it’s her and me. I feel like I am torturing her. I really am going for X-rays this morning for my Femur update. I will post Dolly's labs when I have time.


I haven’t left Dolly for more than a few hours, except hospital stay in March, for over 5 years. Panic attack was scary. She’s had a few in the past, always vet related.
I'm glad you're finally getting those x-rays. I'll hope for a positive result showing lots of healing! Have you managed to gain any weight? I wish I had that problem.
 
I'm glad you're finally getting those x-rays. I'll hope for a positive result showing lots of healing! Have you managed to gain any weight? I wish I had that problem.
I have been over weight and now under, either way, it’s hard. Thanks about the X-rays. Right now the stress with Dolly isn’t helping. I’m eating well but it doesn’t help. Not sleeping much, checking on her during the night, feeding her fresh food because I fear her dropping like yesterday. I feel she has been traumatized but don’t know what or when. It is just awful. :( I talk and talk to her and rub her ears when she lets me, her favorite thing. Maybe it’s part of the neurological issue. I just want her to not be afraid. :stop::facepalm::nailbiting:
:bighug::bighug:
 
@Tomlin taught me everything I needed to know about getting, applying and using the Libre. I had one on Ruby (the Libre2) a few weeks ago and it only lasted 6 days but I was happy to get 24 hours/day worth of numbers and just scanning the sensor versus poking. It is easy to apply at home if you can really shave the fur down to the skin--I had the vet do the shave and I applied at home, or you can have the vet do it once you've gotten it from the pharmacy.

There are condos on it in Think Tank:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...stration-explanations-tips-discussion.221630/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/when-why-use-bg-with-libre.237045/

And here's a link to get a free sensor:
https://www.freestyle.abbott/us-en/...bqtI_uy79todUWj7ImxoC1DMQAvD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds
 
@Tomlin taught me everything I needed to know about getting, applying and using the Libre. I had one on Ruby (the Libre2) a few weeks ago and it only lasted 6 days but I was happy to get 24 hours/day worth of numbers and just scanning the sensor versus poking. It is easy to apply at home if you can really shave the fur down to the skin--I had the vet do the shave and I applied at home, or you can have the vet do it once you've gotten it from the pharmacy.

There are condos on it in Think Tank:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...stration-explanations-tips-discussion.221630/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/when-why-use-bg-with-libre.237045/

And here's a link to get a free sensor:
https://www.freestyle.abbott/us-en/myfreestyle.html?utm_source=Google&utm_medium=SEM&utm_campaign=Brand&utm_content=MyFreeStyle Program&gclid=CjwKCAjwxo6IBhBKEiwAXSYBs61UiNTV4eky_FEtydOMT1d85yd4KfOkFyobqtI_uy79todUWj7ImxoC1DMQAvD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds
Thanks so much Katherine.
 
@Tomlin taught me everything I needed to know about getting, applying and using the Libre. I had one on Ruby (the Libre2) a few weeks ago and it only lasted 6 days but I was happy to get 24 hours/day worth of numbers and just scanning the sensor versus poking. It is easy to apply at home if you can really shave the fur down to the skin--I had the vet do the shave and I applied at home, or you can have the vet do it once you've gotten it from the pharmacy.

There are condos on it in Think Tank:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...stration-explanations-tips-discussion.221630/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/when-why-use-bg-with-libre.237045/

And here's a link to get a free sensor:
https://www.freestyle.abbott/us-en/myfreestyle.html?utm_source=Google&utm_medium=SEM&utm_campaign=Brand&utm_content=MyFreeStyle Program&gclid=CjwKCAjwxo6IBhBKEiwAXSYBs61UiNTV4eky_FEtydOMT1d85yd4KfOkFyobqtI_uy79todUWj7ImxoC1DMQAvD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds
I knew Katherine would help you out.
 
Adrienne, how’d it go today? When will the docs go over the radiographs with you? How’s Dolly this afternoon? Maybe you aren’t even home yet? It’s only 4:53 pm your time now. I just got home from multiple errands and have unloaded groceries and am having a glass of wine and watching the bigger foster kittens run all over the place. :-)
 
Adrienne, how’d it go today? When will the docs go over the radiographs with you? How’s Dolly this afternoon? Maybe you aren’t even home yet? It’s only 4:53 pm your time now. I just got home from multiple errands and have unloaded groceries and am having a glass of wine and watching the bigger foster kittens run all over the place. :)
My daughter took me, we were gone three hours. The person in admitting, it was a hospital, was so slow putting in the info. Four different sets of X-rays that he had to put in separately. While sitting there I overheard a woman in the other cubicle say she was there because she had Covid and was pregnant :stop: are they crazy? Things are very bad here with Covid and to get in the hospital for anything you have to put your stuff and yourself through a metal detector o_O, a new way to detect the virus?? what is this world coming to :nailbiting:? They actually already sent me the results :rolleyes: before my doctor even reviewed them ( next week). Dolly seems very confused and suspicious today. I think she’s wondering what’s going on and why I haven’t tested her all afternoon. Her vet was not in today. Watching kitties play, that’s the best. :joyful: Hope you and your family are doing well. Thanks so much for being there and caring. Have a good night. :bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
My daughter took me, we were gone three hours. The person in admitting, it was a hospital, was so slow putting in the info. Four different sets of X-rays that he had to put in separately. While sitting there I overheard a woman in the other cubicle say she was there because she had Covid and was pregnant :stop: are they crazy? Things are very bad here with Covid and to get in the hospital for anything you have to put your stuff and yourself through a metal detector o_O, a new way to detect the virus?? what is this world coming to :nailbiting:? They actually already sent me the results :rolleyes: before my doctor even reviewed them ( next week). Dolly seems very confused and suspicious today. I think she’s wondering what’s going on and why I haven’t tested her all afternoon. Her vet was not in today. Watching kitties play, that’s the best. :joyful: Hope you and your family are doing well. Thanks so much for being there and caring. Have a good night. :bighug::bighug:
I often have those same thoughts about what’s going on in the world. It’s scary. A metal detector to get in the hospital? I guess it is sad that I am not surprised. My kids and I have talked about how soon we will all have to pass through metal detectors to get into the grocery store.

COVID is a long nightmare that just won’t go away. My veterinarian is sick with COVID right now. She hired a new vet tech who came to work ill and infected her. My vet has a husband and two young daughters. I am very concerned about her. She bad been vaccinated, but it was the J&J single shot vaccine. I don’t know what to think about anything anymore if it’s COVID related. So much misinformation os ljt there even from the government, CDC, medical professionals, etc. they do not know what’s going on.

Dolly’s routine was disrupted today. I hope she will calm down and not be so afraid!! That hurts your heart, doesn’t it? When you love her so much and she’s afraid of you. I know what that feels like.
 
@Roxy450
Hi Roxanne can you give any advice about freestyle Libre I see you have used it
Thanks
Sure would be glad to help!!! I apply it at home with a couple of dots of vetbond for extra hold .I shave her right after her front shoulder blade .. that way it’s hard for her to reach !! I’ve had sum that lasted full 2 weeks and sum lasted only a couple of days ! I also put a t-shirt on her the prevent her from licking it .
 
I've had mixed results with the Libre. Always applied by the vet (my own vet charges $25 for applying - they charge extra if you want them to review numbers and tell you what to do). First time it lasted 10 days. Probably half the time they just stop working but vet has said that even 3 days data is worth it. Minnie developed an allergy after #5 - vet thought it was allergy to the adhesive. New internist vet said she thought it more likely an allergy to the glue. Since the allergy, she tries to pull them off. I've had some success on the back of her neck/between shoulder blades but she pulled it off most recently.

I tried a onesie, cat pyjamas but she pulled off libre with them. A collar (not cone of shame style but like a furry lion mane) prevented her reaching it. Kitty kollar (designed for feeding tube protection) worked one time but the last time she pulled it off before I even got one reading.

Having said that, when it's working it is fantastic. Just scan the meter - it's more addictive than poking the ear even, since you're not hurting them. The libre holds 8h of data so if you log in on a computer you can get all the readings, not just when you scan.
 
I've had mixed results with the Libre. Always applied by the vet (my own vet charges $25 for applying - they charge extra if you want them to review numbers and tell you what to do). First time it lasted 10 days. Probably half the time they just stop working but vet has said that even 3 days data is worth it. Minnie developed an allergy after #5 - vet thought it was allergy to the adhesive. New internist vet said she thought it more likely an allergy to the glue. Since the allergy, she tries to pull them off. I've had some success on the back of her neck/between shoulder blades but she pulled it off most recently.

I tried a onesie, cat pyjamas but she pulled off libre with them. A collar (not cone of shame style but like a furry lion mane) prevented her reaching it. Kitty kollar (designed for feeding tube protection) worked one time but the last time she pulled it off before I even got one reading.

Having said that, when it's working it is fantastic. Just scan the meter - it's more addictive than poking the ear even, since you're not hurting them. The libre holds 8h of data so if you log in on a computer you can get all the readings, not just when you scan.
Hi Liz, thanks so much for sharing your experience. I have to tell you, you have often made me laugh, a very good thing, with your posts, especially if I remember correctly (50-50 chance for that:p) on Suzanne and Darcy’s threads, obviously before we lost precious Darcy. Thanks so much for that as well. I haven’t made a decision yet, Dolly’s vet was not in today. Hope you had a good day and have a great weekend ahead. :)
 
Sure would be glad to help!!! I apply it at home with a couple of dots of vetbond for extra hold .I shave her right after her front shoulder blade .. that way it’s hard for her to reach !! I’ve had sum that lasted full 2 weeks and sum lasted only a couple of days ! I also put a t-shirt on her the prevent her from licking it .
Sure would be glad to help!!! I apply it at home with a couple of dots of vetbond for extra hold .I shave her right after her front shoulder blade .. that way it’s hard for her to reach !! I’ve had sum that lasted full 2 weeks and sum lasted only a couple of days ! I also put a t-shirt on her the prevent her from licking it .
Hi Roxy, thanks for sharing your experience. Your Money is just beautiful :cat:. I haven’t made a decision yet, vet not in today, but hearing others that have used the Libre is a huge help to me. My sweet Dolly is going through something around testing and it’s been a nightmare. It’s happened before but not this bad or for this long. I have always tested a lot but have cut back as much as safely possible. I am so grateful for your information. You and Money have a wonderful weekend. :):cat:
 
Hi Roxy, thanks for sharing your experience. Your Money is just beautiful :cat:. I haven’t made a decision yet, vet not in today, but hearing others that have used the Libre is a huge help to me. My sweet Dolly is going through something around testing and it’s been a nightmare. It’s happened before but not this bad or for this long. I have always tested a lot but have cut back as much as safely possible. I am so grateful for your information. You and Money have a wonderful weekend. :):cat:
Good morning !! I’m so sorry to hear what u guys are going threw … I really hope poor Darcy starts to feel better soon :( I definitely think it’s worth a try if u can manage to do it at home . Money has severe anxiety in the car as well and I refused to bring her to the vet everytime I wanted to install a new libre !!! Just wasn’t worth it …!!! I looked up YouTube videos on how to install and gave it a shot at home ! It’s pretty easy !! Also the vet tech wasn’t the nicest or smartest and put wayyy to much glue which resulted in a big sore after she removed it !!:mad: After talking to a lot of ppl they explained to just put a couple drops on and it works much better !! Also if it does get removed and or stops working u can call company and they will replace it ;) it does take 2weeks but at least it’s not a waste !!! Some one also told me to use nail glue instead of vet bond it’s safe on skin but not as strong as the vetbond . Just make sure to apply in on the area as opposed to on device . I made that mistake once and glue leaked in and made it not work at all !!!ohhhhh and scanning is veryyyyy addictive !!! Hahahaha !!!
Any questions let me know and I really do hope Darcy will feel better soon :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I often have those same thoughts about what’s going on in the world. It’s scary. A metal detector to get in the hospital? I guess it is sad that I am not surprised. My kids and I have talked about how soon we will all have to pass through metal detectors to get into the grocery store.

COVID is a long nightmare that just won’t go away. My veterinarian is sick with COVID right now. She hired a new vet tech who came to work ill and infected her. My vet has a husband and two young daughters. I am very concerned about her. She bad been vaccinated, but it was the J&J single shot vaccine. I don’t know what to think about anything anymore if it’s COVID related. So much misinformation os ljt there even from the government, CDC, medical professionals, etc. they do not know what’s going on.

Dolly’s routine was disrupted today. I hope she will calm down and not be so afraid!! That hurts your heart, doesn’t it? When you love her so much and she’s afraid of you. I know what that feels like.
It’s all so crazy Suzanne. I have the results but I need my doctor to explain some of it. It’s 11:30 pm and Dolly’s nadir. We have been going round and round and now she’s under the bed. She has some fear but she also plays me a lot. She’s got my number for sure. I get up at 6:30 so I am desperately in need of sleep. Not feeling well, my biggest fear is getting really sick and passing it on to my husband. I’m feeling a lot of painful inflammation in my throat and chest. I have to stay well, I have to get sleep.
Hi Adrienne. I was just wondering if the Libre might freak Dolly out even more? To have something stuck onto her? How big are they? I guess you can’t know until you try.
I’m thinking the same thing. Just taking her to the vet for the shave, IDK. Last night I couldn’t even get her to test. Not true, I could of got her one way or another but trying to keep it non forceful, but sometimes there is no choice. I was up very late. I was up during the night checking on her, fresh food, didn’t pull her food until I got up so don’t know when she ate. I am just beyond exhausted.
 
Back
Top