? 07/30/22 Mac pmps 429 +3 69

Mac88

Member Since 2020
Yesterday's thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/mac-bg-55-5-hours-after-shot.266464/#post-2982982

We cut from 3 to 2.5 units insulin yesterday after his 55 reading. Mac is at 69 3.5 hours after dose. He is mostly on low carb wet food but will eat a bit of dry. Should I just feed him and continue to monitor? I'm hoping to avoid hypoglycemia. I did get him to eat a bit of dry and gravy canned just now so hoping that keeps the numbers from dipping more.
 
Last edited:
Just took his BG and it was 177 a full 12 hours after his last shot. The mostly wet food and smaller meals seem to be working as his BG is even lower than it was yesterday morning.

I am assuming 2.5 units was too high given how much it dipped him and am hesitant to give a shot now. Do I and just give him a very reduced dose? Do I wait?
 
Have you fed? If not, stall without feeding and test in 20 mins.

Can you monitor if you give him the shot? Do you have enough testing supplies and higher carb food/karo/honey?
 
I already fed a bit of wet friskies pate as he was super hungry. He ate about a quarter can. I can test again.

I can monitor him and have Karo syrup. However I am a bit worried that Friday night the 3u pm shot got him down to 55 and the 2.5u pm shot last night got him down to 69 from over 400 within 3 hours.
 
It is possible he may bounce from the lows he saw last night. Keeping the food change in mind, I would go down to 2U. If he needs more insulin, we can always go back up in a few days.

Yes that's what happened the day before so wouldn't be surprised. Just tested again 30 mins after last test and up to 191. Shoot or stall?
 
It is possible he may bounce from the lows he saw last night. Keeping the food change in mind, I would go down to 2U. If he needs more insulin, we can always go back up in a few days.
Thank goodness you said this Bhooma! I’m so glad you were here. I haven’t been able to be on the Board much today. And I started reading this and was thinking of the reduction!
 
Thank goodness you said this Bhooma! I’m so glad you were here. I haven’t been able to be on the Board much today. And I started reading this and was thinking of the reduction!

I am thankful for it as well. I will stick with 2u and monitor. I am thinking based on 3 taking him down to 55 and 2.5 taking him to 69, 2 might be the sweet spot to get it to a good range without being too low.

Still negative for ketones today. Mac has been up and eating/drinking regularly as well as bathing (this is a big deal as he got very lazy with it leading up to the diagnosis). He even played a bit last night before his shot with a catnip toy. I feel a lot more optimistic and am grateful for the support on here.
 
I am thankful for it as well. I will stick with 2u and monitor. I am thinking based on 3 taking him down to 55 and 2.5 taking him to 69, 2 might be the sweet spot to get it to a good range without being too low.

Still negative for ketones today. Mac has been up and eating/drinking regularly as well as bathing (this is a big deal as he got very lazy with it leading up to the diagnosis). He even played a bit last night before his shot with a catnip toy. I feel a lot more optimistic and am grateful for the support on here.
This is good to hear. Mac must be feeling better! I love that! Cats insulin needs do change at times, but I do want to see how he will do on 2 units. Remember yesterday we were considering 2 to 2.5 units. I am really pleased and proud of how ware handling all of this!
 
zCtTdPO.jpeg

I realize I didn't post a Pic of Mac so this is him the night we brought him home from hospitalization. They had to shave him because he had some clumps (I previously tried to brush and shave those out which he hated) so this is the most naked I've ever seen him. He is definitely favoring a soft fluffy blanket to lay on as his fur regrows!

Oy36OfY.jpeg

By contrast, this is how our boy normally looks. Big and floofy.

Yes, I'm super curious to see how his body handles the 2u. Hopefully it pulls him to a good steady number and no wild rollercoaster. I'm also hoping as he recovers from the pancreatitis and his pancreas heals, hopefully he will start producing his own insulin again and eventually be able to go into remission. We're taking it one day at a time for now I suppose. :)
 
He’s so handsome. I hope the reduction gets him into surfing nicely. Looks like 2.0 is potentially a good dose.
 
Back
Top