07/29 Shmee AMPS 149, +2 88, +3 61, +4.25 61, +5.25 66, NS tonight to drain depot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda & Shmee

Member Since 2018
Previous condo

Good morning everyone,
Shmee's body does not like this depot. One of @Wendy&Neko 's suggestions that she did with Neko was to do a half or 2/3 shot to help drain the depot if needed, and I am liking the idea of a 1/2 shot for PM. I don't really want to do a NS, although he has been laying around the last few days (more than normal :rolleyes:) and not that interested in eating. He actually has been not all that interested in his food (not all the time, but sometimes) in the last week or two. Once I put the spoon up to his mouth he usually eats without a problem though.. I am wondering if he feels crappy because of all the insulin in his system / the depot...? This is another reason I am considering a NS tonight.

I am also wondering if I should change the TR rules for Shmee a little after this last week or so. I was thinking after we get through this hump -- maybe reductions below 65? 60?

I hope everyone has a nice and relaxing Sunday.
I am also thinking of @Squalliesmom, I really hope Squallie is doing better today. :bighug:
 
Eating problems seem to plague our diabetic kittehs. However I don't think diabetes causes loss of appetite - usually we have all seen the opposite. I hope Schmee picks up on the appetite train. The low surfing in the spreadsheet looks great!
 
I will let others chime in regarding dose. For right now if ss is up to date Shmee is fine. But you need to monitor closely. Not go overboard with food. A tsp or two of regular food and see what that does.
 
I know it can be really scary when they drop down into the 50s and 60s, especially when they are not eating well! Been there myself A LOT, lol! But Shmee's ss looks pretty good, for the most part. I do think, though, that if you have to constantly steer with HC it may indeed be time for a reducie. :):)

Thank you for thinking of us, Amanda! :bighug::bighug::bighug: Squallie still is not eating well. He's managed about 1/4 of his breakfast (a 3 oz can of FF) in three hours. :( I'm going to try some more chicken breast, but he refused it last night so I don't have high hopes.

Shmee, not too close to the sharks today, buddy, it scares your Mom! :cat:
 
I do think, though, that if you have to constantly steer with HC it may indeed be time for a reducie. :):)
He did get a reduction from 4.75 to 4.5 Thursday, I think I waited too long to reduce him because he kept going on the low end Friday so I reduced again to what was supposed to be a temporary slight BCS dose of 4 Friday night. Since he is still low today I was thinking even reducing him to 3.75 (or even 3.5) might be too much since the depot still has so much force right now. If that makes sense, not sure if I am explaining it very well. So I think I will play it safe and do the NS tonight and try to drain the depot, and back to 4 tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top