07/29 PMPS 173 +1 193 +3 191 +5.5 247

Dallas boy

Member Since 2021
As the subject said, Dallas' PMPS is 9.6. We're stalling for 20 minutes and will check again. Never shot full dose at this number.
 
I see that you reduced previously to 0.5 U in the past when you had a blu preshot value. The result was that BG increased considerable. If you are feeling unsure, you can perhaps reduce to 1U or 0.75 U?
 
I see that you reduced previously to 0.5 U in the past when you had a blu preshot value. The result was that BG increased considerable. If you are feeling unsure, you can perhaps reduce to 1U or 0.75 U?
We weren't told to reduce to .50 it's just what my boyfriend was comfortable with at that time without any help. I've since given him access to this page, so he can come ask for help in the future when I'm not available. I'm comfortable with giving full dose at this number.
 
The goal is at some point "to shoot green to stay green", but I understand that takes sometime to get to know kitty and to feel confortable shooting low numbers. The key is to test them often and feed them if they start dropping significantly. This would be a good learning experience! :bighug:
Tell boyfriend to test him in an hour, since this is a new territory for you guys. If Dallas is lower than PMPS, keep checking every hour and feeding a little bit every time. Also, keep posting and people will help guide you.
 
Those blues you are getting at pre shot are safe but you need to be able to test and monitor when you see them. You are on SLGS so you should be able to shoot anything over 90 but ONLY if you can be around to test to make sure your Dallas is okay. I would not adjust the dose unless he goes under 90. He is seeing some good blues.
 
Those blues you are getting at pre shot are safe but you need to be able to test and monitor when you see them. You are on SLGS so you should be able to shoot anything over 90 but ONLY if you can be around to test to make sure your Dallas is okay. I would not adjust the dose unless he goes under 90. He is seeing some good blues.
If we are unable to monitor at that point what number is safe to shoot full dose and just leave extra food in an automatic feeder?
 
it seems like it wont be an active cycle. can you check at +2?
What is your usual feeding schedule?
What do you mean by an active cycle? The insulin won't effect him?
He usually eats at 6:30am, 12pm, 6:30pm and 9:30pm. Sometimes we'll leave him a snack in between his 6:30am and 12pm one. He gets his insulin at 6:30am and 6:30pm.
 
What do you mean by an active cycle? The insulin won't effect him?
Hi there (sorry, don't know your name)!

Here is your last post for continuity: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/07-28-dallas-amps-7-2.250525/#post-2826957

An active cycle means he might drop into lower numbers. If you are following SLGS, you can shoot any number above 90. Since you're new to this you might set that number at 120, but I encourage you to get more comfortable with shooting lower numbers. SLGS is great if you won't be home to monitor during the day, lots of caregivers who work follow that dosing method. You would need to do a curve once every 7 days to evaluate the dose, which you can do on Saturdays so that you'd have at least Sunday to monitor an increase if needed. If you do get a number lower than you are accustomed to and have to leave the house, many people will leave medium (10-15%) or high carb (>16%) food in an autofeeder to keep the cat safe.

If you are able, you might consider shifting the feeding schedule a bit. Lantus onsets between +2 and +3, so it's good to feed low carb food at shot time, +2, and +4 to counter the effect of the insulin to prevent what we call bouncing. When a cat experiences very steep drops in numbers, the liver will "panic" and throw glycogen into the blood stream. You want to avoid this as much as possible by feeding.

Another thing is you should try as much as you can to give Dallas the same dose of insulin everyday. A lot of his erratic numbers are due to skipped or reduced shots. It does not give you a chance to see how a dose is affecting Dallas, making it challenging to regulate him. I know how scary it is, especially when you are working full time. But if your BF can test during the day, it would be a good idea to keep giving him the same dose unless he gets a reduction by dipping below 90.
 
Hi there (sorry, don't know your name)!

Here is your last post for continuity: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/07-28-dallas-amps-7-2.250525/#post-2826957

An active cycle means he might drop into lower numbers. If you are following SLGS, you can shoot any number above 90. Since you're new to this you might set that number at 120, but I encourage you to get more comfortable with shooting lower numbers. SLGS is great if you won't be home to monitor during the day, lots of caregivers who work follow that dosing method. You would need to do a curve once every 7 days to evaluate the dose, which you can do on Saturdays so that you'd have at least Sunday to monitor an increase if needed. If you do get a number lower than you are accustomed to and have to leave the house, many people will leave medium (10-15%) or high carb (>16%) food in an autofeeder to keep the cat safe.

If you are able, you might consider shifting the feeding schedule a bit. Lantus onsets between +2 and +3, so it's good to feed low carb food at shot time, +2, and +4 to counter the effect of the insulin to prevent what we call bouncing. When a cat experiences very steep drops in numbers, the liver will "panic" and throw glycogen into the blood stream. You want to avoid this as much as possible by feeding.

Another thing is you should try as much as you can to give Dallas the same dose of insulin everyday. A lot of his erratic numbers are due to skipped or reduced shots. It does not give you a chance to see how a dose is affecting Dallas, making it challenging to regulate him. I know how scary it is, especially when you are working full time. But if your BF can test during the day, it would be a good idea to keep giving him the same dose unless he gets a reduction by dipping below 90.
Ok, I'll change his feeding schedule around. That's an easy fix with his auto feeder. The lowest we have given his full dose is today at 9.6. My boyfriend was off work all week, so it was easy for him to keep an eye on Dallas. I'm worried for when he's back at work next week and I am back home and we both have to work (We work the same hours...7:30am-3:30pm) and getting a lower number than we are accustomed to, then not being home all day to check on him. This is all very nerve wracking. We also have a two day camping trip coming up. So, if we get a lower number than we're accustomed to (as long as it's above 120 or 6.6) it's ok to give a full dose and leave high carb food? He's at 10.6 now at +3.
 
Hi there (sorry, don't know your name)!

Here is your last post for continuity: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/07-28-dallas-amps-7-2.250525/#post-2826957

An active cycle means he might drop into lower numbers. If you are following SLGS, you can shoot any number above 90. Since you're new to this you might set that number at 120, but I encourage you to get more comfortable with shooting lower numbers. SLGS is great if you won't be home to monitor during the day, lots of caregivers who work follow that dosing method. You would need to do a curve once every 7 days to evaluate the dose, which you can do on Saturdays so that you'd have at least Sunday to monitor an increase if needed. If you do get a number lower than you are accustomed to and have to leave the house, many people will leave medium (10-15%) or high carb (>16%) food in an autofeeder to keep the cat safe.

If you are able, you might consider shifting the feeding schedule a bit. Lantus onsets between +2 and +3, so it's good to feed low carb food at shot time, +2, and +4 to counter the effect of the insulin to prevent what we call bouncing. When a cat experiences very steep drops in numbers, the liver will "panic" and throw glycogen into the blood stream. You want to avoid this as much as possible by feeding.

Another thing is you should try as much as you can to give Dallas the same dose of insulin everyday. A lot of his erratic numbers are due to skipped or reduced shots. It does not give you a chance to see how a dose is affecting Dallas, making it challenging to regulate him. I know how scary it is, especially when you are working full time. But if your BF can test during the day, it would be a good idea to keep giving him the same dose unless he gets a reduction by dipping below 90.
Also, would this weekend be a good time to do a curve?
 
He's flat. He's safe enough for you to take a break from testing.

Would you mind giving us number in US (mg/dL) versus mmol/L? Most of us are in the US and this will help us help you more quickly so that I don't have to do the calculation or look at your spreadsheet.

There is another caregiver @carfurby who works three days a week and keeps her Furball on SLGS for the same reasons you do. I would look at her spreadsheet as that might make you feel a little better knowing someone else is in your same shoes.

This weekend would be a fine time to do the curve. Test every 2 hours for 12 hours or every 3 hours for 18.

If he's low in the morning before you leave, I would leave out medium carb food for him. You'd reserve high carb if he had a preshot number lower than 90 and couldn't watch him.
 
He's flat. He's safe enough for you to take a break from testing.

Would you mind giving us number in US (mg/dL) versus mmol/L? Most of us are in the US and this will help us help you more quickly so that I don't have to do the calculation or look at your spreadsheet.

There is another caregiver @carfurby who works three days a week and keeps her Furball on SLGS for the same reasons you do. I would look at her spreadsheet as that might make you feel a little better knowing someone else is in your same shoes.

This weekend would be a fine time to do the curve. Test every 2 hours for 12 hours or every 3 hours for 18.

If he's low in the morning before you leave, I would leave out medium carb food for him. You'd reserve high carb if he had a preshot number lower than 90 and couldn't watch him.
Oh yes, definitely! Sorry about that.

Can you recommend a medium and high carb food? I am not sure how to calculate the carb content. Right now he's on Turkey Fancy Feast Pate. I imagine the Fancy Feast with gravy would be a high carb food?
 
Ah, ok, I am looking at your US sheet, not your World numbers so I had a little heart attack! For some reason it did not convert the 18.8 to 339 as it should.
Yes lol. I just looked at the spreadsheet and was wondering why the number was green when it should be purple and realized it didn't convert, Oops! Sorry for the mini heart attack!
 
Back
Top