Dallas boy
Member Since 2021
As the subject said, Dallas' PMPS is 9.6. We're stalling for 20 minutes and will check again. Never shot full dose at this number.
Yes, I'm away for work, but my boyfriend will be home with him. He's going to give him his dose now. Thank you!If you can stay home and fell ok monitoring him, it should be fine.
We weren't told to reduce to .50 it's just what my boyfriend was comfortable with at that time without any help. I've since given him access to this page, so he can come ask for help in the future when I'm not available. I'm comfortable with giving full dose at this number.I see that you reduced previously to 0.5 U in the past when you had a blu preshot value. The result was that BG increased considerable. If you are feeling unsure, you can perhaps reduce to 1U or 0.75 U?

If we are unable to monitor at that point what number is safe to shoot full dose and just leave extra food in an automatic feeder?Those blues you are getting at pre shot are safe but you need to be able to test and monitor when you see them. You are on SLGS so you should be able to shoot anything over 90 but ONLY if you can be around to test to make sure your Dallas is okay. I would not adjust the dose unless he goes under 90. He is seeing some good blues.
What do you mean by an active cycle? The insulin won't effect him?it seems like it wont be an active cycle. can you check at +2?
What is your usual feeding schedule?
Hi there (sorry, don't know your name)!What do you mean by an active cycle? The insulin won't effect him?
Ok, I'll change his feeding schedule around. That's an easy fix with his auto feeder. The lowest we have given his full dose is today at 9.6. My boyfriend was off work all week, so it was easy for him to keep an eye on Dallas. I'm worried for when he's back at work next week and I am back home and we both have to work (We work the same hours...7:30am-3:30pm) and getting a lower number than we are accustomed to, then not being home all day to check on him. This is all very nerve wracking. We also have a two day camping trip coming up. So, if we get a lower number than we're accustomed to (as long as it's above 120 or 6.6) it's ok to give a full dose and leave high carb food? He's at 10.6 now at +3.Hi there (sorry, don't know your name)!
Here is your last post for continuity: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/07-28-dallas-amps-7-2.250525/#post-2826957
An active cycle means he might drop into lower numbers. If you are following SLGS, you can shoot any number above 90. Since you're new to this you might set that number at 120, but I encourage you to get more comfortable with shooting lower numbers. SLGS is great if you won't be home to monitor during the day, lots of caregivers who work follow that dosing method. You would need to do a curve once every 7 days to evaluate the dose, which you can do on Saturdays so that you'd have at least Sunday to monitor an increase if needed. If you do get a number lower than you are accustomed to and have to leave the house, many people will leave medium (10-15%) or high carb (>16%) food in an autofeeder to keep the cat safe.
If you are able, you might consider shifting the feeding schedule a bit. Lantus onsets between +2 and +3, so it's good to feed low carb food at shot time, +2, and +4 to counter the effect of the insulin to prevent what we call bouncing. When a cat experiences very steep drops in numbers, the liver will "panic" and throw glycogen into the blood stream. You want to avoid this as much as possible by feeding.
Another thing is you should try as much as you can to give Dallas the same dose of insulin everyday. A lot of his erratic numbers are due to skipped or reduced shots. It does not give you a chance to see how a dose is affecting Dallas, making it challenging to regulate him. I know how scary it is, especially when you are working full time. But if your BF can test during the day, it would be a good idea to keep giving him the same dose unless he gets a reduction by dipping below 90.
Also, would this weekend be a good time to do a curve?Hi there (sorry, don't know your name)!
Here is your last post for continuity: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/07-28-dallas-amps-7-2.250525/#post-2826957
An active cycle means he might drop into lower numbers. If you are following SLGS, you can shoot any number above 90. Since you're new to this you might set that number at 120, but I encourage you to get more comfortable with shooting lower numbers. SLGS is great if you won't be home to monitor during the day, lots of caregivers who work follow that dosing method. You would need to do a curve once every 7 days to evaluate the dose, which you can do on Saturdays so that you'd have at least Sunday to monitor an increase if needed. If you do get a number lower than you are accustomed to and have to leave the house, many people will leave medium (10-15%) or high carb (>16%) food in an autofeeder to keep the cat safe.
If you are able, you might consider shifting the feeding schedule a bit. Lantus onsets between +2 and +3, so it's good to feed low carb food at shot time, +2, and +4 to counter the effect of the insulin to prevent what we call bouncing. When a cat experiences very steep drops in numbers, the liver will "panic" and throw glycogen into the blood stream. You want to avoid this as much as possible by feeding.
Another thing is you should try as much as you can to give Dallas the same dose of insulin everyday. A lot of his erratic numbers are due to skipped or reduced shots. It does not give you a chance to see how a dose is affecting Dallas, making it challenging to regulate him. I know how scary it is, especially when you are working full time. But if your BF can test during the day, it would be a good idea to keep giving him the same dose unless he gets a reduction by dipping below 90.
Oh yes, definitely! Sorry about that.He's flat. He's safe enough for you to take a break from testing.
Would you mind giving us number in US (mg/dL) versus mmol/L? Most of us are in the US and this will help us help you more quickly so that I don't have to do the calculation or look at your spreadsheet.
There is another caregiver @carfurby who works three days a week and keeps her Furball on SLGS for the same reasons you do. I would look at her spreadsheet as that might make you feel a little better knowing someone else is in your same shoes.
This weekend would be a fine time to do the curve. Test every 2 hours for 12 hours or every 3 hours for 18.
If he's low in the morning before you leave, I would leave out medium carb food for him. You'd reserve high carb if he had a preshot number lower than 90 and couldn't watch him.
Yes. Just checked again now at +3 and he's 16.1Hi there, checking on Dallas. See he is 18 at PMPS today?!?
Ah, ok, I am looking at your US sheet, not your World numbers so I had a little heart attack! For some reason it did not convert the 18.8 to 339 as it should.Yes. Just checked again now at +3 and he's 16.1
Just realized the SS did not convert! He was 338!Yes. Just checked again now at +3 and he's 16.1
Yes lol. I just looked at the spreadsheet and was wondering why the number was green when it should be purple and realized it didn't convert, Oops! Sorry for the mini heart attack!Ah, ok, I am looking at your US sheet, not your World numbers so I had a little heart attack! For some reason it did not convert the 18.8 to 339 as it should.
No worries. I'm just so glad he's ok!Yes lol. I just looked at the spreadsheet and was wondering why the number was green when it should be purple and realized it didn't convert, Oops! Sorry for the mini heart attack!
