Jodey&Eddie&Blue
Member Since 2021
Hello
New thread but here is yesterday:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-158-pmps-ns-4-306-6-288.279986/#post-3091356
Here is the response from the IM vet
"I spoke with Dr. Millner at Fairfield, she . Eddie is eating and essentially returning to being a diabetic. This means that insulin has to be restarted but at a lower dose. I proprosed 5 IU as he is 11.7 kg.
I’m guessing his lower body temperature may be a result of his hypothalamus not functioning optimally (radiation damage?). Not life threatening.
They have been keeping a close eye on Eddie. He is not friendly as he is not pleased that strangers are working with him.
In an ideal world he would go home to you and you would start (fine) tuning his insulin dose again, like you have been doing so many times before.
In this phase fine tuning insulin will take time because his metabolism takes time to find his new equilibrium on the new insulin dose. I would use clinical signs, water intake and attitude as indicators how Eddie is doing and reduce checking blood values to the minimum.
The hypoglycemic episode showed that he was coming out of diabetes but now he is slowly sinking back into it again.
So, Eddie was doing well, became normoglycemic (and with the insulin hypoglycemic) and now diabetic again and we will need to find his optimal insulin dose (and that takes time as you know).
Based on my conversation with Dr. Millner she has a good understanding what Eddie is doing and he is helped along. Since he is eating the optimal environment for him would be home with you. This would help eliminating stress influences and you turned into a very experienced blood drop collector and interpretor of how Eddie feels.
Blue to Calgary this weekend, I hope all will go well for him. You are needed by Eddie and Blue sort of at the same time, is this deja vu?"
_______________
Starting back on insulin 5u?
About Blue, I have a vet nurse who said she could do BG tests and give insulin while I'm away. Do I risk this? I have to leave tomorrow early a.m. if I'm going to take Blue to Calgary.
New thread but here is yesterday:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-158-pmps-ns-4-306-6-288.279986/#post-3091356
Here is the response from the IM vet
"I spoke with Dr. Millner at Fairfield, she . Eddie is eating and essentially returning to being a diabetic. This means that insulin has to be restarted but at a lower dose. I proprosed 5 IU as he is 11.7 kg.
I’m guessing his lower body temperature may be a result of his hypothalamus not functioning optimally (radiation damage?). Not life threatening.
They have been keeping a close eye on Eddie. He is not friendly as he is not pleased that strangers are working with him.
In an ideal world he would go home to you and you would start (fine) tuning his insulin dose again, like you have been doing so many times before.
In this phase fine tuning insulin will take time because his metabolism takes time to find his new equilibrium on the new insulin dose. I would use clinical signs, water intake and attitude as indicators how Eddie is doing and reduce checking blood values to the minimum.
The hypoglycemic episode showed that he was coming out of diabetes but now he is slowly sinking back into it again.
So, Eddie was doing well, became normoglycemic (and with the insulin hypoglycemic) and now diabetic again and we will need to find his optimal insulin dose (and that takes time as you know).
Based on my conversation with Dr. Millner she has a good understanding what Eddie is doing and he is helped along. Since he is eating the optimal environment for him would be home with you. This would help eliminating stress influences and you turned into a very experienced blood drop collector and interpretor of how Eddie feels.
Blue to Calgary this weekend, I hope all will go well for him. You are needed by Eddie and Blue sort of at the same time, is this deja vu?"
_______________
Starting back on insulin 5u?
About Blue, I have a vet nurse who said she could do BG tests and give insulin while I'm away. Do I risk this? I have to leave tomorrow early a.m. if I'm going to take Blue to Calgary.

