07/29 Eddie AMPS 403 +8.5 342 PMPS 259

Jodey&Eddie&Blue

Member Since 2021
Hello
New thread but here is yesterday:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-158-pmps-ns-4-306-6-288.279986/#post-3091356

Here is the response from the IM vet

"I spoke with Dr. Millner at Fairfield, she . Eddie is eating and essentially returning to being a diabetic. This means that insulin has to be restarted but at a lower dose. I proprosed 5 IU as he is 11.7 kg.

I’m guessing his lower body temperature may be a result of his hypothalamus not functioning optimally (radiation damage?). Not life threatening.

They have been keeping a close eye on Eddie. He is not friendly as he is not pleased that strangers are working with him.

In an ideal world he would go home to you and you would start (fine) tuning his insulin dose again, like you have been doing so many times before.

In this phase fine tuning insulin will take time because his metabolism takes time to find his new equilibrium on the new insulin dose. I would use clinical signs, water intake and attitude as indicators how Eddie is doing and reduce checking blood values to the minimum.

The hypoglycemic episode showed that he was coming out of diabetes but now he is slowly sinking back into it again.

So, Eddie was doing well, became normoglycemic (and with the insulin hypoglycemic) and now diabetic again and we will need to find his optimal insulin dose (and that takes time as you know).

Based on my conversation with Dr. Millner she has a good understanding what Eddie is doing and he is helped along. Since he is eating the optimal environment for him would be home with you. This would help eliminating stress influences and you turned into a very experienced blood drop collector and interpretor of how Eddie feels.

Blue to Calgary this weekend, I hope all will go well for him. You are needed by Eddie and Blue sort of at the same time, is this deja vu?"
_______________
Starting back on insulin 5u?

About Blue, I have a vet nurse who said she could do BG tests and give insulin while I'm away. Do I risk this? I have to leave tomorrow early a.m. if I'm going to take Blue to Calgary.
 
Jodie, I am so sorry that Eddie and you have been through so much "$h!!!!!T:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek: these past few days, and I don't know if you went through with the plans to bring Blue to Calgary or not. Just wanted to let you know, my fingers, paws of my two kitties and greatest healing and calming vibes are being sent for you and Eddie and Blue. My goodness Eddie sure knows how to stir things up doesn't he! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Hang in there!
 
Jodie, I am so sorry that Eddie and you have been through so much "$h!!!!!T:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek: these past few days, and I don't know if you went through with the plans to bring Blue to Calgary or not. Just wanted to let you know, my fingers, paws of my two kitties and greatest healing and calming vibes are being sent for you and Eddie and Blue. My goodness Eddie sure knows how to stir things up doesn't he! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Hang in there!
Thank you, Ruth for all fingers and paws!!
 
Just talked to vet. Eddie is peeing and eating; they're going to do a quick lateral x-ray to ensure no constipation.

As you can see from the AMPS, BG is stratospheric. He's now on 5u.
 
I think 5 units is too low. Eddie did not stop being a diabetic then become a diabetic again. His dose was too high (due to the SRT action) and now he needs a lower dose, but 5 units is too big a drop in dose. He did go below 68 on 10.5 units last month, so I'd go lower than 10 as the dose he needs.

However, Eddie has not shown ketones in the past - correct? You are only gone for how many days? I think 5 units would be safe, though too low, if you are gone for a handful of days. He will probably be high for that dose, but safe.
 
I think 5 units is too low. Eddie did not stop being a diabetic then become a diabetic again. His dose was too high (due to the SRT action) and now he needs a lower dose, but 5 units is too big a drop in dose. He did go below 68 on 10.5 units last month, so I'd go lower than 10 as the dose he needs.

However, Eddie has not shown ketones in the past - correct? You are only gone for how many days? I think 5 units would be safe, though too low, if you are gone for a handful of days. He will probably be high for that dose, but safe.

I agree 5u may be too low but two things: 1) it's insulin on board and 2) 5u won't send him back to clinic with a hypo; i..e it's safe.

Eddie has not shown ketones at all in the past. I will be gone from Sunday (tomorrow) to Thursday. I feel much better with the vet tech on #teamEddie than before. In fact, without her around, I would reschedule Blue's appointment (although I really didn't want to do that but would). She is the failsafe element here. I've authorized both the vet tech and the sitter to bring Eddie to clinic if needed.

I just brought Eddie home and quite frankly he looks great. I'm frazzled.:eek: He looks like he's been at a spa. :cat:
 
Back
Top