07/29 Dallas AMPS 76, +1 81, +2 76, +4 83, PMPS 99, +2 113

I have a quick question. Dallas is getting blood work next week and he has to fast for 12 hours. How would that work with him getting insulin? His shot times are 9am and 9pm and an RVT is coming to the home at around 11-12 to collect the blood. Is it ok to skip a dose or him not eating after getting his insulin?
 
Flat flat flat! you might be good till PMPS.

I have a quick question. Dallas is getting blood work next week and he has to fast for 12 hours. How would that work with him getting insulin? His shot times are 9am and 9pm and an RVT is coming to the home at around 11-12 to collect the blood. Is it ok to skip a dose or him not eating after getting his insulin?
Why does he need to fast for 12 hours? Which test requires fasting?
 
Flat flat flat! you might be good till PMPS.


Why does he need to fast for 12 hours? Which test requires fasting?
He needs to fast because when he was in last week they couldn't run the Chem because his blood sample was too lipemic. They want him to fast so that this doesn't happen again. It was a wasted trip to the vet. We have a family member who is an RVT who is visiting and she offered to collect the sample at home since it is extremely stressful for Dallas to travel/go to the vet. We are just doing a wellness test and I want to know how his kidneys are doing.
 
This happens with Bandit as well. How long was he fasted last time? I am usually able to manage to get a non-lipemic sample from Bandit by fasting around 6 hours.
He didn't fast last time. He ate 3-4 hours before his appointment. This time they are requesting 12 hours. This is the first time its happened with Dallas.
 
My vet wouldn’t fast a diabetic for that long either. He says no food after midnight.
I just asked them about this. I’ll see what they say. He never goes more than 6 hours without eating and now that he is no longer in remission he eats every 3-4 hour because we learned from last time that going a long time without eating spikes his BG. We even set his auto feeder for 2am and 5:30am
 
The vet front office staff always said Neko should fast. The vet said otherwise as she knew she was diabetic. I'd try to get an end of day visit, as close to PMPS as you can, for the blood draw.
 
The vet front office staff always said Neko should fast. The vet said otherwise as she knew she was diabetic. I'd try to get an end of day visit, as close to PMPS as you can, for the blood draw.
They are only open until 6pm, so we’d have to drop off the samples no later than 5pm and his PMPS is at 9pm. I think we’re going to ask the RVT to come right before his AMPS. He’ll eat at around 1-2am (I’ll set an alarm) and fast for 6-7 hours.
 
That sounds good. I hope it works. Great that you won’t have to take him to the vet.
My boyfriend's cousin is the RVT and she just so happens to be visiting for the week from another province. We are very lucky! Our vet provided us with all the necessary supplies for the blood collection.

His PMPS is 99. He got his dose. At what point should we try to decrease?
 
He earns a reduction by having a bg under 40 or 7 days in mostly normal numbers. How long before you go back to work?
 
Back
Top