? 07-28-2022 Chispa AMPS 355, 364 +2, 372 +8, PMSP 372

Karen and Chispa (GA)

Member Since 2022
You’re welcome. The depot will build for 5-7 days. Then it would be good to pick a dosing method unless both methods suggest the same increase. Once you have enough data you won’t need to pull food two hours before unless running low but we will explain that when the time comes. It is best to feed most of the food in the first half of the cycle though.
 
Is it unusual or concerning that her +2 is higher than AMPS? I fed her a regular meal right after the shot and she ate about 2/3 of it.
No. It’s actually not up either. Meter variance allowed by the companies is 20%. Those numbers are well within meter variance so flat. It’s possible the insulin hasn’t kicked in yet too. Get a +4-5.
 
20% variance? That's a lot! Good to know.

I tried testing at +4 and again just now at +6, but I had to give up both times when nothing came out after several pokes. And I thought I was doing so well this morning! I'll try again at +8.
 
20% variance? That's a lot! Good to know.

I tried testing at +4 and again just now at +6, but I had to give up both times when nothing came out after several pokes. And I thought I was doing so well this morning! I'll try again at +8.
A for Effort! What size/gauge are your lancets? I found that using a 28gauge lancet in the beginning (because its a larger size) was beneficial. Now I use a 30gauge (which is smaller despite the number being higher lol).
 
I tried testing at +4 and again just now at +6, but I had to give up both times when nothing came out after several pokes. And I thought I was doing so well this morning! I'll try again at +8.

How frustrating it is to try your best and not get anything from the sticks! What method are you using to get the blood to come out?
 
How frustrating it is to try your best and not get anything from the sticks! What method are you using to get the blood to come out?
So frustrating! I can't believe how sweet and patient she has been, and I feel just awful for having to poke her so many times.

I'm wrapping her ear around a prescription bottle filled with warm water, then applying a thin film of Neosporin and poking the "sweet spot" with just a lancet (no lancing device). Then I massage toward the poked area until a drop of blood appears, or doesn't. It works like a charm!...but only sometimes. :banghead:
 
I'm wrapping her ear around a prescription bottle filled with warm water, then applying a thin film of Neosporin and poking the "sweet spot" with just a lancet (no lancing device). Then I massage toward the poked area until a drop of blood appears, or doesn't. It works like a charm!...but only sometimes. :banghead:

It's good that you are warming her ear up. I can't really see where to poke the first time, so I use a small flashlight behind his ear to illuminate the capillaries. It also gives a flat place to do the poke. I think the capillaries get bigger over time and make it easier, too.

Nothing really prepares you for this particular process, so you are doing great getting any blood already. It does get easier and less frustrating over time!
 
It's good that you are warming her ear up. I can't really see where to poke the first time, so I use a small flashlight behind his ear to illuminate the capillaries. It also gives a flat place to do the poke. I think the capillaries get bigger over time and make it easier, too.

Nothing really prepares you for this particular process, so you are doing great getting any blood already. It does get easier and less frustrating over time!
Thanks, @Ben&Squirrel. I can see the peripheral vein that I'm supposed to avoid, but not the smaller capillaries to aim for. I will try the flashlight trick!
 
I would not use Neosporin because apparently it may be toxic if ingested to cats. I'll search and post the links to the forum threads that I recall stating that later.
Most people use Vaseline/ petroleum jelly.
Did you see @Diane Tyler's Mom pic post for the sweet spot?
It really does get easier. :bighug:
Remember you've already had several successful pokes!
 
I would not use Neosporin because apparently it may be toxic if ingested to cats. I'll search and post the links to the forum threads that I recall stating that later.
Most people use Vaseline/ petroleum jelly.
Did you see @Diane Tyler's Mom pic post for the sweet spot?
It really does get easier. :bighug:
Remember you've already had several successful pokes!
I did see the sweet spot pic. Super helpful.
Not sure where I saw Neosporin recommended -- specifically, Neosporin with Pain Relief, which I happened to have on hand -- but thanks for letting me know about possible toxicity. I'll switch to Vaseline.
The last two pokes were somewhat more successful/less effortful than others so far. I think GA Chulo was with us when I started yesterday, and I guess he came back to help after seeing our struggles today.

BC31DC55-EF4C-44AC-A746-5CBAD956F923_1_105_c.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • BC31DC55-EF4C-44AC-A746-5CBAD956F923_1_105_c.jpeg
    BC31DC55-EF4C-44AC-A746-5CBAD956F923_1_105_c.jpeg
    42.5 KB · Views: 177
I did see the sweet spot pic. Super helpful.
Not sure where I saw Neosporin recommended -- specifically, Neosporin with Pain Relief, which I happened to have on hand -- but thanks for letting me know about possible toxicity. I'll switch to Vaseline.
The last two pokes were somewhat more successful/less effortful than others so far. I think GA Chulo was with us when I started yesterday, and I guess he came back to help after seeing our struggles today.

View attachment 65004
❤️:bighug: ❤️
 
Back
Top