07/27 Ti-Mousse AMPS=166; +6=261; +9=295

Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA)

Member Since 2018
Condo 07/26
Good morning!
I had a PLAN for Ti-Mousse but I'm sure he reads in my mind....! This morning he is starting the day with a nice BLUE!:cool: He was running and playing while I was getting their breakfast ready, the best way to start my day! :)

Weather is beautiful again, but very hot; hopefully not too humid!

Hope you all have a wonderful Saturday and all the kitties are safe! Special thoughts to @Teresa & Buddy and @Tucker ! :bighug::bighug:
 
Glad to hear that Ti-Mousse is playing and also what a beautiful way to start the day with that lovely BLUE....

So Ti, since it is hot outside how about a little swim in the lagoon, just a quick dip, show your mama what you can do....ok? And maybe you can talk Yoyo into a swim as well....thanks and play safely :D:D
 
Keep up the good work Ti ! :)
upload_2019-7-27_10-53-48.jpeg
 
Keeps going up and up !! No more greens!

From the end of May until beginning of July (41 days), he had GREENS almost every day!! Since then, only 1 GREEN in 21 days and he went from 5u to 7u during those days!!
He eats well, no vomit, drinks normally, no constipation!

Tomorrow, I'll try a new vial in case there's a problem with the actual one even if it seems OK (clear, no fuzz, expiration is end of next year and always kept in the fridge)...
If no improvement in numbers Monday, I'll increase again even if it doesn't seem to do anything good lately !

Hope to have advices on what to do now !
 
Sounds like you have been taking care of the insulin. In my experience, it’s usually not the insulin, but rather the cat. I only once had insulin go off, but that was just after a multi day car trip in hot weather.

21 days is a long time without green. At this point, I would be increasing every three days, by 0.5 units, until you see green again. Time to catch up to whatever is causing his insulin resistance. Have you considered getting him tested for high dose conditions? I think it’s time.
 
Sounds like you have been taking care of the insulin. In my experience, it’s usually not the insulin, but rather the cat. I only once had insulin go off, but that was just after a multi day car trip in hot weather.

21 days is a long time without green. At this point, I would be increasing every three days, by 0.5 units, until you see green again. Time to catch up to whatever is causing his insulin resistance. Have you considered getting him tested for high dose conditions? I think it’s time.
I'll try the new vial tomorrow as all this started right after I opened the actual one, it could probably be just a coincidence also... I'll keep on the .5 increases every 3 days until greens!

As for the testing for high dose conditions, I thought it was not necessary as he had plenty of greens when he was on 5.5u ! Should I still consider having it done ?

Thanks Wendy, I was really stuck and needed help! That 21 days no greens really made me worried! I had the feeling I was shooting water....
You're putting me back on track as always!! :bighug:
 
I got nervous if I went five days without green! Glucose toxicity set in so quickly with Neko,

We suggest testing for high dose conditions at six units, regardless of colours they are seeing. If he has a high dose condition, it is good to know. It can impact dosing decisions, and if positive for acromegaly, can let you know to monitor for other symptoms that may need to be managed. The story I tell is about Neko. She had some redness on her gum, her vet thought she needed a tooth removed. I went to a dental specialist, who knowing she was acro, discovered that the redness was because she had some soft tissue growth on her gums, and the canine above was rubbing on it. So instead of a tooth removal, her tooth was shaved back a bit. Problem solved, tooth saved,
 
So, I see our bad kittiehs went back up into that lemon tree together! They were SUPPOSED to go to the lagoon together - not the other way...

Luci is going to get an increase tomorrow morning...and that's that. Putting my foot down now (hope she's listening or telecommunicating or whatever the heck she does - I'm planning on meeting the relatives for breakfast! Hear me, Luci - I'm MAKING PLANS TO LEAVE THE HOUSE!

Let's see what happens with that...probably just sabotaged my breakfast..oh well... I hope Ti improves his numbers with the increase too... :)
 
I just saw your post on Jerry’s condo so headed here to suggest you start increasing every 6-10 cycles, depending on his nadir, by 0.5u and found that Wendy best me to it :p:smuggrin: I hope that starts to help.

Have you thought about testing for high dose conditions? We usually suggest it at 6u?
 
I just saw your post on Jerry’s condo so headed here to suggest you start increasing every 6-10 cycles, depending on his nadir, by 0.5u and found that Wendy best me to it :p:smuggrin: I hope that starts to help.

Have you thought about testing for high dose conditions? We usually suggest it at 6u?
It does help and make me feel so much better! So I'll keep increasing by .5 and I did not think about testing for high dose conditions as he had greens on lower dosages! Wendy suggested to have it done, so I will !

Glad I spoke to Deirdre today !! :p Thanks again for your help, I appreciate it a lot!
 
It does help and make me feel so much better! So I'll keep increasing by .5 and I did not think about testing for high dose conditions as he had greens on lower dosages! Wendy suggested to have it done, so I will !

Glad I spoke to Deirdre today !! :p Thanks again for your help, I appreciate it a lot!
High dose cats can still have greens on lower doses. If you look at Biscuit’s SS, you’ll see that he has looked better, at times, on lower doses. But with acro cats, the tumor waxes and wanes and so sometimes it looks like a lower dose worked better even though the kitty did end up needing more insulin. That’s likely because the tumor became more active.
 
I got nervous if I went five days without green! Glucose toxicity set in so quickly with Neko,

We suggest testing for high dose conditions at six units, regardless of colours they are seeing. If he has a high dose condition, it is good to know. It can impact dosing decisions, and if positive for acromegaly, can let you know to monitor for other symptoms that may need to be managed. The story I tell is about Neko. She had some redness on her gum, her vet thought she needed a tooth removed. I went to a dental specialist, who knowing she was acro, discovered that the redness was because she had some soft tissue growth on her gums, and the canine above was rubbing on it. So instead of a tooth removal, her tooth was shaved back a bit. Problem solved, tooth saved,
Poor Ti-Mousse I hope he didn't have teeth removal for nothing!! All this because I didn't know better!!! :(:(

What is called this high dose condition test? Is it for IAA or acro ? He was already tested for Cushings, that was fine!
 
High dose cats can still have greens on lower doses. If you look at Biscuit’s SS, you’ll see that he has looked better, at times, on lower doses. But with acro cats, the tumor waxes and wanes and so sometimes it looks like a lower dose worked better even though the kitty did end up needing more insulin. That’s likely because the tumor became more active.
Understand ! Explains a lot of things! I've got reading to do now and see what kind of tests he has to have!
Thanks again Marje!
 
It’s called Insulin-like Growth Factor test. Plus the insulin autoantibody test (the second one I’m not 100% sure on). Both are sent to Michigan to be tested. We sent it through IDEXX - not sure if other companies do the same test. Make sure to get both done and sent and not just one like stupid me lol!!!! It’s a simple blood test.
 
My vet didn’t know how to do the tests, but I found them on a local labs catalogue, not Idexx, so she sent it there. They took care of the shipping and cross border paperwork. That was seven years ago (yikes!) so vets probably have a better idea what to do now and so does Idexx. The tests are the IGF-1 or insulin like growth factor test for acromegaly, and IAA or insulin auto antibodies test. You may have to convince your vet to do the tests, if so, ask them to humour you. That is what I had to do. I gained a lot of respect at the clinic when both “exotic” tests came back positive.

Note that we have had kitties with one or the other condition here that never got above 5 units. It is just that at 6 units the chances of something else are very slim. And YES for no Cushings. I think that one is the hardest to manage.
 
My vet didn’t know how to do the tests, but I found them on a local labs catalogue, not Idexx, so she sent it there. They took care of the shipping and cross border paperwork. That was seven years ago (yikes!) so vets probably have a better idea what to do now and so does Idexx. The tests are the IGF-1 or insulin like growth factor test for acromegaly, and IAA or insulin auto antibodies test. You may have to convince your vet to do the tests, if so, ask them to humour you. That is what I had to do. I gained a lot of respect at the clinic when both “exotic” tests came back positive.

Note that we have had kitties with one or the other condition here that never got above 5 units. It is just that at 6 units the chances of something else are very slim. And YES for no Cushings. I think that one is the hardest to manage.
OUFF!!... that's not what I was expecting to get today, but at least I know the road to follow! I might ask you for advice at some point ...! :rolleyes:

You may have to convince your vet to do the tests, if so, ask them to humour you. That is what I had to do. I gained a lot of respect at the clinic when both “exotic” tests came back positive.
I hope they'll come back negative! I would be so happy to look stupid :p:p

Thank you for helping me swallow this !!:bighug: Now I'll have to see about remission for those kitties, even if we have a long long way to go for that! :)
 
It’s called Insulin-like Growth Factor test. Plus the insulin autoantibody test (the second one I’m not 100% sure on). Both are sent to Michigan to be tested. We sent it through IDEXX - not sure if other companies do the same test. Make sure to get both done and sent and not just one like stupid me lol!!!! It’s a simple blood test.
Thanks Crista! I'll have both done at the same time! Wendy mentioned IDEXX also! Now let's get going with this! Poor ti-minou! xx
 
The first acrokitty here to try the drug cabergoline, name of Marvin and lived in Montreal, went OTJ. A couple others have too, but it’s less common. There are other treatments, but more costly and/or involve travel. IAA kitties are regular diabetics and can also go OTJ, but it’s harder. Take a look at Loudogg’s numbers. He is a lower dose IAA kitty. IAA is supposed to be self limiting, after around a year.
 
The first acrokitty here to try the drug cabergoline, name of Marvin and lived in Montreal, went OTJ. A couple others have too, but it’s less common. There are other treatments, but more costly and/or involve travel. IAA kitties are regular diabetics and can also go OTJ, but it’s harder. Take a look at Loudogg’s numbers. He is a lower dose IAA kitty. IAA is supposed to be self limiting, after around a year.
I'll start reading and learning about all this! :bighug::bighug::bighug: I'll do all what I can for my Ti-Mousse, I promised him !
Thanks for always being there for us when we're in big need!
 
Hope Ti-Mousse gives you some more greens soon!
I always like to hear about the kitties playing!
I was just told that Ti-Mousse should be tested for IAA and Acro....!:(
I don't know if you had to go through this with Scooter as he was in high numbers! I'll get this going and we'll see how it comes out!

GREEN, GREEN and GREEN for Scooter; so nice! :D:D:D He's Ti-Mousse's hero!:joyful:
Have a great evening Jill! :bighug:
 
I was just told that Ti-Mousse should be tested for IAA and Acro....!:(
I don't know if you had to go through this with Scooter as he was in high numbers! I'll get this going and we'll see how it comes out!

GREEN, GREEN and GREEN for Scooter; so nice! :D:D:D He's Ti-Mousse's hero!:joyful:
Have a great evening Jill! :bighug:

It was recommended and I intended to get him tested, but he hit 6 units at the same time my DH had serious back problems. With all his tests, MRIs and eventually surgery I wasn’t able to get it done. Then we broke through whatever IT was and he’s been working his way down since, so I never did it.

Hope everything comes out good for Ti, but it probably would be good to get him tested. That way you know what if anything, you are dealing with.
You and Ti-Mousse have a good rest of the weekend!
 
So, I see our bad kittiehs went back up into that lemon tree together! They were SUPPOSED to go to the lagoon together - not the other way...

Luci is going to get an increase tomorrow morning...and that's that. Putting my foot down now (hope she's listening or telecommunicating or whatever the heck she does - I'm planning on meeting the relatives for breakfast! Hear me, Luci - I'm MAKING PLANS TO LEAVE THE HOUSE!

Let's see what happens with that...probably just sabotaged my breakfast..oh well... I hope Ti improves his numbers with the increase too... :)
I don't know if she heard you, but I did :p and it reminded me that I'm increasing also tomorrow morning! They have to do better !!
Why not spending Sunday at the beach like everybody else!! :cool::cool: I hope no sabotage from Ti-Mousse, we're going to my daughter's place for the afternoon!
 
It was recommended and I intended to get him tested, but he hit 6 units at the same time my DH had serious back problems. With all his tests, MRIs and eventually surgery I wasn’t able to get it done. Then we broke through whatever IT was and he’s been working his way down since, so I never did it.

Hope everything comes out good for Ti, but it probably would be good to get him tested. That way you know what if anything, you are dealing with.
You and Ti-Mousse have a good rest of the weekend!
You're right, I will get him tested! :bighug:
 
One day at a time, Lyane :bighug::bighug:he's the same sweet Ti-Mousse, with or without confirmed diagnosis of either condition. You'll get through it, and we'll be here to help you.
 
And remember, Lyane, that it could be just one or the other....or neither. There have been a few kitties here who got to a high dose and had neither condition. But, still, best to be sure.

Paws crossed.
 
Back
Top