07/27 Shmee AMPS 175, 8 +51, PMPS 73, +1 103 - reduction & surgery scheduled

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda & Shmee

Very Active Member
Previous condo

Full update to come later :cat: :cat: :cat: sorry I could not respond last night I had so much going on (along with changing AirBNB plans because the neurologist called me back and we are scheduled for August 27th! I am the most scared I have ever been in my life!!)

For now, question - he has only been on the 4.5U dose since last night, but I think I had him on it too long so the depot is getting him into lower numbers today too. Should I go down to 4.25 tonight, even though its probably the depot...? I think its normally too soon to reduce but like @Wendy&Neko said yesterday about the other day; "since he does seem to be interested in lowering his dose, I would be cautious and take those reductions if he started flirting with them."

Torn because I don't want to lose our momentum either? Tomorrow we are going out for my grandmas 93rd birthday (:eek:) so maybe I should just reduce to be safe..
 
I'm a lot more cautious than you. I think Shmee's numbers look amazing.

My grandma made it to 93. Her last years were not great - persistent (long) discussions about health issues, instead of living life. But she had a long run.
 
I'm a lot more cautious than you. I think Shmee's numbers look amazing.

My grandma made it to 93. Her last years were not great - persistent (long) discussions about health issues, instead of living life. But she had a long run.
Yeah I am thinking a reduction as well, I just assumed the low numbers today are from the depot so I just wanted to be sure. But I think it is better to be cautious and reduce to 4.25 tonight! Thank you!

My nana is doing pretty well for her age, other than knee / walking problems. I lost my pa a few years ago, and it was the worst time of my life... ugh those last few days were the worst. I really hope that does not happen with my nana and she goes peacefully someday. This is her a few weeks ago at my cousins wedding shower :)

upload_2018-7-27_14-53-37.png
 
Numbers look good and IMO, since you're not around tomorrow SAFE is always the best option. See how the reducie goes over the next day, can always go up but I think it will be okay. Wow - 93 for your Grandma - you go girl!!
 
Two options. Option A is to reduce again. Not a bad option, I often found with my acro that 0.5 unit reductions worked until closer to 3.5 units. Option B, shoot a BCS to drain the depot that is still in action today. You could even shoot a slight BCS like 4.0 units tonight and tomorrow morning, to take the edge off for tomorrow. I often did "temporary" reductions, to keep Neko safe if I had something planned. Sometimes those reductions held. Alsways easy to go back up if you need. Safety first.

Awesome that you have a surgery date, though I know you'll be :nailbiting::nailbiting: until then.

Both my parents are in their mid 90's. Other than breaking things DM is in good shape. DF has more going on, but a great attitude. Thankfully minds still there. Happy BD to your gran.
 
Two options. Option A is to reduce again. Not a bad option, I often found with my acro that 0.5 unit reductions worked until closer to 3.5 units. Option B, shoot a BCS to drain the depot that is still in action today. You could even shoot a slight BCS like 4.0 units tonight and tomorrow morning, to take the edge off for tomorrow. I often did "temporary" reductions, to keep Neko safe if I had something planned. Sometimes those reductions held. Alsways easy to go back up if you need. Safety first.

Awesome that you have a surgery date, though I know you'll be :nailbiting::nailbiting: until then.

Both my parents are in their mid 90's. Other than breaking things DM is in good shape. DF has more going on, but a great attitude. Thankfully minds still there. Happy BD to your gran.
All good options to think about, I appreciate it!
Thanks for the birthday wish, having a good attitude like your DF helps so much. Seeing them sad is the worst :( thankfully other than a little lonely sometimes she has a great attitude. We have a huge family so people are always doing things with her, and she really loves the home she is in. Everyone is so nice there which makes everything so much better.
 
Awesome!

Dr McCue said he will give me a call, hoping there are still donor funds left and Bronx could be next!
Excellent! :smuggrin: Wouldn't that be great? When I saw that woman on the Facebook group was not paying due to a donor I was like wait... what! My inner Bargain Betty was jumping for joy. I really hope these donor funds can help multiple cats here on this forum.

PS I don't know if I have said this before but Bronx is so handsome! :cat:
 
Replies from the other day:

Yes it's possible Shmee could go OTJ on his own, who knows, it's just a guess. We've also had kitties go off insulin, the come back later to higher doses. They weren't tested the first time as they didn't get to higher doses. Were they just a regular diabetic the first time, or just a lower dose acro that wasn't tested? Who knows what damage the growth hormone is doing in between? I like your plan of dealing with things now.
Interesting. I am glad to see this perspective.

Leo had a 3 x 3 x 3 foot wire crate for the 2 + 2 day round trip to Ft.Collins. I built him a platform in the crate and put a lot of padded blankets on it. That was the front side of the crate.

In the lower level of the crate was his litter box, and a space he could retreat to, if he did not like the upper level.

He traveled almost the whole way on the upper level except for one part. We were 3-4 hours north of Austin, around Abiline. And we went thru full thunder, lightning, and inches-per-hour rain. I was surprised we didn't have golf ball hail. Anyhow, that scared the crud out of poor Leo. He hyperventilated for another 2 hours after that. I'm sure he has forgotten the whole thing!

I also tie-wrapped all the corners of the dog crate. That removed all rattles.

Leo only peed while we were moving - one time. The rest of the driving, he would only eat or pee when we were stopped. Mostly he held it during each day of driving.
Wow what a cool setup! :eek: I'm sure if Shmee had a second level he would be up there the whole time too. My step-dad really likes woodworking.... now your ideas have rattled my imagination haha... I don't know if I want to add that onto my plate right now but now I really want this too! I finally read through a little bit of your SRT thread today, I have to go back and read the rest tonight. Are there any photos of him on the second level in there? If not I would love to see one if you have one! What a long and stressful journey this has been for so many of you... I wish this surgery with the donor funds was available for everyone easily :( It doesn't seem fair... but I am so grateful for the opportunity that has come my way.

Rescue Remedy is a great product and you can get it at Chewy.com here... You can get it other places, but you have to make sure it is the one especially formulated for pets because it is made with no alcohol.


No. It should not be used in place of Gabapentin. Gaba is used as a relaxant and sedative in kitties because it does have a large margin of safety. In Pig and a lot more kittehs, besides, it is used for pain management. RR cannot do that. Gaba is actually an anti-epileptic drug that also has the ability to treat certain types of neuropathic pain. So, it is a nerve pain pill. The RR cannot replace that, but it can compliment it in times of stress.
Ohh ok, I had the Rescue Remedy for animals in my Amazon cart thank you! I will look at that Chewy link and compare to be sure. I have to order from them soon anyway so I will probably just add it to that cart.

Makes sense, you don't want to give it instead of the G (if the kitty has pain or is very stressed) but it can be given on top of the G if needed... correct? I think I might do both the G and RR for the morning of my echocardiogram if you and @Wendy&Neko think that's a good idea, or if that is too much meds I will not. They told me to give him a G the night before, and another in the morning two hours before. He needs to hold still for 30 minutes.... which I really do not see happening at all. She said if he won't sit still they will have to give him a sedative. I asked which one and she said a mixture of an opioid and Medazalam(?). I hope those drugs are ok? Which is why I was thinking the G and then the RR on top of that, then maybe he would not have to have the sedative.



I am well over 3/4 of the way done with an English degree with a concentration in writing and a Minor in Religion. Books and Cats and Learning are my life.
Thank you so much for the well wishes! I imagine you have your mind and plate pretty full right now! But, I will say this. I went through the same sort of fear about my choice to take Pig to WSU, but both @Wendy&Neko and @JeffJ really helped me to see that it really was the best course of action. You are doing what is right and best for him. You are an excellent Momma Beans. This Acro thing is a complicated matter and it has a HUGE learning curve, but we all just learn to do what we must! :bighug::bighug::bighug:



Hey... @Wendy&Neko do you have the shareable link to "Traveling with Diabetic Kitties"? Mine will not let me share... Amanda, this file helped me in more ways than one on our journey! Watch the second video (I believe) (Day 2 of Pig's Fantabulous Journey) because it shows all the inside prep work and kits I made for traveling. The hardest part, loading and unloading it all into the car day in and day out... :woot:

Wow all this AND studying for school... you go girl! I hope you are very proud of yourself. I love learning too :) I have wanted to go back to school so many times... I finally did about two years ago and finished my associates degree. Signed up to start my bachelors classes and changed my mind... I have always had SUCH a hard time figuring out "what I wanted to do with my life" and what degree I should go for. Nothing seemed worth the tuition bills to me because I never figured out what I should go for! If I had something I really loved, I would have taken those bills in a heartbeat to follow my passion. My latest idea of "what I want to do with my life" is sell Disney! haha. I did a Disney College Internship in Disney World 11 years ago and I have never stopped thinking about it. I would have stayed down there if they paid better. I came across an ad for Disney Travel Agents and I totally fell in love. I have had one failed interview but I am not giving up. Interview for a second interview is Monday! Anyway.....! Haha lost track of topics

It feels so good to know there are experienced people out there willing to help others and just so we don't feel so alone.. :bighug:
@Wendy&Neko do you happen to have that link for the traveling with diabetic kitties? I just tried to google it and couldn't find it.
 
Last edited:
How wonderful Shmee will get his surgery! I can only imagine how nervous and worried you must be though. :bighug::bighug::bighug:And many good vines that everything goes smooth.
Thank you Jill :)

Incredible that this surgery is gifted! I am so happy for you and Shmee and I hope that @Bronx's dad is next!
Yes I was so shocked and I feel so grateful :cat: I am SOOO curious about this mystery donor.
I hope so too! I know @Olive & Paula and @Ana & Frosty both wanted to contact AMC for more info as well. I truly hope everyone is a candidate and there's enough donor money to be spread around!
 
Im so excited for you two!!!

For rescue remedy - I got mine at Whole Foods! (In the Pet section, not the human section.) Idk if you have one close.

But its probably cheaper online.
 
I think I might do both the G and RR for the morning of my echocardiogram if you and @Wendy&Neko think that's a good idea, or if that is too much meds I will not. They told me to give him a G the night before, and another in the morning two hours before. He needs to hold still for 30 minutes.... which I really do not see happening at all. She said if he won't sit still they will have to give him a sedative. I asked which one and she said a mixture of an opioid and Medazalam(?). I hope those drugs are ok? Which is why I was thinking the G and then the RR on top of that, then maybe he would not have to have the sedative.
I just gave the RR, not gaba, but she was on buprenorphine daily. I put a drop of RR on a treat, and she ate it. When Neko was healthy and fiesty, they needed to give a mild sedative too.

Here is one doc on travelling with diabetic kitties, by member Lisa, who's cat Leo freaked out at travel.
 
This is a pic of Leo on the way to Ft.Collins.
In the pic, I took out the litter box since he was hanging out in the lower layer of his Luxury Traveling Condominium. The second level is simple - it was just a sturdy cardboard box. I made it just high enough so he could crawl up there and watch everything.

You can also see plastic under the whole cage. We didn't have any accidents. But we all know what cat pee smells like and I didn't want any in the car. Leo was such a good boy. I would do it again in a heartbeat. He is now SRT + 22 months. How great is that???

Leo on way trip to CSU.jpg
 
This is a pic of Leo on the way to Ft.Collins.
In the pic, I took out the litter box since he was hanging out in the lower layer of his Luxury Traveling Condominium. The second level is simple - it was just a sturdy cardboard box. I made it just high enough so he could crawl up there and watch everything.

You can also see plastic under the whole cage. We didn't have any accidents. But we all know what cat pee smells like and I didn't want any in the car. Leo was such a good boy. I would do it again in a heartbeat. He is now SRT + 22 months. How great is that???

View attachment 37807
Wow yes it seemed to work out so well for him, such a luxury and a huge drop in insulin!!

I am also sitting here wathcing all of @LuvinThisPigs videos and saw her setup, both are great options!
 
She has done a great job with Pig, and also good at documenting Pig's journey as well.

I calculated Leo's and Pig's insulin drops and reductions in the thread for Pig yesterday.
It is here.
 
The sedative drug you had a ?? about is midazolam (Versed) and is used as a "pre-anesthesia" drug in humans. It's very short acting. If you've ever had surgery, this is the drug that your given usually as you're being wheeled into the ER and you don't remember a thing from that point on. Other medications from the same family (benzodiazepines) are also used for the same purpose but the advantage of midazolam is how quickly it works and how quickly it's gone. (It's often called "dazzle.")

 
Previous condo

Full update to come later :cat: :cat: :cat: sorry I could not respond last night I had so much going on (along with changing AirBNB plans because the neurologist called me back and we are scheduled for August 27th! I am the most scared I have ever been in my life!!)

For now, question - he has only been on the 4.5U dose since last night, but I think I had him on it too long so the depot is getting him into lower numbers today too. Should I go down to 4.25 tonight, even though its probably the depot...? I think its normally too soon to reduce but like @Wendy&Neko said yesterday about the other day; "since he does seem to be interested in lowering his dose, I would be cautious and take those reductions if he started flirting with them."

Torn because I don't want to lose our momentum either? Tomorrow we are going out for my grandmas 93rd birthday :)eek:) so maybe I should just reduce to be safe..
August 27th is my birthday. I think it will be a good day! I will keep him in my thoughts <3 keep us posted.
I just dropped Frosty off at the IM vet for another ACTH stimulation test because he was projectile vomiting all day yesterday. I am not sure if it's his medication causing it, his hormone levels being off, or something else. But I am definitely thinking about possibly contact the doctor for a possible consultation about surgery.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top