07/27 Lucy AMPS 139 PMPS 104

Susan and Lucy

Member Since 2021
Recently, Lucy has had a lot of days (AMPS and PMPS) where she is under 150 (Relion human meter) and I have not given her a shot (or sometimes I gave her a smaller dose). We are using the TSGS method. Am I doing the right thing for her? I have read the stickies and since I'm not doing the tight regulation, perhaps this is just where we are and we continue this way indefinitely? I'm a little confused as to whether I should be changing something.

-- Susan
Lucy's SS: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...wcLAGrGYu6if2Wzx6kzyeam_xI/edit#gid=361360320
 
Hi. I looked at the spreadsheet. I can see you struggled to give a consistent dose twice a day. Have you thought about trying 0.25u BID? See if that helps level out her numbers. Can you explain why some days had only AM and PM tests? I see you catch the lower numbers mid-day. Nadir is what the dose is based on.

My feeling is Lucy needs support, but not much. The trick is to find the right dose that doesn't bring her too low, but keeps her numbers level so she's not going up and down as much.
 
What is your no shoot number? Maybe lower that number. Ideally you want green all across the row with just a pop of occasional blue. 0.25 might get that done, then it's 0.1 and then no more (wouldn't want to jinx by saying it).
 
Hi. I looked at the spreadsheet. I can see you struggled to give a consistent dose twice a day. Have you thought about trying 0.25u BID? See if that helps level out her numbers. Can you explain why some days had only AM and PM tests? I see you catch the lower numbers mid-day. Nadir is what the dose is based on.

My feeling is Lucy needs support, but not much. The trick is to find the right dose that doesn't bring her too low, but keeps her numbers level so she's not going up and down as much.

It's been a struggle to be consistent lately because of a lot of family issues (dealing with elderly parents in poor health, selling their house which is in a different state AND I have a daughter who is moving and needs support with that). I'm the only one available to test Lucy. Luckily, things should calm down by the end of this weekend several things should resolve. I will try to do more testing with Lucy, and give a more consistent, but perhaps lesser Lantus dose. That might be better than not shooting anytime she's below 150 and I know I won't be around to test afterward. Thank you!
 
What is your no shoot number? Maybe lower that number. Ideally you want green all across the row with just a pop of occasional blue. 0.25 might get that done, then it's 0.1 and then no more (wouldn't want to jinx by saying it).

My no-shoot number was 150, but I can lower it. Thanks!
 
You would decrease to .10

Thanks. I guess I didn't realize that I would be able to really measure .1u when I can't see it on the syringe. (The lines are so thick so it's hard to be subtle - even when I use a magnifying lamp.) Initially, my vet sold me syringes without .5u markings that had much longer needles. Since Lucy is older and has very thin skin, I would often shoot right through the back of the "tent" with those syringes. I got the better ones from Chewy and when I needed a refill, the vet didn't approve my new prescription (which I didn't realize until I had run TOTALLY out as Chewy canceled the order and didn't email me). I had to use the original ones with the long needles and 1.0u markings. I'm all set now though, so I'll give it a go with a more consistent, smaller dose. The things you never thought you'd learn about as a cat owner!
 
My no-shoot number was 150, but I can lower it. Thanks!
With SLGS you can shoot any number over 90. If you can momitor, I would suggest shooting any number over 100

. I'm all set now though, so I'll give it a go with a more consistent, smaller dose.
When you first use a syringe, push the plunger all the way in to see if it lines up with the printed zero line. A lot of syringes have their markings way off and that affects the accuracy of the dose. And at such a small dose, even a drop more or less makes a big difference!
 
I don't know if this is considered the drop or 0.1 dose. But push the plunger in and hold in while inserting in the stopper of pen or vial. Then let go of the plunger. There will be something in the needle but you can't see it. That is your juice. Most do this right before the OJT trial. It might be just enough for Luci.
 
Back
Top