07/27 - KOBE - AMPS 250, AM+4 225

Kobe (Dean and Lesley)

Member Since 2025
07/26 Post

The 1 unit is starting to bring him down a little bit. Whew.

On Tuesday, 07/28, Kobe's Prednisolone dose gets cut in half. So I feel good that we didn't start with a bigger dose. I will be home to monitor all day. I just want to verify that I stick with the current dose for a few days unless he earns a reduction. I just need to hear from someone else that 1 unit is still the plan!

Thank you!!!
 
When following SLGS, you stick with this dose for a week, unless he goes under 90. Or are you using 70 again for reductions?

FYI, you may want to put detail that could influence his BG in the Remarks section of the spreadsheet. For example, starting pred, dose, and how many times per day. Are you giving it twice per day? Does going to half a dose of pred mean less each dose, or just going to 1 time per day?

You could also update the signature to show you are feeding YA, not the pate.
 
When following SLGS, you stick with this dose for a week, unless he goes under 90. Or are you using 70 again for reductions?
90 served us well when his BG was higher. Let's start there. I updated it. Good catch.
FYI, you may want to put detail that could influence his BG in the Remarks section of the spreadsheet. For example, starting pred, dose, and how many times per day. Are you giving it twice per day? Does going to half a dose of pred mean less each dose, or just going to 1 time per day?

You could also update the signature to show you are feeding YA, not the pate.
Also good catches. I updated all the things.
 
The reason I was asking about once a day or twice a day pred going forward, is that pred influence on the BG doesn't last all day. You may want to decide if you want to give it in the AM or PM. The cycle with pred may be slightly higher. You get to choose whether you want that during the AM or PM. How it impacts an individual cat can vary.
 
The reason I was asking about once a day or twice a day pred going forward, is that pred influence on the BG doesn't last all day. You may want to decide if you want to give it in the AM or PM. The cycle with pred may be slightly higher. You get to choose whether you want that during the AM or PM. How it impacts an individual cat can vary.
Sorry! Didn't mean to ignore your question. I thought you meant to put the dosing schedule in the sheet. The way it's written is that we stop either the AM or the PM dose, keeping one dese the same. No information on which one the vet intended for us to keep.

Did I read somewhere that evening dose might be better?
 
Depends on your situation. I knew one person who worked all day and couldn't come home, so she gave pred in the morning knowing kitty would be safer all day.
That makes a lot of sense too. That's the choice I would make- no doubt- if his numbers were wilder.

Until school starts, I'm home all day...

Well, at least there isn't a wrong answer here. That's more of a blessing than you know right now!
 
Back
Top