07/27 Abbott AMPS 113 +6.5 @51, +7@46, +9@63, +10@66, +11@81 PMPS @125

Either +10 or +11 help to give you confidence when you see the PMPS. If numbers stay flat or rise to PMPS that's good info. With TR yes, above 50 is shootable, provided you can continue to monitor and are comfortable shooting. If you are unsure, post your +10 or +11 through to PMPS and ask for guidance, otherwise I'd say go with 2.25u.
 
Nice +10... ;) looks like he's done with his shenanigans for the moment. In case you were wondering, +11 isn't needed, just get your PMPS and go from there.
 
Sorry I jinxed you, shouldn't have said anything about probably shooting green tonight :rolleyes:. On the plus side, get a +2 and if he's trending upward Abbott gets a pokie break for the evening :D
 
PMPS @125,
He earned a dose reduction down to 2.25u this AM cycle with a nadir of 46.
crazy day, throwing up and gave 16% and honey, pretty exhausted but let's see what he has in store this PM.

Shot 2.25
May need more help tonight if he dips. Looks like he might have another late nadir.
I have 10, 12, 14, 16, 17 and 18%
And honey and karo.

+2 coming up in 2 hours.
 
Wow, what a day you've had - I'm tired just reading your post! This is the hardest time, I think...waiting to see if he will bounce (bad for numbers but good for sleep/stress/pokies) or continue with the trend. Good work today though!
 
Wow, what a day you've had - I'm tired just reading your post! This is the hardest time, I think...waiting to see if he will bounce (bad for numbers but good for sleep/stress/pokies) or continue with the trend. Good work today though!
Thanks! I did ok I guess. Lots of members here prepared me well!
 
Congrats on the reduction! :)


+2 @127

thanks Bhooma. Sorry I tagged you when you were sleeping, I panicked when no one was around. It was the vomiting that really threw me for a loop. Since he promptly threw up the 16% I didn’t quite know what to do. But I stuck to the sticky info and tried some honey thinking he might keep that down better and it worked.

if anyone has any suggestions for how I could have managed that better I am all ears. Any tips would make me more prepared next time so that’s a good thing.

It was more than likely a scarf and barf sort of thing after the treat at testing but whoa it was a lot of vomit!! Then when he did it again, and then again after feeding it made me wonder if he was sick or something, or maybe treats went bad. I don’t know.

im glad I had the foresight to block off the access behind the couch before he tried to get under there, it could have been bad. That was right before the 46 test.
 
No problems with tagging. I was fast asleep (or as fast asleep as one can be with cats in the house!). :-)

You did great! Low numbers and vomit can freak anyone out. If it's a one time thing, maybe it was a scarf and barf. If it keeps happening (in the future), maybe something in the food doesn't agree with him? The wheat in the gravy disagrees with some cats.

Got any tests tonight?
 
No problems with tagging. I was fast asleep (or as fast asleep as one can be with cats in the house!). :)

You did great! Low numbers and vomit can freak anyone out. If it's a one time thing, maybe it was a scarf and barf. If it keeps happening (in the future), maybe something in the food doesn't agree with him? The wheat in the gravy disagrees with some cats.

Got any tests tonight?
Yes, it was his usual treat that started the barf fest. I saw him gagging after he ate it so quite possible he just swallowed it whole. The part I don’t get is the barf after he ate Food, but I will keep an eye out if it happens again.

+2 @127, coming up on +4 but looking like I will need a +5 since that’s when the circus has been starting.

so it’s a good thing I got a reduction? I feel like the decrease will make him bounce more since he hasn’t earned a decrease by staying under 100 for a week he’s likely to bounce but maybe I’m wrong.
Then I see other ss where there’s a 47 or 49 and there is no reduction taken so I’m confused a bit about the reductions.

anyway don’t feel like you have to respond to all of that, I see there is a lot of activity on the boards tonight and I’m doing fine.
 
+2 @127, coming up on +4 but looking like I will need a +5 since that’s when the circus has been starting.
You need not wait till +5. Get a +4 and unless he is much lower call it a night. This morning he was clearing a bounce which is why he saw a later nadir. But he was quite a but lower at +2 itself indicating an active cycle.

so it’s a good thing I got a reduction? I feel like the decrease will make him bounce more since he hasn’t earned a decrease by staying under 100 for a week he’s likely to bounce but maybe I’m wrong.
Then I see other ss where there’s a 47 or 49 and there is no reduction taken so I’m confused a bit about the reductions.
Yes. He definitely earned that reduction. The other cats that have not reduced might be long term diabetics or following the rule for cats that do not hold reductions. See below sticky.
Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials
 
You need not wait till +5. Get a +4 and unless he is much lower call it a night. This morning he was clearing a bounce which is why he saw a later nadir. But he was quite a but lower at +2 itself indicating an active cycle.


Yes. He definitely earned that reduction. The other cats that have not reduced might be long term diabetics or following the rule for cats that do not hold reductions. See below sticky.
Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials
+4 @91
And that’s right I did read that and forgot that bit.
 
By later I meant between +7 and +9. Don't stay up for +5.
I kind of have to. I am not the type who can take a nap and wake up later in the night to an alarm. When I fall asleep I’m out. I will sleep right through any alarm.

it’s ok, I’m used to staying up
 
Can anyone look through my notes for today?
Since the honey bumped him up about 10 can I safely say that next time 1/2 tsp of honey and LC will bump him up ~10 or are there other factors at play like nadir, where he is in cycle, etc?
 
I kind of have to. I am not the type who can take a nap and wake up later in the night to an alarm. When I fall asleep I’m out. I will sleep right through any alarm.

it’s ok, I’m used to staying up
Your SS says PMPS of 125 and +2 of 91. Thread says PMPS of 125, +2 of 127 and +4 of 91.
You have to stay up till +7??!! Cannot sleep and wake up at say +9 for a test? :eek:

Since the honey bumped him up about 10 can I safely say that next time 1/2 tsp of honey and LC will bump him up ~10 or are there other factors at play like nadir, where he is in cycle, etc?
You will need more data points to figure out a trend. And yes, there are other factors like where he is in the cycle (you need more carbs to keep him up earlier than later), how much he wants a reduction (sometimes they really make you slog to go over 50 and sometimes they come up easily) etc.
 
Your SS says PMPS of 125 and +2 of 91. Thread says PMPS of 125, +2 of 127 and +4 of 91.
You have to stay up till +7??!! Cannot sleep and wake up at say +9 for a test? :eek:


You will need more data points to figure out a trend. And yes, there are other factors like where he is in the cycle (you need more carbs to keep him up earlier than later), how much he wants a reduction (sometimes they really make you slog to go over 50 and sometimes they come up easily) etc.

sorry the thread is right. Just double checked the meter and updated ss.

it’s 10 min until +6. After today I’m just terrified to not test at +6, even though he bounced. He bounced last time and surprised me with this AM cycle.

and yep, +7 is 3am here. If I go to sleep I will sleep through alarm I can guarantee it. It’s ok, I stayed up the night of the 25th too.

thanks for the info about the honey, that helps me understand. I don’t have enough data quite yet. Check.
 
Back
Top