07/26Miou PMPS=73 +2=50 +2.5=43 +3=56 +3.5=66 +4.25=54 +5=65

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elsa

Member Since 2013
yesterday's condo

Hey everyone :smile:

Today Miou and I had to move for a little while to my boyfriend's place, so he can take care of me and her. It has been a bit taxing to my health after the operation, to sleep so little, and take care of her all by myself.
Right now she is sitting at my legs after having explored all the house, gone to her new litter-box, and eaten.
She is doing great considering she can't see. The only thing that kinda confuses her is the parrot meowing :lol:
Her +6 is right before we left home, and her +8 is after we arrived at my boyfriend's home. I was worried the stress might spike her bg, but she seems to handle herself quite nice.
So everything is gonna be ok I hope. I will go on with the 0.50U for a couple of cycles just in case, and then reduce to 0.25. What do you guys think?
 
Re: 07/26 Miou AMPS=66, +2=62, +6=67, +8=76

Miou is looking GREAT!..especially for being moved to a new place!

I bet that is confusing hearing the parrot "meow" ...sounds like a cat, but sure doesn't smell like one! :lol:

I'd stick with the .5 dose until you've gotten 14 cycles in normal numbers, and then Miou earns the reduction back to .25....if she continues to stay in normal numbers for another 7 days, you'd reduce to .1 for one more week and then go back on trial!

Looks like she's not going to need to stay on insulin long if she keeps responding so well!

Hope you're having a great Caturday, Elsa!
 
Re: 07/26 Miou AMPS=66, +6=67, +8=76 PMPS=73 +2=50 +2.5=43

Oh I never would guess she would go so low today of all days, gave her some honey and will do a test right now
----edit---
test result is 56!
ok now I am wondering should I feed her some HC like a teaspoon?

----edit2----
fed a teaspoon of HC
tested 66
 
Re: 07/26 Miou AMPS=66, +6=67, +8=76 PMPS=73 +2=50 +2.5=43

Your spreadsheet isn't updated with the latest numbers.. Umm, she normally seems to hold a nice flat cycle, but it is early in the cycle. I think one teaspoon of HC would be okay, and test again in 30 to 45 minutes.

Good luck with the move. My kitty seems to go lower under stress, so they don't all go higher.
 
Re: 07/26 Miou AMPS=66, +6=67, +8=76 PMPS=73 +2=50 +2.5=43

I just updated the spreadsheet too
she is a bit sleepy and I am worrying
tested and she droped to 64
fed some more HC

edit
tested in 15 and she was still 64
fed soome more HC
she seems more alert... waiting a little longer to test
 
Re: 07/26 MiouPMPS=73 +2=50 +2.5=43 +3=56 +3.5=66 +3.75=64

As long as she's above 50, you're ok

40's are normal, but don't leave any "wiggle room" for safety, so if they drop below 50, we want to start feeding the high carb to get them up

As long as you keep testing for 2 hours after the last time you feed and she stays above 50, she'll be ok

Each time you feed, that 2 hour clock starts over (some people will say you want to test until you get 2 rising numbers above 50, but I like to wait for the 2 hours since last food to be a little safer)

Generally, I test every 20 minutes if China's in the 50's, every 30 if she's in the 60's (until I get 2 readings at least in the 60's) and then I get one more an hour later (that's my 2 hours) after the last time I give any food

Edited to add...Oh yeah!! That also earns Miou a reduction!! Down to .25 she goes! Congratulations!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 07/26 MiouPMPS=73 +2=50 +2.5=43 +3=56 +3.5=66 +4.25=54

I can't believe she is going down again ...54!!!???
 
Re: 07/26 MiouPMPS=73 +2=50 +2.5=43 +3=56 +3.5=66 +3.75=64

Do you have any of the "Gravy Lovers" types of foods or are you just using honey?

If you have the gravy foods, give her another teaspoon of just the gravy and retest in 20 minutes

If you don't have any, add a couple of drops of honey to a teaspoon of low carb food and retest in 20
 
Re: 07/26 Miou PMPS=73 +2=50 +2.5=43 +3=56 +3.5=66 +4.25=54

I had already had fed her with honey once and 3 teaspoons of HC food (non gravy type) she looked going up and deeped suddenly again
I just gave her some honey again
waiting for the 20 minutes to test again....
 
Re: 07/26 Miou PMPS=73 +2=50 +2.5=43 +3=56 +3.5=66 +4.25=54

20 minutes past and she still is at 54!!!!
 
Re: 07/26 Miou PMPS=73 +2=50 +2.5=43 +3=56 +3.5=66 +4.25=54

Ok just waited an other 20 minutes and my little girl climbed up to 65... it was worth waiting
I will test again in 30' and act accordingly
I am taking down the 911... she is rising I think and its past her nadir hour...
I will be monitoring her though closely
Thank you for virtually holding my hand to wait out the low numbers.

And in the morning Miou is getting just 0,25 yeaaaayyyy :mrgreen:
 
Re: 07/26Miou PMPS=73 +2=50 +2.5=43 +3=56 +3.5=66 +4.25=54 +

That's why we always tell people to keep checking...especially when using Karo, honey or syrup

It clears the body so quickly that it's important to make sure they're holding in a safe number before you stop testing

Time to hop on your surfboard Miou!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top